We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Tavcar ljubljana
Ranked #19 of 57 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great little hotel just outside the city center. It is clean, modern and has a wonderful breakfast. The hosts are lovely and loaned us a bus card to get to and from the city. Buses cost 1.2 Euros each way but the trip only took about 15 minutes. The location is on a quiet lane about 5 minutes from the bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Actually it's not a real hotel, more an improved boarding house. I found it by chance while travelling for business in Lubliana and I was looking for alternatives to much more expensive hotels performing very much less than this "Pension". It's just outside the shopping/business area of Lubiana at the nord/east side, near the motorway and few minutes away from the CIty. It's also not far away from the river Sava, where you can have relaxing walk or a ride on bike or horse. Rooms are wide and clean, good furnished and decorated, no reception is available but the personnel at the bar at the ground floor (separately managed) is friendly and helpful. Check in and check out are in any case quickly solved. Nearby is also a separate restaurant where You can eat something from the international as well as local cuisine. In good season You can eat in the open ais in the internal courtyard. It's good for families and for couples but also for business, too. In fact, it' s so popular that it's often fully booked. Breakfast is very delicious, You can ask whatever you may need. Very positive impession.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed in pansion for only one night. It was very very nice, very clean, friendly, peaceful and relaxing! also great breakfast! I would warmly recommend this pansion to everyone! and prices are really available for the worth you get there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kragy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although located on the edge of Ljubljano in a small village, this penion proved perfect for our needs and although we had a car, we decided to walk to and from the centre of the city which is about 6 km away.
Our accommodation was a huge apartment with equally spacious balconies but I suspect we were upgraded as there appeared to be smaller room already occupied when we arrived and a 2 bedroom appartment for 45 Euros would appear far 2 cheap even in Slovenia!
Our hosts were extremely gracious, friendly and helpful and made our 2 day stay all that more enjoyable because of this. We were even offered a prepaid bus card to use should we have wanted to take the bus to town.
The breakfast was one of the best spreads we had during our 2 weeks in Slovenia and Croatia even coming with a choice of eggs cooked to order any way you like.
The establishment is extremely clean, comfortable and kept in top condition although the bar, whilst pleasing to the eye, is not overly well stocked for choice.
There is a restaurant next door which we ate at the first night as we were late getting in but whilst passable, I would recommend going elsewhere if in need of an evening meal although you would need wheels, a taxi or to be happy with a decent walk.
Penzion Tavcar is a place I have no hesitation in highly recommending.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hosts at this Penzion were just great. And the breakfast is sumptuous. It is located outside the main city centre in a quiet village-like area on a bus route. Buses come past twice per hour (a bit less on weekends) and take about 12 minutes to get into the city rail & bus station.
You use a plastic swipe card for the buses and one trip costs 1.2 euro (you can buy these in the station and at other sites in the city).
Beware of getting taxis off the street - compared to phoning for one the charge is triple!

The Penzion rooms were spotless. Great value if you don't need to be right in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
4.5 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#6 of 31 in Ljubljana
359 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,570 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
1.9 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
233 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 57 in Ljubljana
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Tavcar ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Tavcar ljubljana

Property: Penzion Tavcar ljubljana
Address: Cesta v Shmartno 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Tavcar ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penzion Tavcar ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing