We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but right on the main road”
Review of Hotel Boka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boka
Ranked #2 of 6 Bovec B&B and Inns
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice location but right on the main road”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

If it were not for the main road I would have rated this a 5 for the location between the Soca river and the Boka waterfall. The views are indeed spectacular but it is hard to go anywhere in this valley and not have a spectacular view. Staff were very friendly and the food is really good and very reasonably priced. Wine, beer and liquor is also well priced and overall just very good value in an idyllic setting. Just a shame about the road.

Room Tip: When we made our reservation they only had suites available for an extra 20 Euro and it was well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Boka Pension is on the road between Kobarid and Bovec on the way to the Vrsic Pass and right on the Emerald Green Soca River. Views from the hotel are spectacular and its used as the start point for whitewater rafting, kayaking and other smiliar water sports. The staff was very helpful, friendly and as in many of the hotels we've recently stayed in, in Slovenia they multi-tasked and on occasion were pulled in too many directions. We booked a suite which was well worth the extra 10 Euros per person per night, for the balcony and palatial bathroom with whirlpool bath. The suite was large enough for a king-sized bed and 2 very good sized single beds and still there was plenty of room. The whole hotel was quite technologically up-to-date with RFID key access (which we bizarrely had to pay a 5 euro deposit for), multi-function control panel in room to operate a/c, Do Not Disturb sign and master lighting. There was plenty of storage space, an in-room safe but sadly no tea and coffee making facilities which given that we were in a suite, one might have expected. In room internet access was by cable rather than wi-fi but a cable was available from reception. The night we stayed there was a wedding in the main restaurant, as a result our evening meal was served in the cafe area but was still to a good standard and the staff were very concerned that the wedding should not affect our stay,which it didn't at all - in fact it was quite entertaining to hear and see the wedding party arrive complete with showers of sweets hurled from the procession to any passers by. Breakfast was the usual array of cold cuts, juice, hot drinks, eggs and pastries, more than adequate.

Room Tip: book a suite for great views from the balcony and a whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GizmoCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Postojna, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice pension, friendly staff, great nature all around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Another lucky strike when booking hotels. We have stayed in Bovec before, but this hotel, wich actual name is Penzion Boka, is high quality stay right next to the river of Soca. Rooms are large, auto airconed, clean and new. we actually went to Italy from here, and instead of going to France as planned, we turned back, just for this hotel and river Soca. If you eant to experience Bovec with relaxation and comfort, this hotel is for you. Breakfast is great and tasty. Restaurant offers great meals. Try file mignon with Cheese souce, sound weird but it works! If you like rafting, ty Soca Rafting company from the city. Their river access point is actually from this hotel's parking place. parking is free and safe. Internet is provided in rooms via cable, some improvement there to get it wifi... We loved it, and defenatly coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. It is a lovely hotel with a real alpine feel to it. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The food is ok and the drinks are unbelievable value- €2 for good beer and €1.50 for glass of wine. I cannot commend the staff enough, always helpful and smiling. Initially I was bit put off because the hotel is few km outside Bovec but I realised that there is not a major nightlife scene in Bovec so we were not missing out on anything! Also the bar in Boka was just lovely and really enjoyed sitting out on the veranda there in the evenings. Also you can access the Soca river from the car park which was great if you were feeling brave for a refreshing cold water dip! Overall, we were very happy with Pension Boka, would def recommend and we already looking forward to going back to Slovenia!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Really nice, new hotel, hightech, big rooms, clean, friendly staff. Excellent food, try the Gorgonsola steak. We had so much fun rafting at the Soca river, that we had to come back 2 weeks later on our Europe trip. Soca is a magical place, this was our second, but for sure not last time here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisuPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This part of the world is absolutely beautiful and the Pension Boka is a very nice little hotel, just a few kilometers from Bovec. As another guest pointed out in a previous review, I’m not sure why it’s classified as a pension. The rooms are clean and the facilities are relatively new and well-maintained. My room at the back of the building had great views and you can open the door/window to enjoy the views and let in fresh air if you wish. Most of the friendly and helpful staff speak English. In addition to the restaurant, there is a bar area and nice deck outside with views of the adjacent hills and nearby mountains, and where you can relax and enjoy a pastry, coffee, glass or wine, Lasko or other refreshment of your choice. A hiking trail up the mountain to get close to the waterfall begins just across the road. The beautiful Soca River runs right past the hotel. This is not a luxury resort, of course, but all else considered, this hotel is a little gem. I hope you enjoy your trip to Bovec as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esoesyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bovec hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
122 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
3.1 mi away
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#4 of 4 in Bovec
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sanje Ob Soci
Hotel Sanje Ob Soci
#1 of 6 in Bovec
87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel Soca Rocks
Hostel Soca Rocks
#2 of 19 in Bovec
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adrenaline-Check Eco Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boka

Property: Hotel Boka
Address: Zaga 156 A, Bovec 5224, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Ana)
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Bovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bovec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boka 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BOKA is located close to the River Soča and the Boka Waterfall. We look forward to greeting you into the beautiful scenery created by evergreen slender spruces, and the seasonally changing leaves and fields, home to moss and wild flowers. These unique and pristine natural elements are nurtured by the proud embrace of the River Soča. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing