We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
151
143
50
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
143
50
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel leksuperior roomswimming poolbuffet styletennis courtsdining roomsalad barminute walksoupsski slopesvelux windowboth breakfast and dinnerice creamself servicewine and beerfriendly hoteljulian alps
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 358 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel Lek has very friend staff always willing to help. It is located a short stroll out of town which is great to walk off dinner which is very high quality but buffet so easy to over do! There is plenty of walking strait from the door with a good variety of routes. Bear in mind that some of walks take you quite close to the edge of near vertical drops so be careful when choosing your routes if you suffer from heights (we found this was the case with the waterfall walk [route 6] and route 13). Another thing to watch out for is the signs and route guides for the set walks are often ambitious in their timings. For example (we are quite fit having climbed Kilimanjaro) many walks which state 1hr can end up taking 1 and a half hours or more so give yourself plenty of time!

Our room was spacious and comfortable with the usual peculiarity on the continent of twin beds pushed together for a double. As stated the food was excellent and in the evenings a specials menu of drinks is provided be careful though as the water on this menu is a small bottle of hotel water (which is the same one you get for free if you get the free packed lunch). The hotel had a very refreshing pool and jacuzzi (deposit of 10 euros for the stay) and a sauna (7 euros per day) which included Finish and Turkish sauna's and another jacuzzi which was rejuvenating after a long walk. The hotel also has a gym and tennis courts next door. Lake Jasna was only 5 mins up the road and was a lovely change of scenery. In addition every night in the summer the town puts on an event, usually music of some sort however you should arrive early if you want to get seats!
One warning and the hotel can do nothing about it, although the hotel is on the edge of town you can still hear the church bell in town, it rings every quarter of the hour and the one ring for every hour on the hour (however you quickly get used to this). The one thing that can be a nuisance is occasionally (I think only on the weekends) the bells will ring solidly for a few minutes at around 7am so some ear plugs may be in order.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tomb2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel Lek is on the quieter side (nowhere is really busy!) of Kranjska Gora - but still only 5 mins walk from the centre. Very helpful and friendly staff, the room (in the attic as booked late) was large with the twin beds & 2 large settees and was kept spotlessly clean. Pleasant swimming pool and hot-tubs; gym there but we didn't need to use it! Meals were repetitive but worthwhile: full buffet both at breakfast and dinner; breakfast (7am-10am) offered a good range of continental as well as cereals and 'full English', fruit juices/coffee on tap (bring your own tea bags); 4 course dinner (7pm-9pm) equally flexible with self-service except for main course where staff served as much as you wanted. Wine, etc. with meal is normally priced for hotel - bottle house wine from about 8 euros. After the meal everyone receives a complimentary glass of schnapps, some nights this was excellent.
All day coffee/bar downstairs, coffee just 1.40(euro) in the mornings, a euro more by evening. Table tennis table was well used.
Those who had booked thru Crystals were given a free packed lunch each day (repetitive but appreciated); we went on one of the free Crystal walks, excellent, the Reps are really good.
Wonderful centre for walking, local bus stops just outside hotel, Jasna Lakes 5 mins. walk up the road, marked footpaths very easy to follow. Ski lift is on other side of village but still only 10 mins. walk away.

Room Tip: Apparently someone has complained about the sound of the 'waterfall' in river across road from hotel, if that's likely to be a problem for you ask for a room on the other side. It's only 10ft high and really isn't noisy! The lift is good so can ask for room on upper floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FulwoodPR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just home from a 2 week holiday based in Hotel Lek. The staff, food and location were all great. Fresh omelette every morning, though loads of other choices available, a packed lunch every day you wanted it and a good choice on the buffet evening meal. We hired a car in advance just in case the weather went against us, as it happened we only got rain on one day though!
We did make good use of the car though, driving is easy ( helped by the fact we also booked a sat nav). One thing to remember though is that all hire cars must have a "vignette" a pre paid toll charges sticker, we did not know and bought one at a local garage.....no big deal it was only 15 Euro.
Prices are also better than UK and even if you are not an experienced rambler (I am not) there is enough to do.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: I paid the little bit extra for a balcony room as opposed to the less expensive rooms in "the roof space" with dormer windows. I cannot say for definite but I thought it was worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Pretty hotel close to the centre of the village and lake Jasna surrounded by wonderful views of the mountains with a river just across the road. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and evening meal and packed lunches were available. Two free escorted walks were included in the package with Crystal as well as some evening activities and trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks ending on 10th July 3013. We found all the staff very courteous and friendly, the food was very good and we never had two meals that had identical dishes the fortnight we were there. Dinner was a buffet and we were impressed with the quality and the service ( the hot portion of the buffet was served from the counter), the waiters and waitresses were also friendly and efficient . Previously we have been to Austria for our walking holiday and in terms of overall enjoyment this hotel compares well with those were we have stayed in Austria. The walking was different with more forest tracks and all these factors means that we will visit Slovenia again and if we return to Kranjska Gora we shall stay in the same hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoRod_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews