We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely small hotel close to the slopes”
Review of Hotel Lipa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lipa
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely small hotel close to the slopes”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We've just got back from a fantastic week in Kranjska Gora staying in Pension Lipa. We were made to feel very welcome in this small, family-run hotel. We stayed in room 5. The room was extremely comfortable, warm and kept immaculately clean throughout our stay and although small, had plenty of storage space. There's a small balcony overlooking the mountains. The shower was powerful and hot. There was a TV in the room, and although there are only a few English Language channels, some of the Slovenian stations had films in English with Slovenian subtitles.... not that you'll be spending much time in the room. The only slight drawback was that there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but that isn't particularly unusual.

As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast and dinner are taken in the basement dining room. The food is good and the service was quick. We chatted to lots of people staying in the bigger hotels in the resort, and the food on offer in Lipa seemed the best by far. For dinner, there was a wide choice on the menu for all 3 courses (including 25 different pizzas) and is cooked to order, rather than buffet-style, meaning it's hot and fresh when it reaches your table.

The hotel is just 10 mins stroll from the slopes and 5 mins from the centre of the village, giving easy access to everything you need. It's location just outside the village centre means it's very quiet at night, so perfect for a restful night's sleep after a day on the ski slopes.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

This was our second ski-ing holiday and we found Kranjska Gora an ideal location. The scenery is stunning and the weather conditions were perfect for us, thanks to a fresh fall of snow early in the week. We booked lessons with the InterSport ski school and had a fantastic time. Our instructor struck a good balance between building our confidence and pushing us on. And the local prices aren't nearly as expensive as in the other, more popular ski resorts. On our last night we were drinking wine at 90 cents a glass in the Enka bar in the centre of the village.

One afternoon we went on an excursion to the beautiful Lake Bled - about 30 mins away by minibus and well worth the trip. We flew into/out of Salzburg and hadn't been keen on the idea of a 2-3 hour transfer. We needn't have worried, though. The scenery for much of the journey was amazing and only added to the holiday.

All in all then, a terrific holiday. I'm sure we'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was our second holiday in Kranjska Gora, last time we stayed at the less impressive Hotel Lek. This year we spent a lovely week at Penzion Lipa for a February ski trip and can highly recommend it. It’s simply a home from home.

Pension Lipa is located in the centre of Kranjska Gora. It is a charming family hotel with 10 rooms, a pizzeria with winter garden and a top a-la-carte restaurant. The owners Nikola and Zorka Perkolic run the hotel with daughters Stella and Katja, and son-in-law Bojan. The family are very friendly and welcoming, going out of their way to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay.

On the map of Kranjska Gora, the Lipa looks a little way’s away from the slopes but we were happy to discover it’s less than 10 minutes walk. Instead of carrying our skis every day, we hired a locker in the basement of the Larix Hotel (at the base of the nursery slope) for only 10 Euros a week - it held the ski equipment for all 3 of us.

Our room at the Lipa was on the first floor and was lovely - nicely decorated and spacious. Good, comfy beds with high quality duvets, the room also had Satellite TV with 40 channels and there is free wireless internet. Plus a great balcony with fabulous views of the Julian Alps (which I imagine would get more use if you came for a walking holiday in the Summer). The room was always very warm whatever the outside temperature and the shower was good, powerful and hot. Perfect after a day of skiing!

Food for hotel guests is served in the very grand basement restaurant which deservedly has the reputation of being the best in the town. For dinner, there’s a choice of 10 starters and 10 main courses every night, with a choice to suit all palates (even difficult teenagers!). Plus there's an extensive pizza menu offering superb freshly-made, charcoal-oven-baked pizzas. The desserts are outstanding including Zorka’s home-made ice cream. For breakfast, there is a cold and hot buffet and is very good.

Having travelled extensively in Europe, I can confidently say that the Lipa is far better than its 4* rating, based upon the quality of the rooms, the first-rate restaurant and the friendliness of the Perkolic family. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy-n-smiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We chose to stay at the Pension Lipa for our weeks skiing based on the previous reviews and were lucky enough to get a good deal through Crystal Ski. Our experience lived up to the previous good reviews. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and greeted with a glass of limoncello to the day we departed with a glass of grappa. We had booked what was described as a small room but this was more than adequate well furnished and decorated and enough space for all our ski clothing. The bathroom was an excellent standard with powerful shower that easily soothed any sore muscles. Hot water was plentiful. The room was serviced each day and left immaculate. Our room had a balcony which in the summer would be great to sit out on. Sat TV had all the usual mix of European channels including Sky news, bbc world etc.

The quality of food was excellent. As mentioned in previous reviews the dining room is in the basement, the basement being a well furnished room of wood panels and mirrors and balanced lighting that you would almost forget that there are no windows. The owners clearly take pride in the quality of what they offer. The pottery has also been commissioned with the Pension Lipa logo on it.

Breakfast is buffet style with selection of cereals fresh fruit and yoghurts, dried fruit, cheese, ham, croissants and pastries. Eggs and bacon would be cooked to order. Dinner was excellent. For guests of Thomsons, Crystal, First Choice etc had a choice of over 12 starters and 12 mains served at the table. Some of the starters are almost the size of main meals. The seafood risotto was packed with clams, squid and prawns. The gnocchi is also well worth trying along with the smoked salmon which is some of the best I have tried. The choice of mains includes steaks, fish etc all of which are good. The goulash with bread dumplings is excellent. As mentioned in other reviews the Lipa has a pizza oven and makes fresh pizza from scratch. You cannot leave without trying the pizza - it is simply delicious. Along with the starters and mains you can help yourself from the extensive salad bar. And if you are not full after all that then recommended desserts include pancakes stuffed with ice cream and cream brulee. We drank local house wine served in a carafe which was good value, however it is definitely worth trying the local Pinot Grigot. The vineyards on the Slovenian side apparently produce better wine than the Italian. The service is excellent and friendly, nothing seems too much trouble.

As mentioned we spent the week skiing in Kranjska which is good for beginners and intermediates. Experienced skiers will be more limited but there is the Vitranc cup run. We used the Intersport ski school where the instructors were very good and spoke excellent English. If skiing and staying at the Lipa then it is 5 minutes walk to the slopes (I enjoyed the walk back as it was opportunity of easing the joints after a day in ski boots). It is definitely worth hiring a ski locker (€30 for the week) at the Intersport hire shop at the base of the slope. This will save the effort of carrying gear back and forwards. The lockers are secure and contain up to 4 sets boots and skis. The room is heated and allows for the gear to dry out overnight. If booking equipment, ski school etc it is worth checking the price first with Intersport rather than booking through Crystal. We gained an additional 10% off the same price that Crystal was offering by stating we were staying at the Lipa. This could be a significant saving for a family. We did mention this to the Crystal Reps. The good other thing also about the resort is that ski theft did not appear to be a problem. Skiers did not seem to split skis up and on some days there was expensive gear being left unattended.

Hopefully this review will push the Lipa back up to number one where it belongs, (unfortunately the previous review appears to have scored wrongly). We would have no hesitation in returning to the Lipa and are seriously considering a visit in the summer; however whatever time of year you go you will not go wrong by choosing to stay at the Lipa

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowball19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We had a week at Penzion Lipa for a ski trip in January and I'd thoroughly recommend it - especially after seeing and hearing about some of the other hotels from my ski class mates. The location is a little off the main drag but perhaps only a 5 min walk (it seemed more when you're carrying skis so I'd recommend renting a locker at the Intersport on the slopes for 30 euros / week). Our room (8) was in the eaves and was really good - nicely decorated and a big, comfy bed with velux roof window above. Good balcony with views to the alps. It was always really warm which was great after a day skiing - and the shower was excellent , if a bit temperamental with the hot/cold (shame there was no bath). Satellite TV and minibar were fine.

Food was served in the basement which sounds worse then it was. Not sure why they don't want you to eat in the conservatory with other dinner guests! However, nicely decorated restaurant in the basement and good food (better then most hotels in town I understand). Good choice of starters and mains all of pretty high standard. There's also an extensive pizza menu - the ones I tired were excellent. Breakfast was a cold and hot buffet and was delicious.

We booked this last minute through Crystal Ski for under £300 each, including flights, transfers and half-board accomodation. As it was so cheap I was expecting something altogether less well-appointed and I was extremely pleasantly surprised - this hotel is far better then many other 4* hotels I've stayed in in the UK and Europe. The friendliness of the owner family was also appreciated. Altogether a fantastic place to stay. Many of the other hotels in the town looked pretty grim from the outside so we were sure we'd made the right choice!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Lovely hotel, excellent food.
Would recommend to all

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank RichtAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed here at the end of the summer season so it was just winding down but we managed to catch the last Gala dinner of the season which was absolutely fantastic - especially the dessert! In general the food was really good and not too limited the hotel also has a pizzeria upstairs for non-guests but you can have pizza too - just ask!

The food aside it was a lovely hotel with only a few rooms which made it less impersonal than some of the other bigger hotels in the town. The staff were accommodating and when there was a problem in the room it was fixed fairly promptly.

The town itself is lovely and the hotel is within a few minutes walking distance from the main town square. There are lots of stunning walks to go on for walkers of all abilities. One thing to mention is that if you are in your twenties be prepared to feel very young as all of the other guests were silver haired travellers (although this didn't really matter to us as we were out all of the time).

Two other tips - if you like cake you must visit Cafe Charlie which is on the way into town as the cakes are heavenly!
Secondly, Lasko beer is much nicer than Union.

All in all a lovely relaxing holiday in a nice comfortable hotel - but be prepared to lose your waistline even if you do go walking every day!

  • Liked — The spectacular mountains outside (and the food of course)
  • Disliked — Having to eat in the basement of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StationTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullen.Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Pension Lipa in kransjka Gora. Slovenai.It was a lovely family run hotel, very friendly and we had a most enjoyable stay. The food was first class with a varied menu, to suit all tastes.The rooms were very comfortable and spotless clean.
We were made to feel very welcome and the family who run the hotel could not do enough to help.
We would certainly recommend this place for a holiday, the village and surrounding area was beautiful.Definately the place for peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Lovely location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullen_ScotlandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lipa

Property: Hotel Lipa
Address: Koroska 14, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Pension Lipa)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lipa Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing