We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in a cool city.”
Review of Vila Veselova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Veselova
Ranked #2 of 60 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is close to the center of the city. The breakfast was ok but there was no protein option. The rooms were fine and the bathroom was basic. Good place to meet others traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SageMandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks! We always try to help our guests and make them feel like home. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in Veselova. Thank you a million for making the stay epic. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with regards to giving information and maps. Just excellent. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for all your compliments. We are so glad you enjoyedy your stay here in our beautiful Vila. We can't wait for you to be back either. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed in the 4 person dorm known as the blue room upstairs in August. Upon arrival I was somewhat worried about the high floor in the summer being hot, but it was air conditioned! The only hostel I've stayed in with an air conditioned room. It was such a nice touch. I also found the room to be comfortable. The bed was nice. It's not a 4 star hotel bed, but for a hostel I slept amazing.

The staff was nice and helpful. The location was close and made it easy to get to the city. Breakfast in the morning is simple but tasty. They had parking which was also huge for us.

The hostel is close to a busy road but it didn't bother us since the air conditioner made a white noise that drowned out the traffic. Not sure if all rooms have this.

Room Tip: I can't speak for all rooms but the blue room was very nice. I think you can specifically book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your good review. We are honoured that you liked your stay here and that you liked our facilities. (All the rooms have good sound proof windows, so we hope this helps to reduce the noise from the road.) It is also true that we do our best to keep the friendly atmosphere in our Vila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's a hostel, so don't expect the world. I know that, but in the case of Veselova, I was still a bit underwhelmed. My boyfriend and I chose a 2p bedroom with separate bathroom. The beds were horrible (thin mattresses with springs sticking out) and the bathroom smelled of vomit.

The hostel lies next to a busy road & railway. If you are a light sleeper, take it into account.

The common area was clean and quiet, the wifi worked and staff was very friendly and helpful. Furthermore, it is very close to the city center (10 min walking distance) & a lovely park (5 min).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24_Emmy_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great hostel. We stayed in the 8-bed room and unlike in other places this one was very clever desiged. The beds are solid and built in a way that you have your own little 'cove', even with an inbuilt power socket and a big drawer underneath which you can lock. Plus it had aircon. And a balcony overlooking the garden. It's also very clean. I would say it is a great location in terms of being close to everything without being in the centre, because Ljubljana is quite small and nothing is further than 15min away. I guess it's about a 10/15 min walk from the train station, not 30min like another reviewer said [and it's never pleasant to walk in 35 degrees celcius]. The staff is extremly helpful, going out of their way to help you with tips what to do/how to get there and your onward travel. The only thing I'd say is that one side is facing a road and the train line, so if you have a room facing that way it could be a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our Vila and enjoyed your staying here. We're sending you nice regards from Ljubljana and come back soon!:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's too far away from the train station, about 30 mins walk. Under the hot sun, it's not recommended to walk for 30 mins with your luggage to the hostel. To the city centre, it's nearer, about 10-15 mins walk.

It's quite clean but the bathroom is really too small, even we are small in size. Our room is facing the train rail and so you can expect the noise. We could only close the windows and let no fresh air goes into the room.

Simple breakfast is provided. It provides all you need as in a hostel but don't expect too much.

The best thing I would say is the service. The staff answers my questions (actually many) through emails before our trip. So, the only credit should be given to the staff's prompt response and caring attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris_Pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you a lot for your all your remarks. We are sorry that you weren’t satisfied with everything at our hostel. We regret that we could do something to improve your stay here. We had a hot summer this year and for example we could have called you a taxi from the train station (it would cost you only 3-4 €) and save you the long walk under the sun. As you noticed, the staff is really trying to do their best, so that our guests would fill comfortable all the time. Thanks again, we will try to improve our flaws as much as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed my short stay here in Ljubljana, very nice hostel. The staff were very helpful in providing a map and restaurant recommendations. Also, the wifi worked very well. Parking was a bit cramped, about 3 spots at the front inside the gate. Also, they aren't located very close to anything, about 15 minute walk into the main square.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaVeselova, Receptionist at Vila Veselova, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your comments. Seems that you enjoyed your staying here and we are glad. We know that our parking is not very big, but since we only have a couple of cars per day at our hostel it works fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#16 of 31 in Ljubljana
945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Veselova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Veselova

Address: Veselova ulica 14, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: $28 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Veselova is located in the diplomatic area of the city, just around the corner from Austrian, German, American and Russian embassies and within a walking distance to the town centre, main sights and other points of interest in Ljubljana. City's main park is just a stone throw away from the hostel and offers abundance of green area and relaxing walks. Proximity (within 1 km) of the major galleries and museums offer travelers endless opportunities to discover culture and history of the country. Vila Veselova was also the home of one of the famous Slovenian architect Ciril Metod Koch who rose to prominence after the Ljubljana earthquake, when he reconstructed several buildings in the Vienna Secession style. Vila is enriched with over 130 years old decoration representing the soul of Ljubljana- modern but traditionally charming. Ambient offers rest and chill out spots, garden and terrace. We offer spacious 8, 6 and 4 mixed dorm rooms, a double room, one 4-bed apartment and two kitchenettes. Gathering spots, hot drinks, syrups, air conditioning / fans, laundry, ironing, trips around Slovenia, free internet, luggage storage and own parking in the courtyard are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vila Veselova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing