We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Hotel Kotnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kotnik
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel for location, price and most of all the hospitality.

The hotel is located a 5min walk from the small village bus stop (from / to small villages & towns and Ljubljana) and the same distance from tourist office, bars and the ski slopes. We came for two weeks hiking in the mountains and the room we were in was a lovely size and so immaculate, the balcony overlooked the mountains. The shower was amazing after long hard days out walking.

Breakfast was continental with eggs and bacon and if you didn't like the thick coffee there was the biggest selection of tea and other instnat coffee and cappuccino and if something wasn't there or to your satisfaction you simply have to ask. We found the breakfast a great choice, fresh and really nice.

Pizzeria next door is very reasonably priced and unless you have the appetite of a giant, you will find one pizza between two is more than enough and there is a lot of choice.

The best part of the hotel was the wonderful people who own / work there, we have travelled many places in the world and truly not met such genuine people who really want to make your stay fabulous - they don't know if you will be back or not but treat you as if you will be.

General tips:
Great place to walk from, buy the Ciccone book of walks in Slovenia and / or get a map for €6.50 with local cycling & walking routes from the Tourist Office in the village.
Hardest walk is to Vrisic Pass to see the image of the girl in the mountain, but it was early in May with no buses and 6ft of snow in places
Do the Tromje walk (3 countries). You get the bus to Ratec and walk through the village, up through the forest and are on/crossing the borders of Slovenia, Austria and Italy. Quite special. On the 2nd Sunday of September people from all the countries meet up on the mountain and have a party if sorts by all accounts.
Try the 'hotdogs' from the bakery, odd but very tasty

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HnS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kotnik
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

A small hotel in a small and silent town. We stayed just three nights and were satisfied. Our room was big enough and it was very clean. Breakast was also good enough for such a small hotel. Coffee and tea maker was near the loby and free of charge. Staff was kind. We also had dinner which was good. There is a supermarket near the hotel and some very good restaurants. For those who like gambling, casino is very near and those who like nature and walking a beautiful lake is near. If you like to relax and enjoy the nature, then Kranjska Gora is for you in any season.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel. We stayed there in winter time, everything was covered in snow and the overall impression was very nice, as the building is very nice and well-maintained from the outside, looks cosy and inviting, in my opinion it is the most beautiful hotel there. The inside was nice as well - although everything seems tiny at first, rooms were big enough, nicely furnished and very clean.
Hotel has a restaurant which is all right, but we preffered a hotel pizzeria which is cosy, original and have very tasty pizzas.
Only negative sides are: at breakfast some items were not replaced when they were out (small amounts so they dissapeard quickly), quite slow internet connection (but the plus is that it is free, which is not the case in other hotels there) and although we had two rooms and one apartment, we couldn't get neither one for late check-out (we have a little baby so we wanted a few more hours to leave comfortably).
Although there are hotels located closer to the ski slopes, which is a plus if you came for winter sports, we will surely choose hotel Kotnik again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from a lovely skiing holiday (4 of us).Truly great hotel, very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Romana - the manager - is a true profesional, makes everyome feel like at home she works really hard but is always smiling and willing to help. There is not one bad thing we could say about this place. Fantastic food (pizza to die for), plenty to chose from for breakfast. Rooms tastefully decorated cleaned every day, very comfortable beds nice views from the windows. Location is also great just a stone throw from the slopes. We will be back definitely !! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeataJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a skiing holiday having spent 5 nights in this lovely hotel. The owners were so welcoming and could not do enough for us, even opening a private room to enable us to eat when the adjacent restaurants were both full. The food is superb, best sirloin steak ever, and not overpriced. Kranjska Gora is so pretty especially covered in snow and the skiing is suitable for both beginners and the more experienced. We will definitely be going back to the area and the hotel. Thank you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our last visit did not make us disappointed.
The same very friendly manager, Romana.
A pleasant room, clean and with everthing
you need for a short or long stay.
The Location is great.
The food in the restaurant is great.
The only constant little downside is the
somewhat stressful atmosphere among
the waiters there.
Apart from that, everything is very fine

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kotnik for 5 nights in early September as a base from which to go walking in the surrounding mountains.

The location of the hotel is great. It's right in the centre of Kransjka Gora and within easy reach of the trail heads. Our room (we were in the one bedroom suite on the top floor) was huge, well equipped and very clean. The views out over the rooftops towards the mountains were beautiful.

Some of the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, others were less so which was a shame.

Unfortunately I agree with Amber Rambler about the flies. We got really frustrated constantly batting them away in both the restaurant and the pizzeria. We also found a dead fly in our scrambled egg which really put us off our breakfast but didn't seem to concern the staff.

That said the pizzas are excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for the top floor.
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank YoungCoupleBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Klass
Suite Hotel Klass
#9 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kotnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kotnik

Address: Borovska cesta 75, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: $86 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kotnik 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kotnik is a family-run hotel with a long, 30 - year tradition. It is located in the center of Kranjska Gora, know for its excellent restaurant and the oldest pizzeria PINO. Very kind employees and owners are a guarantee for the guests well - being and comfortable stay. All of our 15 rooms (single, double, triple and also rooms with four beds) in the hotel part are equipped in accordance with the standards needed (SATV, shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, telephone, mini bar, safe deposit box) Our guests can also use a fully equipped conference room, suitable for 10 people. A big parking lot in front of the hotel insures a free of charge and safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kotnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kotnik Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing