We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - shame about the towels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - shame about the towels.”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is a perfectly pleasant alpine-style hotel. It is kept spotlessly clean and the bedrooms and bathrooms are unexceptional but fine. The rooms are let down however by the bedding and towels. The sheet on my bed was so ill-fitting that I woke up each morning to find myself on a bare mattress and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with lumps of foam; the towels meanwhile were not only thin but some actually had holes in them. It's a pity because this skimpiness lets down an otherwise fine hotel. We were not too sure about being asked on arrival what we wanted to have for dinner and, in fact, opted for a la carte as the fixed menu did not coincide with any of the dishes for which the restaurant is recommended. It obviously cost more but it did mean that we had a more leisurely meal and got to try their outstanding trout and steaks. The staff asked each morning whether or not we wanted the fixed meal, so it's easy to decide on the day whether or not to stay with the half-board option. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with wines too. Overall a good hotel but not one I'd return to unless the bedrooms offer a little more comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    44
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Hotel Kristal was very nice, beautiful spacious rooms, great staff. Lake Bohinj is pristine, a welcome respite from the cities of Europe. Slovenia in general is very friendly and much less expensive for what you get than more touristed parts of Europe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyseSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel which is within 5 minutes walk of lake Bohinj. We were skiing at the resorts of Vogel and Kranska Gora. The staff were excellent, very professional and very friendly. The room was comfortable, very clean. The hotel had a sofa by an open fire in the bar, luckily as its out of season we got prime position every night.
There is no night life in the local area this time of year. Thats not really what we were looking for. We were offered to upgrade to half board for 5 euro's each per night and to be honest , we did not expect very much. However we were astounded, as course after delicious course was presented. We know that a previous reviewer was not that impressed with the food. All we can say is that for our three nights it was exceptional.
Breakfast was continental with the addition of scrambled eggs and bacon on one day.

On the second night a large party came into the hotel. On the evening they had live music, which unfortunately kept us up to 3 in the morning. We enquired the next day if it was going on again, as we were on an active holiday and up and out early . We were assured that it would be quiet that evening, and offered another room. And it was quiet. The situation was handled well, but ultimately we feel that in an almost empty hotel , we could have been placed in a room a little futher away from the bar.

We liked the food, and the general friendliness of the staff. We disliked being kept up one night. We do feel that this was a blip, and in general the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Booked this hotel as I wanted a small family feel of an independant hotel. Friendly enough but had the feel of a chain. Rooms spotless and large with balcony, minibar and excellent shower but something was missing. Food was very disppointing as previous reviews had stated the food was top class. Main courses (selection of 4 per night which had to be chosen at breakfast) were processed and unimaginitive and dessert was a selection of disgusting cakes apparently defrosted from the freezer - ie. damp sponges with various flavour creams. Breakfast was fine and soups were good. Table was allocated with your room number and the same table every night which in a half empty hotel was unneccesary and meant that one night we were in a room on our own whilst non-hotel guests were in an adjacent room and seemed to have a much greater range of food on the menu than us. Service was slow despite the quietness. There was a nice bar with a log fire and comfortable seating which we enjoyed. A photo album showing the development of the hotel was interesting but suggested that the hotel was previously smaller and friendlier when it was not 4 star. I wouldn't stay here again as it was a bit soulless for me but there was nothing bad about it. It was like staying in a good 4 star chain hotel so if you're happy with that set up you won't go far wrong and the price was reasonable

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Julietrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Small hotel, but very friendly staff. Good choice for buffet breakfast (mostly Brits there) and at breakfast you selected what you would like for dinner that evening. Four choices, of which one was always veggie. Many people had stayed there a number of times, not sure we would again, our room overlooking the car park - and then to mountains, was quite noisy with deliveries coming to the kitchen and people coming and going at all hours. Not a lot to do in Bohinj except walk and enjoy nature.

  • Liked — Friendly, pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Smell from the kitchen coming into our room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopefulTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed for one week at the Hotel Kristal close to Lake Bohinj, Slovenia.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food good. (There was a choice of 4 main course each evening, including a vegetarian choice each day.) The staff were friendly and helpful and coped well with my special dietary needs, providing alternatives as required.

The location was wonderful. The hotel was situated about 10 minutes walk from the lake, which is simply beautiful. The area is still relatively undeveloped (especially compared to Lake Bled) and this, in our opinion, adds to its appeal.

The area is good for walking, at all levels, and there are plenty of trips and excursions for those who are not so active. This said, Lake Bled (approx 10 miles away) may be better if mobility is a real problem.

The weather when we went was varied, varying from overcast and 14 degrees on the first day, to sunny and 30 degrees on the last! Take a selection of clothes. (Although we did not need it, I believe the hotel has a drying room for days when the weather is not as settled.)

We loved this area and can recommend it to anybody who likes beautiful surroundings and peaceful locations.

Take your camera and plenty of memory cards - you will need them!

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The room was hot at night - no air con or fan. It will probably get very hot in the summer!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Kristal in April this year and chose it becauseof its location and Trip Advisor search. What a find,.
Our room was large, airy and spotlessly clean, it also had a balcony with views of the mountains.
It is a family run hotel, Elenka and her staff made us immediately welcome with their hospitality and friendliness.
We stayed half board and the food just keeps coming with plenty of choice.
Make sure you ask for Elenka's boiled eggs for breakfast.........the're wonderful.
Lake Bohinj is a pure joy at this time of year, there is still snow on the mountains but the area around the lake is just waking up to Springtime witha profusion of Spring flowers.
If your looking for peace and tranquility, lots of walking and an opportunity to see this part of Slovenia without the crowd then this is the place.

not too cold.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, cleanliness value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ronser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
276 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
29 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
389 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing