We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kompas(Kranjska Gora)
$140
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apartment House Berghi(Kranjska Gora)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpina Hotel(Kranjska Gora)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gostilna Cvitar(Kranjska Gora)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Triglav(Kranjska Gora)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lipa(Kranjska Gora)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
150
141
48
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
141
48
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel leksuperior roomswimming pooltennis courtsbuffet styledining roomsalad barminute walksoupsfree ski lockersvelux windowboth breakfast and dinnerski slopesice creamself servicewine and beerfriendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 351 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just arrived back from a weeks skiing holiday with my wife and 2 young boys.
We were made so welcome and the hotel is as family friendly as they come.The location is quite yet a 5 minute walk and you are at the ski slopes.The food is buffet style and is great ,lots of choice of salad bar,soups ,meats ,fish and deserts .Additionally they had daily specials on the drinks menu which offered real good value.On valentines day all the tables were treated to a free bottle of bubbly and the daily attention to detail was excellent.
The Hotel was impeccably clean and this was evident throughout.
The staff were very helpful polite and friendly andmade you feel very welcome (Levels of service you rarely see) .
We used the spa facilities everyday and they to were of a excellent standard.

If I had to find any faults it would be petty, but wireless facility in the bedrooms would have been welcome and tea/coffee facilities in the rooms would have been welcome.

Overall if your planning a skiing trip with your family then I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

Well done and thank you to all at Hotel Lek

Mal,England

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mal7672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

we have just arrived back from one weeks skiing, this hotel is great, very clean. we had a large balcony room and the children had the standard rooms, steer clear of the eves rooms as they are tiny ( my sister had one and moved straight away) way too small. food is good, not alot of choice alot of pork and potatoes, but more than enough even to fill two teenage boys. bar is nice was quiet while we where there, and although it looks scary from outside its a lovely warm cosy bar. rooms are very warm even in -20 outside had to have window open. bathrooms also spotless. we love slovenia having got married in bled and kranjska gora doesnt dissapoint, skiing is good would recommend the vopa bar for cheap drinks for apres ski. also try the warm wine available on the slopes.. amazing.. will be booking for 2013 asap.

Room Tip: steer clear of eves rooms.. standards are fine, no need to shell out for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANDREA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just spent a week in a balcony room at the rear of the hotel which had a lovely view of the mountains and was spacious and clean, the beds however were not to our taste as they were twin beds which had a wooden surround around the mattresses so were very uncomfortable when you rolled onto them.
The food in the restaurant was of good quality and plentiful with a good selection at breakfast and dinner, I am quite a fussy eater and I never struggled to find something to eat and there was a drinks offer on every evening with a choice of 3 different very drinkable wines for around 6 euros a bottle or beer/water/soft drinks starting at 0.99 cents.The hotel Manager runs a very tight ship and the staff were very efficient and polite and an empty plate never stayed on your table for more than 30 seconds before being swept away by one of the restaurants many staff.

The swimming pool and jacuzzi was a strange set up as you had to use your room towel when using these facilities so were advised to get changed in our room and go to this area in a dressing gown which was supplied in our room which made the hotel reception look like a hospital at times.
The hotel was very warm which was good as it was quite cold outside so be prepared to wear shorts in your room otherwise the temperature change once you leave can be shocking!
The slopes are a 5 min walk away and the hotel supplies a perfectly good ski/boot room which I would recommend you using as it is free to do so, there are lockers on the slopes you can hire for 30 euros pr wk but they are about an equal distance from the Bernik Intersport ski school which Thompson/First choice/Crystal ski tend to use so you don't really gain anything but lose 30 euros!

The only negative about the hotel was last day checkout was 11am and we were being picked up at 12:30 so asked if we could keep the room until 12 but this request was dismissed without any consideration which was rather annoying as the reception area was full of other people waiting to be collected at various times of the day so they was nowhere to sit and wait so we had to stand watching our empty room not being cleaned while we stood around, a small thing but irritating just the same.

Kranjska Gora itself is a lovely quiet village so don't go here looking for wild nightlife as this is not the place, there are a few bars in the village which are worth a visit (Vopa was our favouite 2 euros a 1/2Litre of union beer) and the supermarket was good for a snack or drink if you wanted something less formal but the prices on the slopes were reasonable as well.
This is a great place to go if you are virgin skiers like we were as the ski schools are very good and a private lesson could be bought for around 26 euros whci compared to the UK is very good value.
So go enjoy Kranjska Gora and the Lek hotel you;ll love it.........we did and we're going back in 2013.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms, pay a little extra for a balcony room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExcaliberMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week skiing trip staying in the hotel Lek via First Choice. Hotel staff were all very friendly especially the regular bar man in the evening. From reading previous TA reviews we opted for a superior room to avoid the eaves issue! The room was quite spacious and had a balcony but was basic and not what you would call superior compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The food wasn’t great – average at best in fact. This was the case with both breakfast and dinner. We are not great fans of buffets for dinner which probably didn’t help but the food just seemed rather bland. I had pork one night and turkey the next and I couldn’t really tell the difference. Saying this, there was a good choice and we heard from fellow travellers that the food wasn’t good at the other hotels either. The bar was nice (although slightly hidden away downstairs) and had good music. The local wine is very good and great value although sometimes proved tricky to get dependant on who was serving you. We were told that ‘open wine’ (i.e. in a carafe) was not available on some occasions and ended up buying a bottle at a much higher price (to be fair the bottle of wine was very good). Good location – about 5 minute walk to the slopes and to the village centre. We had a couple of things break within the room (hairdryer and light) both were fixed very quickly after being reported.

Would recommend a meal at Milka which is a 15 minute walk away where the food was the best we ate within the week. A bit of a trek in the snow and freezing temperatures although well worth it. In the summer I would suggest it as a ‘must do’ as it would be a lovely walk and location is overlooking the lake.

Overall: very good service, average food and not a 4 star hotel by a long way.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hotel Lek has a very good team of staff, always willing to take time to talk to you, teach you some Slovenian, or just help you out. The Hotel has many facilities such as spa, sauna, swimming pool(s), Fitness suite, lockers for skis, mountain bike storage and of course a bar..! The food was of a good standard and of reasonable variation, although breakfast was the same every day and not everyones 'cup of tea'!. The hotel is well placed and close to town, the lake, river, ski slopes and pretty much everything. The old town is also a couple of minutes walk away, which has a very pretty Austrian look to it. Quite a relaxed feel to the hotel and any problems, (eg. faulty lift), were fixed straight away. There is an additional daily charge for use of the Sauna/Jacuzzi, but Swimming Pool is free to guests, after a refundable deposit for an entry wrist band.
Definately recommend this as a place to stay and relax, or as a base to explore the area. Thank you to all the team there for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms in the very corners of the eves that are supposed to be quite small, so be aware of this. I was in the top floor, but not at the end, so reasonable space, as per a std hotel room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biggie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews