We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet, relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kompas
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet, relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had 3 nights at this hotel during October half-term. On first arrival we thought we may be the only people at the hotel; we only saw other guests at breakfast! It was a quiet and relaxing stay with beautiful views of the mountains.
There was a mix up of rooms when we arrived, which I think was down to the booking agent, but it was quickly and efficiently sorted.
The Spa was small, but clean and relaxing. Although we were a little shocked to find there were no towels available - a trip back to our room to collect towels and robes was a little annoying (especially after having a massage).
Breakfast was basic, although it did improve on the last day when there were more guests staying in the hotel.
The bar was a bit hit or miss. Some drinks unavialble and the same cocktail was served veyr differently on separate days!?!?
This was a great location for exploring this region! Would definitely consider returning to do some more walking - minus the unexpected snow in October!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the mountains but do request a room with a good view just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
64
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Kompas in September it was quite a nice hotel,we think it has a great location in the small town.Our room had a super view of the fantasic mountains(what a way to start the day)it was basic but very clean and comfy and had a very nice shower.The breakfast was buffet style which was good enough for us,and for tea all you can eat buffet with a good selection of fine food on every night(the food was good not great,we were happy with it).On our last night we went to a pizza palace at the bottom end of the village and it has to be maybe the best we have ever had(don't miss out)The Kompas also had a pool/jac for relaxation after our mountain walks it was also ok.We had never been to Slovenia before this holiday we must say we loved every second of our stay it was STUNNING.We walked,hired bikes,went on trains and took in some lovely sites(and the sun stayed out).we hope to go back soon.On our visit we also had a great laugh with other guests from the uk which made our stay so much fun.(and we like FUN) give it a go!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Kransjka Gora is a wonderful place to visit if you are there for the walking.
Very pleasant hotel, lovely and clean.
The food was varied and good quality with self serve buffet at breakfast and dinner.
Food was really nice with an excellent choice, breakfast there was every thing you could want, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, ciossants, rolls, pancakes, cheese, ham and hot food sausages and selection of eggs etc, selection of juices and teas and coffee. Dinner was good with a changing buffet every night something .
Resort very picturesque. The Pool was small.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view Check the close supermarket for excellent candies in very fair prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeomiNiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Kompas Hotel and I say from the outset that the hotel was very good but could do with a couple of improvements.

From the out outset we found the staff to be faultless. They were friendly, obliging and cheerful. As far we were concerned they couldn’t be better.

Public rooms were good if a little hot – but it was August. Carpets on the stairs were a little worn but OK. Our bedroom was large and very clean. Towels were changed every day. The hotel did lose a point as there was no air-conditioning and at night it was difficult to sleep because of the heat.

My wife said the swimming pool was very good and again the staff there were very helpful.

Food, well! Breakfast very good, a decent selection of cheese, ham, breads, fruit juice, yoghourt, fruit. For those who like egg (I don’t), there was a great variety. However the bacon was fatty and cheep and seemed to be cooked in lumps. But on the whole breakfast was fine and enjoyable.

Dinner included a choice of two soups, and an excellent salad bar. The hot plate always had pasta but some of the meats were again very fatty and certainly not to my taste. Fruit was always available and ice cream was on most evenings and a selection of cakes was always available. There was a decent selection of wines although I thought them a bit pricey. Beer was €3.00 for a small bottle, local restaurants only charged €2.00 for a half litre! And if you wanted water, they would only sell bottled and not let you have tap water. (Tap water by-the-way was very safe to drink and had no aftertaste).

On our last night they had what they called a ‘picnic’ but it was in fact a barbecue. The noise generated by the band was simply horrendous, boom, boom, boom until 1.00am. It wasn’t even music. I telephoned to complain and they said they could do nothing about it and remarked that I was the third to complain. I think they could have done something as the event was on their property and they even sold tickets.

Despite these drawbacks, don’t be put off. The Kompas is a good hotel. It is a great location in a wonderful village. There is just room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Kompas Hotel and I say from the outset that the hotel was very good but could do with a couple of improvements.

From the out outset we found the staff to be faultless. They were friendly, obliging and cheerful. As far we were concerned they couldn’t be better.

Public rooms were good if a little hot – but it was August. Carpets on the stairs were a little worn but OK. Our bedroom was large and very clean. Towels were changed every day. The hotel did lose a point as there was no air-conditioning and at night it was difficult to sleep because of the heat.

My wife said the swimming pool was very good and again the staff there were very helpful.

Food, well! Breakfast very good, a decent selection of cheese, ham, breads, fruit juice, yoghourt, fruit. For those who like egg (I don’t), there was a great variety. However the bacon was fatty and cheep and seemed to be cooked in lumps. But on the whole breakfast was fine and enjoyable.

Dinner included a choice of two soups, and an excellent salad bar. The hot plate always had pasta but some of the meats were again very fatty and certainly not to my taste. Fruit was always available and ice cream was on most evenings and a selection of cakes was always available. There was a decent selection of wines although I thought them a bit pricey. Beer was €3.00 for a small bottle, local restaurants only charged €2.00 for a half litre! And if you wanted water, they would only sell bottled and not let you have tap water. (Tap water by-the-way was very safe to drink and had no aftertaste).

On our last night they had what they called a ‘picnic’ but it was in fact a barbecue. The noise generated by the band was simply horrendous, boom, boom, boom until 1.00am. It wasn’t even music. I telephoned to complain and they said they could do nothing about it and remarked that I was the third to complain. I think they could have done something as the event was on their property and they even sold tickets.

Despite these drawbacks, don’t be put off. The Kompas is a good hotel. It is a great location in a wonderful village. There is just room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel Kompas, on arrival we were given a different room to the one we had booked, we went down to reception to try and get the fault rectified, the receptionist was very unhelpful and offered us a different room, but without a balcony, which we had also prebooked, she was not happy when we refused this and eventually she was able to give us a double room with balcony, which we had booked. The rooms were a very big size, with a nice comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. We only had our bath cleaned twice while we were there and we spent fourteen nights there!!. The staff in the restaurant were very helpful and they all spoke a bit of english. The food wasn't very exciting but it was all edible. Kranjska Gora is a beautiful place to visit, the scenery is stunning lots of lovely walks. If you want to visit Lake Bled and Lake Bohinj it is very difficult by bus. There is only one daily bus that goes straight to Lake Bled and that only runs Monday to Friday. There are no buses that go direct to Lake Bohinj.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stubenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week of walking in a room with balcony - very comfortable - great shower and bed and good sized room with everything in the right place (i.e. power points near mirrors), plenty of storage and a mini bar (which we used to chill our own white wine).

The staff at Reception were very friendly and helpful - we had to report two issues with our room - the latch on the door to the balcony was faulty - and a lightbulb over the bathroom mirror was out - and on both occasions, the issues were rectified very quickly.

The food is good without being very exciting, but every night something different was on offer. The most enjoyable dinner was on the last evening when we were able to eat the local cuisine. We drank the house red wine with dinner and it was very pleasant (16 Euros). It can be a bit erratic at breakfast time as far as shortage of bread, or no spoons for the cereal, but the staff are quick to sort anything out if it is pointed out to them. As someone else mentioned - if there is a coach party staying at the hotel, there can be a build-up at the coffee machines.

Nobody seems to drink in the bar (which is an open area near the reception). This is probably due to the fact that drinks in the nearby bars are very cheap.

Kransjka Gora is a wonderful place to visit if you are there for the walking. We barely scratched the surface of the area, so will go back next year. There is a bar behind the Tourist Information Office, owned by a British guy called Jay. I can't remember the name of the bar, but he was a fantastic source of information on the great walks in the area - seemed to be more knowledgeable than the staff in the Tourist Office. He was extremely friendly and enthusiastic, and you can arrange different activities through him, such as white water rafting and hiking.

Room Tip: If you opt for a room with balcony, ask for a front facing one (with good views), as the rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghSkiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#9 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Property: Hotel Kompas
Address: Borovshka cesta 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kompas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Kranjska Gora lies just off the village centre and right at the foot of the ski slopes, surrounded by a vast hotel garden and green meadows. In addition to the accommodation facilities, this hotel is praised for its rich culinary offer and the possibility of relaxing in the wellness centre, while its meetings and events offer allows the organisation of various events. The hotel offers 149 comfortable, modern-style rooms of various sizes and 5 suites. All rooms are equipped with cable TV, direct phone line, safe deposit box, bathing tub with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kompas Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing