We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We asked for medium but it came rare...”
Review of Spajza

Spajza
Ranked #20 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“We asked for medium but it came rare...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Except for the fact that we asked for our duck to come medium and it came rare, this is a good restaurant. We had dinner there in a good ambiance, with painted ceilings, courteous service, American music on the background ( I wished they played something more original, more European). Reservations are recommended.
We had the garlic soup which was delicate and flavourful and is highly recommended. We followed it with the breast of duck with cognac and figs garnished with vegetables. It sounded more promising than reality, but it was still good. I guess we had too much of a high expectation. The pannecotta for dessert was delicious with its berry sauce and not too sweet. For two with a bottle of water and both sharing one dessert the bill came to 51.50 euros plus tip, therefore, not particularly cheap.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    284
    89
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great experience!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had perfect dinner in this restaurant. Based on other reviews we chose this restaurant for dinner and it fulfilled all expectations. Very good food, excellent service and good price.
Wish we wouldhave had dinner here all 3 nights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanderwallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a meal here with business colleagues. Excellent food - had sea bass perfectly cooked. Waiter very helpfull when explaining menu and food. Great character atomosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the three bridges

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So Good We Ate Dinner There Twice”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoy variety in dining, so we almost never eat at the same restaurant twice on a trip. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule.....

This excellent little restaurant was just down the street from our hotel, the Allegro (another winner!) and was recommended by the always helpful desk staff.

It is a fairly small restaurant with a cozy vibe. The wait staff were totally on their game,l very attentive and very helpful. The menu was interesting and changes night to nightl. They feature local and seasonal fare. The wild mushroom appetizer was superb. The duck entree was delicious. The second night I had the horse (sorry) entree which was outstanding. The servers pointed us toward excelent Slovenian wines.

Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food, the serice, and the ambience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfunutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try Lunch here if you can”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fabulous for dinner but a bit pricey. But if you can go for lunch during the week, ask for the lunch special and you can get a multi course meal of their great food very reasonably priced. Went several times in September and was never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spajza also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Spajza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing