We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food of our trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House - CLOSED

River House
Price range: $39 - $157
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst food of our trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to this restaurant as part of a tour group and were offered only one choice: tenderloin of pork, which is ok because usually I like this food. However, this meal was a disgrace. The pork was overcooked, dry and flavorless. It was served with few peas that had obviously been sitting out for a while and a couple of pieces of carrot that had all the flavor steamed out of them. There were bread dumplings that were pretty good but absolutely no gravy served with them. I thought maybe this was a local custom - dumplings with no gravy - but a local told me the next day that dumplings without gravy was impossible in Slovenia. The cook should be ashamed of serving such a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Average or bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

First meal of a two week tour and the worst meal.

Pasta was undercooked, main dish was ok but average and nothing worth repeating, dessert was suppose to be a regional speciality but was a very poor representation of the dish.
However the bread was great.

Plenty of excellent places, such as Juliet, no reason to come here.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanInEurope02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish plate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ordered fish plate for two persons. It's value 49€. Ok, this might be interesting. Well it wasn't the food was little in quantaty and in poor quality. It looked like in low-end resteurants and the taste was a like! We got: fish fillet- cooked in lots and loots of oil, tasteless and very cheap, Baked Calamari nothing special but they were at least edable, calamari on the grill- wich were ok but again nothing special, a few gamberi, octopus on grill and some vegtable on grill. Overall it was overpriced and disapointing. But i have to mention that the waiters were very nice and very professional, but the food was very very dissapointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chic look, good food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Had lunch here today - sat outside, music wafting in from nearby academy.

Had beer with grapefruit very refreshing.

For starter, I had a prawn salad that was very good, together with ample supplies of bread, my wife had Carpaccio of Duck with rocket salad & pear.

For main, I had lamb racks in a herb crust with a baked potato, my wife had lamb chops with black salt and grilled polenta. Both agreed it was very tasty.

Botlle of Teran Lisak,which is always good, the total came to 90 Euros.

Today was 'Lamb & Duck day, they also had some fish specials - prawn spaghetti & sea bass

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“make a good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've been there a year or so ago, and I ate one of the best beef stakes ever. It was juicy, done as I wanted, melted in my mouth. So I went again and got a seafood platter, which was so average, not worth 50 EUR at all (for 2 pers,), the octopuss was too salty, the shrimps were frozen, store bought, everything on it was average. really a letdown from previous steak experience. The choice of wine is standard, it looks a bit posh, but the prices are quite simmilar to other restaurants in the area. Even though the meal was so not special, you must try their house cake with wine (teran) sauce. The cake is nothing special, just vanilla cream filling, but the sauce makes it one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Thumbs up for that.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuirti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing