We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Slamic B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slamic B&B
Ranked #3 of 58 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2008

This is an excellent place to stay - really comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The rooms are big and well furnished and the tea-shop/coffee house and terrace are a great bonus. Friendly staff as well - would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cloverScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Slamic B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2008

My wife and I had stayed in a few nondescript hotels in other towns in Italy before arriving in Ljubljana and knew we wanted to stay in a B&B, something more like home when we went to Slovenia. We were a bit sick of hopping, so were trying to find a nice place to stay 3 days or more. We read the reviews on trip advisor and ended up booking Slamic. I have zero hesitation in recommending that everyone stay here and I would definitely stay here again if I ever visited Ljubljana again. The hotel was a very reasonable walk (5-6 mins) from the train/bus station and also very close (about 5-7 minute) walk to the main old town area. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. The B&B itself is in a nice building which must be completely refurbished internally, because our room felt very new yet very tasteful. The room was large and nice and modern and had a minibar as well. Beds were very comfortable. There is a cool coffee shop downstairs which also has an upstairs patio. Outside our room was a form of terrace which connected with the outside cafe (hard to explain). I frankly didn't want to leave because I was v. comfortable there. Few things to be aware of is that Ljubljana clears out on the weekend so if you want night life make sure you go out on a weekday (sounds odd I know, but true). Also the neighborhood of Metelkova is completely overrated...dont bother going there as there is pretty much nothing there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank danielsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Four of us stayed at Slamic B&B in June, and we had a wonderful stay. We found the staff to be top-notch from Meta, who checked us in, to the helpful young staff who also help man the coffee/pastry bar downstairs (stays open until 10 p.m. - you can also get cocktails there).

Our room was spotless with beautiful hardwood floors. The room our friends occupied was equally as nice.

Since it was raining both mornings we stayed here, we had coffee and rolls in their cozy breakfast room. They also have a patio where we could have had breakfast if the weather cooperated.

Since we had a car, the locked parking area was a bonus.

Location is great. It is just a short walk down to Prešeren Square and The Triple Bridge, There are abundant places alongside the river to eat or have a cocktail. The hotel is only about a ten minute walk to the funicular that takes you up to the castle.

Two of our favorite places to eat in Ljubljana were Stara Macka (Black Cat), which is located alongside the river. We also dined outside at Gostilna AS, a really terrific restaurant on a little alleyway that runs perpendicular to the river.

We loved Ljubljana and could not have been happier with our choice of lodging, Slamic B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maitaitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This place was excellent - we normally stay at a minimum of 4 star hotels, but this one was great - the rooms were very modern, wooden floors, ultra clean, and it had charm. Small number of rooms with nice cafe downstairs and very close to the old town just a few minutes walk. There is also free parking which is handy in the area. The place was also very quiet despite being in the heart of town. I would definately recommend staying here if in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed at hotel slamic for 2 nights the double room was newly refurbished, with nice interior; very clean comfy bed and small but clean and new bathroom. Air conditioning and no road noise, breakfast was serve yourself, continental and taken either in breakfast room or the lovely terrace with comfy wicker chairs.
Ljubljana town centre (triple bridge) was a short walk (5 minutes) but crossing very busy roads, the hotel is easy to find 5-10 minutes from the bus station.
Ljubljana itself is a very nice immaculately kept small city and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ang48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

I stayed at the Slamic with my girlfriend for one night, before heading up to climb Triglav.

Location is central but the immediately surrounding blocks are not the most charming ones. It is a short walk to the bus and train station, which is why we chose it.

We arrived at around 9PM on a Saturday, and after ringing the bell were shown to our room by a young man who gave us the keys and explained the door routine. He was nice and professional.

The room was very comfortable. Everything was new, including the bathroom. I had the feeling of being in a newly-built apartment in a seaside resort, perhaps because the window was towards the terrace.

The breakfast room and the adjoining terrace were nice, but breakfast was pretty primitive. Bread and small containers of marmalade and other spreads. No fruit, solid cheeses or cold cuts. Coffee and tea was self-service from jugs.

The big disappointment was the woman who was on call on Sunday morning. We had been told the night before that breakfast would be served until 11, but at 9:30 she called and told us to be there before 10. Check-out was at 11, but at 10:30 she knocked on our door and asked if we would pay directly so she could leave.

There may have been a misunderstanding between the staff about the breakfast times, but the woman was very pushy and only seemed to care about getting home early. Had she been nicer and asked us in a more polite fashion we would have taken no offense.

To sum things up: Rooms are great, breakfast needs to be bettered, and staff is uneven.

We returned to Ljubljana a couple of days later and stayed two nights at a very charming place with excellent staff throughout for 2/3 of the rate, but that's another review.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fragrant_Vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 day trip to Slovenia, taking in Ljubljana, Bled, Bohinge & Piran. We had originally stayed at the Antiq Hotel but then headed off to see some of the country. Upon returning we headed to the tourist office to book a hotel for that night, the whole city was more or less booked out, owing in large to the European Presidency. We wanted to be in the Old Town so toyed with paying a fair bit for the Grand Union, when the Slamič was recommended to us. We took it and it was absolutely perfect , just a 5 or so minute walk to the Old Town, a really spacious room and bathroom - both really lovely. The B&B had a nice feel to it with a beautiful little breakfast room and outdoor terrace, and there is a great little coffee/tea house downstairs which also serves as the "reception". The staff were so lovely and friendly. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msdroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slamic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slamic B&B

Address: Kersnikova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: $96 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Slamic B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Slamic B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slamic Hotel Ljubljana
Slamic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing