We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ottimo ma pessimi letti”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lek
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Portobuffole, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ottimo ma pessimi letti”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very good hotel but bad beds!
Ottimo albergo: pulito, si mangia bene, vicino alle piste e vicino al centro, bel complesso termale, buon rapporto qualita' prezzo. Unico difetto: camere troppo calde e letti scomodissimi, rumorosi e cuscini inesistenti.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    123
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
95
133
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Dont go with Inghams or you will get shoved into a pokey,dark attic room. It does tell you in the Inghams brochure that you will be up in the rafters but nothing can prepare you for just how bad it is. Ours was on the gable end with a sloping roof which cut out all of the light. This was a shame and we determined not to let it spoil our holiday as the hotel in every other respect was to our liking. Whilst some people have complained about the food we had no such worries and there was certainly plenty to choose from. The staff in the hotel were superb which is what you are looking for on holiday and were always cheerful and friendly.
If you are an avid walker then there is plenty to go at although I would advise you take the Cicerone guidebook 'The Julian Alps of Slovenia' which features many of the walks in the area.If you are not too keen on high level or hard walks then there are plenty of easier walks about and the hotel is in the ideal location. Apart from the pokey room provided by Inghams a brilliant friendly place to visit which I would recommend. Shame on Inghams I say for putting their guests in inferior rooms, not good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lefty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, in a spectacular mountain setting. The multilingual staff (as is usual in Europe) were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed for four nights. Because we booked at the last minute we had to change rooms once, and the staff re-arranged some other bookings so that we did not have to move an additional time. Our en-suite rooms were on the top floor (eaves rooms) which gave us fantastic views to the mountains. The buffet style meals were excellent, and varied every night. We would gladly return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here as part of a package deal with a well known holiday company. The hotel is well located near to the village but opposite the river and a few minutes walk from the lake. There are good facilities with the Sauna, pool, fitness room and jacuzzi. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was of a good standard. However, what the Holiday company did not tell us that was that we had been given an Eaves room. This room is located in the roof space and has a sloping ceiling. It is very small and only has a velux window so no view and no balcony. On complaining the holiday company did not want to know so we were stuck with the room for the whole week. Luckily, the weather was good and there's plenty to do outside so it did not spoil our holiday and it is otherwise a good hotel and the staff were so helpful so I would otherwise recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the eaves room and double check with your holiday company before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stringys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed for the second time. Excellent hotel, clean rooms, professional staff, tasty food , low prices (special offer at dinner time: coca-cola 0,99 EUR!, imported beer 2,00 EUR, local beer 1,50 EUR, bottled wine 6 EUR), great swimming pool and sauna centre. One of the best (if not he best) 4* hotels in Slovenia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a lovely hotel set in a very scenic area.
The bedroom and bathroom were of a very high standard.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
My only crticism is of the carvery dinner every evening.
The food was always cold and on one occasion the fish on offer consisted of fish fingers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We visited the hotel in August on a Thomson Lakes and Mountains holiday, paying the extra for a room with a balcony and flying into Salzburg which meant a three and a half hour transfer through the stunning Alpine scenery and avoids the 03.00 a.m. departure on the final day.

The hotel is large and the room we had was very good with an Austrian double bed with a divider, ample storage space, TV, balcony with mountain views and chairs for sunning oneself. The bathroom has only a powerful shower but is very large and clean. There isn't a kettle but there is a fridge, so if a cuppa is essential then I would recommend you bring a travel kettle and British tea bags. Decor wise there were some cracks on the walls and maybe the hotel could do with a touch up here and there, but it was very clean indeed and the staff were polite and attentive at all times.

In the basement there is a delightful swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool, this was a godsend after a day's walking or mountain biking, and for those with more energy there was also a gym and treatment centre as well. The pool and gym were free to use with a €10 deposit for a fob key and were open from 07.00 - 21.00.

The food was plentiful if not outstanding. Breakfasts consisted of a huge buffet choice; those wanting a full English perhaps need to look elsewhere, but there was bacon and scrambled eggs each day, along with a choice of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, several varieties of bread, yoghurts and fruit - enough to keep us going! As another report has stated the 'fruit juice' is just squash or watered down with the alternative being apple and beetroot juice mixed which was different. Some had packed lunches that were reported as being very 'bread' based and it seemed best to each locally. The evening meals were varied, with generous portions and very meat based. Starters included soup and local meat and vegetable starters, a fresh and varied salad choice followed by a choice of three or four mains, with the opportunity to have as many as one wished of each dish. these tended to be pork and chicken or turkey based but fish was available each day as well. The desserts were a varied selection of cakes, fresh fruit or very good ice cream - or all three! The only downside was mid week when the dessert seemed to be tinned fresh fruit salad. Twice a week there were themed nights with Slovenian dishes on one and Balkan on the other which were very good. Another useful point is the drinks deal which is available each night with specific wines, beers and soft drinks were available at a reduced price, the wine being about €4-6 and the beers €2 each, with the bottles being .50cl which is a decent amount.
The hotel is very fine indeed and I would give it 4 stars for comfort with three for food.

Other info -
When we went the weather was very warm and settled and the whole area is certainly geared up to active pursuits. You have to enjoy walking or hiking along the excellent well marked trails though do invest in The Julian Alps of Slovenia by Justi Carey and Roy Clark as the maps are essentail but not quite Ordnance Survey. Excellent cross country biking along differnet levels of trails is available though bring padded shorts for this with hire between €7-10 per day on top mountain bikes and do use the reliable coach service to get around. The tourist information gives bus times but cross check at the bus station as some don't run all summer as we discovered, however, the buses are reliable and cheap more like coaches really. Lunches can easily be bought from the supermarket or the local bakery that serves a Slovenian snack of stuffed bread for €1.50. When out walking, the Doms or mountain inns are worth visiting and prices seemed the be fixed for most drinks and food. There is plenty to see and do but perhaps not the place for someone wanting culture and museums, but for someone wanting fresh air, mountains and lots of activities, it is first class.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BerksFam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Property: Hotel Lek
Address: Vrshishka cesta 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing