We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place Slovenian food and wine”

Gostilna Sokol Ljubljana
Ranked #58 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“A good place Slovenian food and wine”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited Sokol a few days ago with my girlfriend and we had a lovely evening. The place boasts with a charming location in the city centre. The waiter was very friendly and he recommended, we had the house venison plates and the house cabernet to go with it. The food and the wine were excellent! We had an excellent experience and will definitely come back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    720
    414
    145
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge portions of sturdy tasty food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Popular restaurant in old town. Waiters fast and efficient but we found them friendly and happy to advise. Huge portions of venison stew and deer in sour cherry sauce, we should have shared. Really not expensive if you compare to other restaurants in Ljubljana let alone other countries that have the euro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with good beer”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It is not easy to get great beer in Slovenia, but the one made in Sokol is very nice. The service today was great, with smile and polite. Food was tasty and served nice. I do enjoy this place even despite 'touristic' prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good restoran”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

its a good restaurant with national and other food .its litle expensive bat food is good ,its in center of old city ljubljana.staff is ok.ambient is great ,its a good restaurant for visit and try food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuco161107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food we had was excellent. The Pork Tenderloin was tender and the sauce was superb. We also had the Kranjlka Sausage both served with grilled vegetables. Service was good but not warm, prices seemed a little on the high side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Sokol Ljubljana also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Sokol Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing