We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
6
23
30
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
23
30
14
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 81 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I saw some of the reviews about Pension Jelen are not so positive, saying that the pension were old and some of the facilities were out of order. I have stayed in that pension recently, the rooms are renovated. The bathroom in my room is clean and well equipped, the pension also provides toiletries. The pension is not in the city center, but quite close, just 10 mins by car. Finally, I recommend the restaurant which is also run by the pension. The food are good and the price is acceptable.

Room Tip: Some rooms close to the main road are noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Established in 1887, some of the building seems not to have changed much. Very old & tired rooms, but friendly reception.
We found it difficult initially to access without a car, as the buses are not frequent to these outskirts of Ljubljana.
However, the food in the restaurant was excellent and good value. There is a stone pizza oven and grill. It seems popular with locals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would not recommend this pension to more than a single traveller as it is not suitable for families or couples. The food is great (I had a very tasty pizza in the restaurant) but the rooms are old and need updating. I found a chewing gum on the floor next to the bed, the bathroom wasn't very good, the aircon didn't work ... I could carry on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very old room interier mostly original and old - authentic feeling of old guest house. Not for demanding travellers, just good for one night as stop during your travel. AC vas noisy and toilet flushing button was broken (I had to repair :-). But EXCELLENT and cheap slovenian restaurant with stone oven and grill. Amazing grilled meat meals and vegetables. Good breakfast - ham, great proscuto, cheese, homemade bread, etc. Nice atmoshpere, very nice stuff. Ideal for one night stop with amazing dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

After reading a very positive review of this place we decided to stay there. It was cheap but a big disappointment. The room was unattrative. The bed springs were prominent. The walls were blank and in need of painting. The door handle came off when I attempteed to access the bare balcony. Breakfast was an omelette, plain or with cheese, along with yesterdays bread and coffee or tea - below average. I gave it one star because the bathroom was ok. We switched to Gostilna/Penzion Kmecki Hram, located just off the ring road at Tomacevska Tel: 386 (0)15607001. There we received good value (70E per night - two nights or more) at an attractive and friendly family run place. The room was comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. The rooms are upstairs but they will carry up your bags without your asking. Breakfast was fine as well. Free internet by wire connection in the room. Kmecki Hram is not a four star hotel but a strong three and as such is a good choice in an expensive accomodation city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews