We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly located and clean”
Review of H2ostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H2ostel
Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Greatly located and clean”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel is located just in front of the river, ideal for an evening walk along the river, and only few minutes walk from the three bridges. The atmosphere in the hostel is relaxed and the dorm rooms are modern, maybe a bit lacking of character, but very clean. Staff is helpful and friendly enough, and in the reception room there are few computers free to use with fast internet. Overall, I would recommend this hostel for sure, for any kind of people staying in Ljubljana

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
6
44
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 1 night as a stop towards Bled. If was much less than expected. The staff were not the most welcoming and our bedroom was dark and cold however they were ensuite. The common areas were small and there were ants all over the kitchen area. The was no kettle and only 2 hobs so when someone else was using the hobs we had to use the microwave to boil water. Although it looks nice from the outside and the location was great I would not stay at this hoatel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

From the moment we checked in this place left us underwhelmed. The staff are not very welcoming or friendly. The room we had was dark and run down in another building down the street. One of the lights wasn't working, the answer from the staff was that they'd get it fixed - "probably tomorrow". Would strongly recommend looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
603 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2011 and found this hostel to be friendly,clean and well located to everything that you need in Ljubljana.

We were leaving early the next day to Bled so it was handy that the bus station was only a 10-15 minute walking away and with it being located right on the river it was a nice location for evening strolls and to walk down to where all the resturants area.

The room we had was a double ensuite and it was clean,modern and well equipped and the room itself was very spacious with everything that you would really need and expect to find in accomodation of this price range.

We would stay here again if we found ourselves in Ljubljana again and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to spend less on accomodation so that they have more for their holiday but want a clean,safe,well equipped,value for money place to stay at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Every slowenien is friendly and helpfull, if you want to meet the unfriendly go to this place because they work here!
Further the rooms are ok but noisy, the place is still underconstruction, there are no real commonrooms. Everything seems to be written on a pice of paper, so there is no need talking to the vistiors. If you can avoid it don´t spend your money here. Besides its too much they charge you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hostel is right on the river at the Dragon Bridge. It's just down the street from the train station and major buses and just below the castle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The great advantage for this hostel is the location: centered and quiet - it's about 5 minutes from Triple Bridge where the city center is.
The rooms are small but clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom - it looked like a small apartment with 3 rooms and one bathroom and one kitchen fully equiped.
The only problem can be with the parking if you came there by car.There is a paid parking in front of the hostel (1Eur/hour till 7 PM) but you can get from the reception a card to park free there -> the stuff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 74 in Ljubljana
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 74 in Ljubljana
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#7 of 74 in Ljubljana
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2ostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2ostel

Property: H2ostel
Address: Petkovskovo nabrezje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — H2ostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H2O Hostel is located in the centre of Ljubljana, capital of Slovenia. We have dormitory rooms and private rooms. In only 5 - 10 min walk, you can reach all the important tourist attractions as well as pubs, restaurants and cafes. Most dormitory rooms have their own kitchen or you can use one in the reception area where is also a small common place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your H2ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing