We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punctual and professional staff”
Review of Hotel Kanin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kanin
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bovec
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I have stayed at Kanin Hotel several times.
All hotel staff (irrespective of the status - from management to cleaners) are smiling, polite and ready to help.
Nice, clean and light bathrooms.
Rooms cleaned, towels changed every day.
Considering that I am quite exacting about food Kanin Hotel offer fantastic meals, great choice: five types of meat, fish, fresh salads, fruit, etc.
Good price/quality.
Moreover the location (Bovec) has incredible mountain views.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iloveslovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed for 7 nights,booked via Crystal, at the end of July. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Bovec, although is set back from the main square which made it quiet. It is large and will benefit from the scheduled refurbishment later this year.

Definately opt for a balcony as the views are stunning! The room was adequately sized and I felt that the beds were perfectly comfortable. It was clean and well maintained, and the shower was first class.

I was disappointed that the fitness room didn't open until 1pm so I didn't get around to trying that out. The pool always seemed a bit full of children so didn't make use of that either.

I think some of the staff could take some 'smiling lessons' as they did seem a bit dour, particularly those working at the bar.

The only real downside was the food which was very average. It is buffet style but there is no explanation, beyond saying what meat it is made from, which meant that I was never quite sure what was going to go with what. I'm glad I'm not vegetarian as that was very limted, although there was a great salad bar. I was disappointed that there was no water available at breakfast, and as for the 'fruit juice' if anyone can tell me what 'fruit' it was supposed to be I'd be grateful! Options were pink or yellow! That said, it was filling and there was plenty of it. Dessert was gateau or fresh fruit.

Over all, we had a lovely week but might opt for self-catering if we stayed any longer as the food did get a bit monotonous!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We booked our holiday through Crystal for 10 days and were not disappointed. Yes the accomodation is basic, the furniture in the rooms is slightly dated but.... how much time do you really spend in your room when you're in such a stunning location. We opted for a balcony and were so glad it was beautiful to sit and just look and gaze from the room or on the balcony (although south facing so very hot). The bathroom was to a good standard, and the shower was powerful which when your hiking, cycling and taking part in watersports is needed! The linen and towels were clean as well. The beds are twins together which the continental style single duvets.

The hotel has a pool and sauna.

The resturant is fine, and as veggies it can be difficult, again the setting was slightly dated but the food was good with good choices and the staff were very friendly.

The staff at the hotel speak in all languages necessary and were helpful and friendly at all times. We didn't bring a 'beach' towel with us, the provided one for the pool and watersports with no problem.

Overall we had a great time, Bovec is a beautiful place, we understand that later this year the hotel is due to be refurbished.
We enjoyed ourselves and although basic it catered for us!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We booked directly with the hotel on a B&B basis. Our first impression of the accomodation was poor. The rooms are faded, the carpets do not look like they have been replaced since the hotel was opened in 1970. The beds are very uncomfortable but the bed linen was fine. Fortunately our bathroom had been refurbished. I am not sure that the room was worth the 92 euro a night we paid even though the balcony view was stunning. The hotel offers internet access but the 20 minute slot we bought didnt give us enough time to access any sites as the service was so slow! The breakfast was good but if you ate towards the end of the service there was little left and it wasnt being replenished. The hotel bar shut at 10pm every night which was early given that Bovec isnt bursting with drinking venues. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were very satisfied with this hotel. We paid a little extra for mountain view room with balcony and the view was spectacular. The hotel itself is 1970's and the furniture in the bedroom was a little dated although there was plenty of storage space and the bathroom was clean and fresh. The beds were rock hard but we got used to them. The swimming pool looked fabulous but we did not get round to using it. The food was very good with plenty to chose from, I have heard that the food in other hotels and restaurants in Slovenia is not that good so we felt very lucky with our hotel food. Staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated in the centre of the little village. You are a bit isolated in Bovec as there is only a limited bus service and no taxis. Although we are walkers, we are not experienced hill walkers and there are not many flat walks to take. Our only disappointment was with Inghams the company we booked through. We were hoping to take a few good excursions but there were not many available and the rep was not very informative. Many of the advertised excursions in their brochure were just not available to people staying in Bovec. We actually found the Crystal rep to be fantastic and we would recommend anyone going on a package holiday there to go with Crystal and avoid Inghams.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonrapide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We spent our winter holyday in Kanin hotel , together with our two sons and some other friends.
It was a nice experience : rooms are clean and enough space for us and our luggage , the food very good . The hotel is surely worth the money – in fact we had less expectation for what we paid.
Our children where very happy about the nice swimming-pool.
The Gala Diner for the New Year’s Eve was also nice , with live music and a lot of special dishes.
Hotel Kanin has a good location in the centre of the village, and easy access to the cabin that goes up to the skiing area, where the slopes were in very good condition.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank cineva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We found the Kanin by chance having checked ourselves out of an awful hotel in another location. We walked in at 11.30am and the friendly and helpful lady on reception offered us a room to check in there and then. She even juggled things around to find us a room with a balcony (minimal extra cost but well worth it for the beautiful mountain scenery).

The hotel is a little dated with a seventies feel to it throughout. But there is nothing particularly wrong with it. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool with view of the mountains - we had the pool to ourselves at 1pm!

The room was basic but functional and comfortable. The bathroom was fine. There was however no fridge/minibar.

The barman was a little grumpy but there was a nice outdoor terrace with a great view from which to enjoy a drink.

We didn't use the restaurant for dinner (most other guests seemed to be package holiday tourists eating buffet food). Breakfast was fine.

The location is lovely, Bovec is a pleasant little village with a couple of good restaurants. Letni Vrt is a wonderful restaurant which I know from previous travels - annoyingly it is closed on Tuesdays which was the day we were there!!

There is ample parking at the hotel.

Overall I would say the Kanin is good value for money for a short stay in the area, but you maybe wouldn't want to stay there for a week.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovec
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
137 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#4 of 4 in Bovec
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Soca Rocks
Hostel Soca Rocks
#2 of 20 in Bovec
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Bovec
Hostel Bovec
#3 of 20 in Bovec
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanin

Address: Ledina 9, Bovec 5230, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Bovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bovec
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kanin 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kanin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanin Hotel Bovec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing