We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for some quality craft beers”

Thirsty River Brewing
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Bovec
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Thirsty river Brewing started in the summer of 2017 and is Bovec’s first and only microbrewery. The brewery produces small, 400 liter batches of all styles of ales. The tap house and brewery is located on the main square in beautiful Bovec situated in the Julian Alps. The brewery also runs a small, 14 person hostel which is great for group gatherings or traveling backpackers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Small New place in the heart of Bovec.
Good range of beers on tap. Taste was also good for a relative new brewery. Highly recommended if you into craft beers or just want to enjoy a good beer.
Minus 1 star because of lack of food you can order. But luckily enough food cabins next to the terras where you can get some

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank R0brtW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"each evening"
in 2 reviews
"proper beer"
in 2 reviews
"american dream"
in 2 reviews
"ana"
in 3 reviews
"river"
in 3 reviews
"slovenia"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Really nice to be able to get a proper beer! Definitely recommend the Styrian Blonde - real tasty pint!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank bennybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Central location, super hosts and tasty beer, what else do you need :) Thanks to Ana and other staff for great experience

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Klemen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

This brewpub quickly became our hangout spot in Bovec. We live in an area of outstanding brewpubs in Colorado, and they have nothing on this place. The beer is high quality, reasonably priced, widely varied in types and made with a lot of locally-sourced ingredients, The couple who own it are friendly and eager to chat with guests — he’s from Wisconsin, she’s from Bovec and they’ve got a great thing going in the town center of Bovec, with multiple nationalities constantly dropping in. There’s not much better than to spend a day in the fabulous countryside in this part of Slovenia followed by sitting outside with a fine beer gazing at the mountains towering above or just people-watching the locals and visitors in the heart of Bovec. Also, this isn’t a restaurant, but try the ample plate of local cheeses and meats “Thrsty” River offers. It makes a good meal for two people for no more than you’ll pay in one of the restaurants. Kick back and enjoy the great vibe at this really cool place.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Coloradomountainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirstyriverbre... M, Manager at Thirsty River Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Hope we'll visit your Colorado version of Bovec soon.
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

I don't really write reviews nowadays but after being recommend to go Thirsty River by our host.

We entered the building and received a warm welcome. After a short time we selected what we wanted to drink from a selection of around 10 craft beers. I ordered the Caveman (stout) and my grief a Blonde beer. These were both very good.

During our stay we talked to the barmaid who owned the bar with her husband who was the master brewer- I think he knows his trade well.

We found everyone friendly. The barmaid/owner who has worked in a hostel previously, talked to us for quite a while. She was very knowledgeable and well traveled, she speaks 6 languages, so most people should be able to converse easily.

The bar has only been open for 2 months so is very clean and tidy and it sounds like they have some great ideas. We had a great time and hope they are really successful, I"m sure they will be.

Go there you'll enjoy it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Owner at Thirsty River Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you!!!! Much appreciated. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty River Brewing also viewed

Bovec, Slovenian Littoral Region
Bovec, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Bovec, Slovenian Littoral Region
Bovec, Slovenian Littoral Region
 

Been to Thirsty River Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing