We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but fairly pricey”
Review of H2O Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H2O Hostel
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Reviewed September 27, 2012

On our trip we mainly stayed in a private room but we were unable to find one in Ljubljana, so we stayed at H2ostel in a 4-bed dorm for 2 nights. The bed was just a mattress on the floor and there was a lock up cupboard in the room which was quite spacious. The bathrooms were clean enough and the computers downstairs were a good bonus.

It was rather pricey and annoyingly there was a €10 deposit for the key returned on departure which isn't ideal when hopping between various countries with different currencies.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanH145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ljubljana is a small capital, so everything is close to the the hostel. But it is in the middle of the city. In the surrounding area there are a lot of bars, coffees, restaurants those make the place intimate, youthful, or just romantic - you can find everything for your taste. Almost every sights are in 5-10 mins walk.

If you arrive by train, the station is also close to the hostel, you don't need any transport there. With car you have to pay for the parking, in front of the hostel it is 1,8€ for a night, that means from 19:00 to 7:00. After this it is 1,2€ per hour. The area is closed by gates and you pay when you leave this zone.
You can find a small kitchen on the ground floor and you can use the fridge also. WLAN is free in the hostel.

Our room was a double room. It was not so spacious and equipped only with the most important things - a hanging cupboard, and a commode. No night table but there was a vent. Every doors and the bed were really noisy and the bathroom was really worn.

This place could be very good, but it needs some modernization. Just because it is in the center, the room price is not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel is located just in front of the river, ideal for an evening walk along the river, and only few minutes walk from the three bridges. The atmosphere in the hostel is relaxed and the dorm rooms are modern, maybe a bit lacking of character, but very clean. Staff is helpful and friendly enough, and in the reception room there are few computers free to use with fast internet. Overall, I would recommend this hostel for sure, for any kind of people staying in Ljubljana

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 1 night as a stop towards Bled. If was much less than expected. The staff were not the most welcoming and our bedroom was dark and cold however they were ensuite. The common areas were small and there were ants all over the kitchen area. The was no kettle and only 2 hobs so when someone else was using the hobs we had to use the microwave to boil water. Although it looks nice from the outside and the location was great I would not stay at this hoatel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

From the moment we checked in this place left us underwhelmed. The staff are not very welcoming or friendly. The room we had was dark and run down in another building down the street. One of the lights wasn't working, the answer from the staff was that they'd get it fixed - "probably tomorrow". Would strongly recommend looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2011 and found this hostel to be friendly,clean and well located to everything that you need in Ljubljana.

We were leaving early the next day to Bled so it was handy that the bus station was only a 10-15 minute walking away and with it being located right on the river it was a nice location for evening strolls and to walk down to where all the resturants area.

The room we had was a double ensuite and it was clean,modern and well equipped and the room itself was very spacious with everything that you would really need and expect to find in accomodation of this price range.

We would stay here again if we found ourselves in Ljubljana again and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to spend less on accomodation so that they have more for their holiday but want a clean,safe,well equipped,value for money place to stay at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Every slowenien is friendly and helpfull, if you want to meet the unfriendly go to this place because they work here!
Further the rooms are ok but noisy, the place is still underconstruction, there are no real commonrooms. Everything seems to be written on a pice of paper, so there is no need talking to the vistiors. If you can avoid it don´t spend your money here. Besides its too much they charge you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
1 mi away
Hostel Tivoli
Hostel Tivoli
#4 of 100 in Ljubljana
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
C - Punkt Hostel
C - Punkt Hostel
#16 of 100 in Ljubljana
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 100 in Ljubljana
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#8 of 100 in Ljubljana
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Simbol Hostel
Simbol Hostel
#28 of 100 in Ljubljana
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Celica
Hostel Celica
#6 of 100 in Ljubljana
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2O Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2O Hostel

Address: Petkovshkovo nabrezhje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — H2O Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H2O Hostel is located in the centre of Ljubljana, capital of Slovenia. We have dormitory rooms and private rooms. In only 5 - 10 min walk, you can reach all the important tourist attractions as well as pubs, restaurants and cafes. Most dormitory rooms have their own kitchen or you can use one in the reception area where is also a small common place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your H2O Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing