We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in a city of fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valvasor

Valvasor
Ranked #4 of 571 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bonita springs, fl
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a city of fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you get to Ljubljana (and you definitely should), don't fail to go to Valvasor, a wonderful, welcoming spot in the old city. The food and service are top-notch; ingredients are locally sourced, so the tastes are incredibly fresh and bright. You'll have the option of dining inside or out--choose the latter because you will not want to miss the street life along one of the city's most interesting pedestrian thoroughfares. Sister restaurant Julia (next door, same owners) is fine, as well, but there is something special about Valvasor that puts it a cut above. And ask for Dan--he's the best waiter in the place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lustytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    210
    50
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
258 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Great Great....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

A perfect dinner in terrace..... (we arrived late and it was ok to serve us)
Not a catch-tourist like manies in that area
With no direct view to the river but it is why not that crowded and why so good

Bifsteck with truffles was incredible
Pastas for kids also
Slovenian white wines excellent: we started with service by glass, then finally took the bottle... (we follow server's recommandation)
Very Great and attentioned service

Expensive for Slovenia but what a dinner we'll keep in memories
~110 euros for 4 people (inc 35 wine) : no starters but 2 desserts and coffees

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toultour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful, inventive food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We tried the chef's tasting menu for dinner. The food was very creative. We were impressed by the use of foams with traditional germanic foods. Best food we had, among a list of strong competitors, in Ljublgana.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krsko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Valvasor is considered to be one of the top restaurants in the city center of Ljubljana. It has a great location and modern interior design - at summer they offer outdoor seating as well.

I went there by myself for a lunch, expecting a good experience, based on many reviews and things I've heard. The restaurant was pretty full at the time and without saying hello a waiter set me up with a small table; I realised tables are crowded extremely closely together, leaving no private space for guests to have a normal conversation. Tables are set in a straight-row and a table next to mine was really crowded so people were using my table and seats as well. (Not really something what I would call a 5 or 4-star restaurant standard.)

When a waiter brought me their Menu, it was in english, although we spoke in Slovenian earlier. Before I could say anything he dissapered and didn't come back for 15mins, leaving me no option to read the menu in my langauge or to order a drink at least.
Luckly, another waiter showed up and showed me their menu in our langauge. I was finally able to order some food and it was really good - very tasty. Prices are high, though, but it was still worthet to try.

However, a terrible service and having no privacy at all at your table doesn't really make it a top-class restaurant. There are many better places in Ljubljana - they won't see me again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matej20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
267 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good but with hidden extras”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This restaurant is in the heart of the old town on a busy street of cafes. We arrived having booked our table the previous evening, but was asked to wait until our table was ready, however, we noticed our name had already been ticked off in the booking list, so they had given our table away. We waited in a small seating area and eventually a waiter came over and asked if we would like a drink whilst we waited. When our table was eventually ready we waited some while for a menu. The food and wine here is very good and probably worth the shaky start to the evening however, there seemed to be only one waiter who had the ability to respond to any occurrence such as our table being taken, the wait in the corner etc.. Finally on checking our bill we noticed an item we had not requested, we were told this was the charge for the pre appetiser which we had not requested and thought it was the 'little gift from the chef' which might be considered usual in a place such as this. The ambience has a modern, trendy feel to it and the food is worth coming here for but beware of the hidden extras.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valvasor also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Valvasor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing