We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Slovenia staying at the Grand Prisank Hotel in Kransjk- Gora With Saga. We went on their Walking Week and found it was hard walking in the most spectactular walking area. It was wonderful and we can not praise our guide Iztock enough.
He considered the party and the weather conditions and made decisions for us to enjoy the walking. But beware one has to be very fit and a keen walker.
With regards to the Hotel it was a joy to stay there, being comfortable, a willing staff and good accommodation, the meals being buffet style with a good variety. A special word of praise must go to the Saga rep Nebs for his work, for he did far more than the usual rep.
By the way, we paid extra to get a mountain view, which also had the advantage of not being disturbed by the sound of the church bells ringing through the night .

Would we go again?, Yes

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first Saga Holiday and we were very pleased with the overall standard of the Hotel.We took a two week break in May 2013 and although the weather was very mixed it did not stop us from having a very decent break.You do however need to be very fit and a keen walker if you want to fully appreciate this type of holiday.Included in our holiday were 4 inclusive trips which were fairly good but the two additional excursions we booked were fairly expensive at an additional cost of 280 Euros,You can however book a local luxury minibus seating up to 8 persons at half the price.....BE AWARE that if you book tours with Saga that unless there are more than 16 in the trip then you will have to travel in very uncomfortable mini buses and on their roads this is very uncomfortable.Food was very good and decent choices via a buffet which would probably suit most tastes. Saga had their own lounge with a help yourself bar with excellent local spirits, wine and soft drinks. Tea and coffee were available free most of the day.

Room Tip: You do not have to book a room with a mountain view to avoid the church bells but the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bazzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to this hotel on what was our first SAGA holiday. Had to transfer from Strasbourg and it takes 3 to 4 hours and quite tiring. However the hotel took care of unloading the luggage and delivered it to our rooms while we checked in. Because we arrived late they had also provided cold meats, cheese, bread, fruit and bottles of water in our room which was a nice touch. Incidentally the coach stops enroute at a motorway service station for 40 odd minutes. We just had a coffee but a couple of ladies we got talking to later told us they had a small salad and glass of wine each and it cost 30 euros!
Hotel lobby in particular could do with refurbishing but in general it was a pleasant place to stay. Did not like the dining arrangements because you have to all sit together on allocated tables, a bit like school. However the food was fine although they do not do as many vegetables as we would be used to but there was plenty of salad. Waiting staff were really friendly as were the cleaners.
It is set in a breathtaking location and in a walkers paradise, during our one week we took 600 photos. There was still snow on the mountains (early May) but the temperature in and around the hotel was much warmer than we had left back in the UK.
We were all inclusive but did venture out, in particular to the coffee shop next door to the hotel, friendly and reasonable prices. Also the bar across the road and about 50 yards to your left with a terrace overlooking the road. 2 euros a pint!!
We really enjoyed our time there and would advise our friends and family to visit.
Almost forgot. The rep, Nebs, was very good. We dont usually have much contact with reps but did notice that he was always about chatting to guests. Did not realise until later that he was resident in the hotel. He was very helpful and forever arranging quizzes and printing off crosswords for people. The way he helped out some people was I would say above and beyond what the average rep would consider doing.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view. On the other side the church bells will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the last week in April 2013 on a full board basis.The skiing season had finished but the high season had not started. We were not there for the skiing but, had we been three weeks earlier, we were told, there was still several feet of snow in parts of the town! In fact we went up one of the mountains in a cable car and there was deep snow at the summit. We travelled with Saga and, except for one night when a large coach party stayed, the 'Saga Louts' had the place practically to ourselves.
The hotel is in a good state of repair and decoration and our room had twin beds an an en- suite shower. We had paid a supplement for a mountain view which we were glad of, not only for the view itself but also because we heard that the rooms on the other side of the building suffered from the church clock chiming day and night. Rooms were cleaned daily. The only minor niggles were that there was no tea or coffee making facility in the room and no box of tissues in the shower room. Oh, and be warned - if you have children with you make sure that you don't leave them alone with the TV remote as there as several porno channels with no warning.
The restaurant was okay with plenty of choice on the face of it but many dishes were similar to each other being just different meats in gravy/sauce. Dessert was always some form of cake or ice cream. No cheese!
There are good signposted walks of varying difficulty and length and the hotel can arrange minibus trips if there is sufficient interest.
Overall we had a very pleasant week.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the mountain view; it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c_bloxsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel well located, just a few minutes walk to ski lifts and close to all amenities, shops, bars etc, as well as quaint old village. Hotel itself is well appointed, very clean and comfortable, large bedroom and en-suite shower room with ample storage. Extremely comfortable beds not compatable with getting up in the morning to go skiing!! Superb breakfast and dinner buffet, beautifully presented with large variety. The pizza/pasta restaurant is especially recommended for lunch. My main complaint relates to the restaurant as they refused to supply a jug of water to the table despite numerous requests. Other minor gripes were that the bedroom balcony, for which a supplement was charged, could not be used as was flooded with melting snow, the tv did not work, and the temperature in public areas a bit to cool for comfort. Overall an enjoyable experience but could have been better.

Room Tip: Do not bother paying extra for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here as part of a skiing holiday with Crystal. Everything about this hotel was great, the food, service, comfort, location... superb.
The hotel is really warm inside, some may find the bedrooms hot, but you can turn down the heating or open your balcony door a bit like we did. The bathroom was great with a really good hot shower, with a great adjustable pressure - bliss after a good days skiing!!
Service was excellent in the restaurant, and food quality was superb.

TIP - Get the reception to give you a plastic card when you check in - they can be used to pay for services and drinks in the hotel, as well as a couple of snack bars at the bottom of the slopes, and about another 3 hotels in resort... just look for the 'Hit Holidays' logo. They don't give you this card straight away so you have to ask for it. Makes getting drinks with your evening meal so much easier. The waiters were excellent, very friendly and professional.

Would I stay at this hotel and in Kranjska Gora again?? YES to both!!!
Fantastic... wish I were still there!! ;)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony... its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smallstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Feb 2013 for a last minute skiing trip (booked through Thompson Ski). Rooms are a very good size with very comfy beds. They also have a good selection of English speaking channels on the TV.

It's just a shame that the decor is a bit "80's" and the hotel could do with a bit of work here and there (the rendering is starting to flake off a bit and there were a few 'drips' in the public area around the lifts on the second floor).

The buffet breakfast & dinner are better than the average buffet fodder - I would highly recommend the pancakes. I just couldn't work out why they felt the need to put chocolate/ strawberry ice cream syrup over the bananas!

Be very wary of ordering a bottle of wine with dinner - after paying €34 for a poor Cabernet Sauvignon (apparently it was their house red) we decided to stick to beers (also averpriced but not too bad.

I would highly recommend Bar Ex just over the road from the hotel (next to the Intersport Bernik hire shop) - whilst it looks like a "locals" bar we found that we were made extremely welcome (so much so that it became our local for the week).

The big secret is finding the short cut through to the pistes - if you come up the ramp from the hotel car park (where the ski room is located), turn left and go around the left hand side of the apartment building it's much quicker than going down the road.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 281 & 282 which were balcony rooms above reception. Because of this we could p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kranjska Gora
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora

Address: Borovshka cesta 93, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Grand Hotel Prisank)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#5 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: $99 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada hotel & suites Kranjska Gora has become one of the most remarkable architectural elements of Kranjska Gora for its fascinating presentation. The comfortably furnished rooms offering a view of the mountains, combined with the exquisite furnishing of the hotel, make it a perfect place, especially for tranquil guests expecting the best comfort from their holidays. The hotel lies within a mere 100 metres from the ski slopes, yet right at the heart of all town activities due to its location next to the main promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing