We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like a king and queen and we felt that whole world is spinning around us !”
Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt like a king and queen and we felt that whole world is spinning around us !”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bohinj and hotel were recommended to me by a friend who stayed there last year. I have to admit, being sceptical at the begining, not knowing much about nor Bohinj , nor Slovenia, i was more than pleasant surprised. And then.. staying at Hotel Kristal.. this was just a cherry on top!
It is family run hotel and they definitely do treat it like a family member. Staf was more than excellent, very helpful, from the warm wellcome, help with the luggage.. etc etc they made us feel like a king and queen.
It is not a big hotel, but it is very charmy, warm, friendly, pleasent.. It makes you feel very good and wellcome there, you can feel the positive vibe and "wellcomness" in the air.. which i can not say for the bigger hotels even higher star rating.
Great experience started with eating in the restaurant. Breakfast is pretty much standard, but the fact is that the portions are big and freshly made, so food is not being there for ages, and there is good variety of it... then dinner.. this defintiely is a must a the hotel. Various options of 5 course meals!!! simply amazing. I would call it "gastronomy made with amor".. extremely delicious. Vines, normally suggested by the young and extremely friendly and "simpatico" waiter Jan were more than excellent choice. Great quiality and great matching with food. Well, my girlfriend might be pain in the neck sometimes regarding food, so friendly staff did costumize some dishes for her, although they were not on a menu. So, restaruant experience and food deserves higher grade than A+
Rooms, very spaceous and clean. Very very very comfortable bed.. i finally manage to get some proper sleep and rest in a hotel. Equipment in the room was more than sufficient, did not manage to use all it offered. Honestly, we also didnt spent much time in the room, but it was always a pleasure going to the room. Somehow .. we felt like at home.. although style is completely different than we have.
So short summary:
superb staff, speaking various languages, so nobody should experience any communication difficulties staying there
restaruant: can't describe it with words.. you simply have to try it...
hotel itself.. charmy, friendly, nice, clean .. actually spotless, ...
in total: i dont know enough superlatives to describe my satisfaction as it was more than just great.. and will definitely be back again. Maybe even in the winter as there is skiing resort very nearby as well!
Thanks to Dobravec family and the rest of the staff for unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
101
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shipley England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kristal for 14 nights from the 18 August in room 208.We were greeted on arrival and offered a 5 course meal even though we were late (it was 9.45 pm) When we entered the room we were surprised by the amount of space,not only room for a double bed with side cabinets,dressing table and 2 lounge chairs and still lots of room to walk around but a spacious balcony with table and chairs(the table even had a tablecloth on it) overlooking the pond and water feature and finally a reasonably spacious bathroom with a shower cubicle rather than one of those ghastly shower curtains.
The whole place was extremely clean and comfortable and the staff were marvellous,nothing was too much trouble.The food was well prepared and plentiful with a good choice but if you didn't like what was offered they would provide something else to suit.Credit must be given to the chef and his team,likewise to the cleaners who somehow managed to keep the whole place spotless,Slava the waitress who was always on hand to serve your needs to Alenka the owner whose customer service skills were second to none whether you were English,Slovenian,German,Italian or any other nationality.She moved from one language to another with relative ease.
Halfway through our stay who should arrive for a meal but the President of Slovenia with his entourage and as an added bonus a world famous opera singer who gave us a rendition of a couple of tunes.Fantastic!!!
I asked Alenka if she was expecting them and she said yes and then added that past Presidents had been for meals before so the place must be good!! As I titled this review if it's good enough for the President then it's good enough for us.
I've got to say a big thankyou to Alenka,her family and all her staff for really making our 2 week holiday one to remember.We never go back to the same place twice as there is so much else to see in the world but were so impressed with the whole country and the hotel that we are going back next June so look forward to seeing Alenka and all her team.
Thanks for a splendid never to be forgotten holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnricoShipleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate here every night as part of a deal with our holiday, as we stayed at the pension Gasperin. We got 4 courses as part of the deal, also paid for drinks. It seemed to be a standard menu, different soups, a help-yourself salad course and a choice of waiter-served main courses (about 4 options including a vegetarian option). Cake for dessert. Main courses were cooked to order, always good portions and tasty. We tended to drink the house wine, which was delicious and also reasonably-priced. Staff very friendly and hard-working, service was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from this lovely friendly hotel near Lake Bohinj. The hotel is small, the rooms are clean, the restaurant is charming, and there is a nice bar and terrace area. It is true that it does not have all the facilities of a large four star hotel, but I prefer the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and a bit of character. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have experienced in a hotel. The food was lovely, and my experience as a vegetarian was great, if the soup had meat in it they would go and specially get me a vegetarian alternative without me asking. My daughter was told that she could ask for what she wanted if she did not like what was on offer. The breakfasts were basic, bread, cheese, eggs, scrambled eggs etc and cereals but there was plenty of it, and it was fresh.
The hotel is a short walk from the lake, we were blessed with beautiful weather and I must admit after a while carrying towels and swimming equipment down to the lake did become a bit of a pain, especially if we wanted to do something else first, but most people seemed to have cars and it was probably us being lazy and getting into relaxed mode. The lake is absolutely beautiful the resort is very family friendly with plenty for kids and adults alike to do. Our room was at the front of the hotel so overlooked the car park, but it did not matter the view of the mountains was excellent.

All in all we were very pleased and would be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyNursetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for the second week of a two centre holiday with Inghams. We had a first floor room overlooking the garden. The room was clean and quiet but we thought that a hotel that claimed to be four star lacked the little extras that are often found in rooms and the bathroom. No shampoos, lotions, etc.

Breakfast was OK but lacked the finishing touches that other hotels offer. Juice and coffee were delivered by a vending machine – with a taste to match. Although choice of food was adequate don’t expect anything special. Most surprising of all was the variety of crockery in use – several different types.

We were staying half board so were eating from the tourist menu most nights. This offered a reasonable choice of main course with generous portions. The accompanying soups, salads and desserts (always a cake) soon seemed rather monotonous. Wines offered were OK but we were only offered red or white. There was a wine list but we were never offered it!

The best aspect of the stay was the friendliness of the staff. They helped to create a relaxed atmosphere.

We did enjoy our week around Lake Bohinj – beautiful scenery with good walking. The disappointment was that Hotel Kristal could be great but was just ordinary. Just a few finishing touches would make a big difference and justify the claimed four star status.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoodies_sandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I made a reservation at Hotel Kristal in Ribcev Laz in April 2012 to spend a week in July in a family room. The owner asked me to pay 30% of the total amount to guarantee the reservation, which I did in April 25th. I paid 353 euros.
On Wednesday July 18th, at 7 PM, after a four days travel througth Europe (we drove from Spain to Slovenia) we arrived at the hotel. We found that the room the owner had assigned us was not the kind of room they announce on its website: www.hotel-kristal-slovenia.com. Just take a look to the pictures I took and compare them with the ones at the web!
After we complained, the owner told us that she had thought we would like that “hippy room” (that’s what she said) and she recongnized she had given “our” room to a family which arrived to stay one night with two small children (my children are 12 and 10).Then she offered to move us to the other room the following day.
Finally we spent the night there. It was late and we were tired. We couldn’t even take a shower (my husband couldn’t fit in it), there were not even place to hang a towel, beds were old and very uncomfortable, half the lights were not working… The room didn’t even had a number on the door, which shows that was not a “normal” room.
Next the morning we decided to leave the hotel. We felt cheated: I had made the reservation three months in advance, I had paid 353€ when the owner asked me to do, and when we arrived there she didn´t give us what we had paid for. I don’t pay a “four stars hotel” to stay in a “hippy room”!
THE OWNER REFUSED TO REFOUND US ANY MONEY.
Besides this, I must also say that the reception was always unattended, there was no lift, and also no wi-fi in the room when they assured me there was when I made the reservation. I think someone should check the category of this hotel. For my experience one star would be more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlorietaAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and we were very satisfied. Small, family hotel with nice rooms and good service. Room was in second floor with terrific view on nearby mountains. Also, room was clean, like bathroom. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and various.
Hotel is nearby of lake, and there is many natural attractions in vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
309 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
85 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing