We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non Saga guests in our twenties.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Calas De Mallorca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Non Saga guests in our twenties.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Prisank for one week. We had a mountain view which I highly recommend as on the first full night we got to witness and thunderstorm with lightning happening on the mountain tops whilst we sat warm and snug on the balcony.

I'd say the age divide in this hotel is 85% 55+ and 15+ under though this isn't anything to be put off by. Me and my finance are both in our late twenties and we had a great time. Other resorts in Kranjska Gora seemed to have a more even age divide so on the excursion trips there's more of a mix especially on the Venice trip where no SAGA guest were present.

The hotel did buffet style meals and through our Inghams package holiday deal we got a free packed lunch as well. Breakfast was what you'd expect fruit, cereal, fried goods and pastries. Personally I favoured the pancakes as I found the fried things to greasy. There's tea and coffee to drink as well as herbal tea and fruit juice. the glasses for juice are very small and thin. So I found it took quite a lot of trips to get hydrated in the mornings. Packed lunches we sandwiches, wafers water and fruit. the fruit was rock hard but if you left it it your room for a couple of days the nectarines would eventually soften. For dinner there was quite a selection some night better than others. the translation of the vegetable soups I found to be interesting, courgette soup was labelled as pumpkin soup and carrot soup wasn't named in English on the sign.
The hotel its self was clean and well kept they had a poole table which was fun and the staff where very helpful and willing to assist with any requests.

I've rated in 3 stars because the rooms were hot and stuff of an evening and when we we trying to sleep. On the first night we weren't given a choice of wine and the red wine we were given tasted like dessert wine which isn't suitable to go with dinner. (We had white for the rest of the stay which was nicer but we found even better wines in the bars around the town).
Also the dinners weren't what I'd rate as 4 or 5 star.

The a joining swimming pool that is free to guests was lovely never that busy. We both got Thia back and foot massages whilst there very good after a few days up the mountain.

I'd still recommend it to friends it was a lovely holiday great day trips and Dobs the tour rep was lovely and helpful.

Tip: Either take a towel with you to the swimming pool or its 1.50 euros to borrow one whilst your there.
Tip: Take a camera on the chair lift fantastic views on the way down.
Tip: For wine lovers, there's a lovely wine bar near the bus stop which does amazing wine for less than a euro.
Tip: To the right of the hotel there's a bar that sells lots of different Pukka teas.

Room Tip: Mountain view - good views quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmmm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    100
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
106
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The first thing to say about the Grand Hotel Prisank is that the mountain view from your balcony is worth the price of the holiday alone. For our June week with SAGA, we were also blessed with glorious sunshine and temperatures up to 36C, so in that respect we were lucky, as earlier visitors told us they had experienced quite a bit of rain. The hotel looks after guests perfectly and the SAGA rep Nebs seemed to be on hand 24 hours a day to iron out any problems. The restaurant offered a good variety of meat, fish and salad dishes, with vegetarian options, though we found the hot breakfast fare could be a bit hit-and-miss depending on your arrival time.

The real plusses are the location of the hotel, the warmth of the staff and the friendliness of fellow guests. After a few drinks on the sunny terrace, gazing up at the mountains, we felt we had known some of them for years !

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berks-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here. It was brilliant well organised and Nebs the saga rep was informative and supportive to us making our stay enjoyable. Nothing was to much trouble. The staff were polite and helpful. All spoke excellent English.
The included excursion were well coordinated and the guides made the trips much mor interesting and it was good to learn so much about beUtiful Slovenia

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol21anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Slovenia staying at the Grand Prisank Hotel in Kransjk- Gora With Saga. We went on their Walking Week and found it was hard walking in the most spectactular walking area. It was wonderful and we can not praise our guide Iztock enough.
He considered the party and the weather conditions and made decisions for us to enjoy the walking. But beware one has to be very fit and a keen walker.
With regards to the Hotel it was a joy to stay there, being comfortable, a willing staff and good accommodation, the meals being buffet style with a good variety. A special word of praise must go to the Saga rep Nebs for his work, for he did far more than the usual rep.
By the way, we paid extra to get a mountain view, which also had the advantage of not being disturbed by the sound of the church bells ringing through the night .

Would we go again?, Yes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first Saga Holiday and we were very pleased with the overall standard of the Hotel.We took a two week break in May 2013 and although the weather was very mixed it did not stop us from having a very decent break.You do however need to be very fit and a keen walker if you want to fully appreciate this type of holiday.Included in our holiday were 4 inclusive trips which were fairly good but the two additional excursions we booked were fairly expensive at an additional cost of 280 Euros,You can however book a local luxury minibus seating up to 8 persons at half the price.....BE AWARE that if you book tours with Saga that unless there are more than 16 in the trip then you will have to travel in very uncomfortable mini buses and on their roads this is very uncomfortable.Food was very good and decent choices via a buffet which would probably suit most tastes. Saga had their own lounge with a help yourself bar with excellent local spirits, wine and soft drinks. Tea and coffee were available free most of the day.

Room Tip: You do not have to book a room with a mountain view to avoid the church bells but the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bazzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to this hotel on what was our first SAGA holiday. Had to transfer from Strasbourg and it takes 3 to 4 hours and quite tiring. However the hotel took care of unloading the luggage and delivered it to our rooms while we checked in. Because we arrived late they had also provided cold meats, cheese, bread, fruit and bottles of water in our room which was a nice touch. Incidentally the coach stops enroute at a motorway service station for 40 odd minutes. We just had a coffee but a couple of ladies we got talking to later told us they had a small salad and glass of wine each and it cost 30 euros!
Hotel lobby in particular could do with refurbishing but in general it was a pleasant place to stay. Did not like the dining arrangements because you have to all sit together on allocated tables, a bit like school. However the food was fine although they do not do as many vegetables as we would be used to but there was plenty of salad. Waiting staff were really friendly as were the cleaners.
It is set in a breathtaking location and in a walkers paradise, during our one week we took 600 photos. There was still snow on the mountains (early May) but the temperature in and around the hotel was much warmer than we had left back in the UK.
We were all inclusive but did venture out, in particular to the coffee shop next door to the hotel, friendly and reasonable prices. Also the bar across the road and about 50 yards to your left with a terrace overlooking the road. 2 euros a pint!!
We really enjoyed our time there and would advise our friends and family to visit.
Almost forgot. The rep, Nebs, was very good. We dont usually have much contact with reps but did notice that he was always about chatting to guests. Did not realise until later that he was resident in the hotel. He was very helpful and forever arranging quizzes and printing off crosswords for people. The way he helped out some people was I would say above and beyond what the average rep would consider doing.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view. On the other side the church bells will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the last week in April 2013 on a full board basis.The skiing season had finished but the high season had not started. We were not there for the skiing but, had we been three weeks earlier, we were told, there was still several feet of snow in parts of the town! In fact we went up one of the mountains in a cable car and there was deep snow at the summit. We travelled with Saga and, except for one night when a large coach party stayed, the 'Saga Louts' had the place practically to ourselves.
The hotel is in a good state of repair and decoration and our room had twin beds an an en- suite shower. We had paid a supplement for a mountain view which we were glad of, not only for the view itself but also because we heard that the rooms on the other side of the building suffered from the church clock chiming day and night. Rooms were cleaned daily. The only minor niggles were that there was no tea or coffee making facility in the room and no box of tissues in the shower room. Oh, and be warned - if you have children with you make sure that you don't leave them alone with the TV remote as there as several porno channels with no warning.
The restaurant was okay with plenty of choice on the face of it but many dishes were similar to each other being just different meats in gravy/sauce. Dessert was always some form of cake or ice cream. No cheese!
There are good signposted walks of varying difficulty and length and the hotel can arrange minibus trips if there is sufficient interest.
Overall we had a very pleasant week.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the mountain view; it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_bloxsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora

Property: Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Address: Borovska cesta 93, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Grand Hotel Prisank)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#6 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada hotel & suites Kranjska Gora has become one of the most remarkable architectural elements of Kranjska Gora for its fascinating presentation. The comfortably furnished rooms offering a view of the mountains, combined with the exquisite furnishing of the hotel, make it a perfect place, especially for tranquil guests expecting the best comfort from their holidays. The hotel lies within a mere 100 metres from the ski slopes, yet right at the heart of all town activities due to its location next to the main promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing