We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Family run, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Can't ask for a lot more, I endorse what others have said - Alenka is unfailingly cheerful and willing to give information. Rooms are clean, bright and well equipped - also warm, useful on cold nights. A ten minute walk from the lake, but there are many delightful tracks other than walking along the road. Food can be variable, but remember that this is a budget hotel (ignore the fanciful star system that hotels seem to award themselves).

There is always lots of the food, heavily meat biased, though vegetarian is always offered among the four choices for main course in the evening meal. The salad bar is excellent, and breakfast sets one up well for the day - big choice of local hams, some cheese, several bread types, fruit, cereals, and usually scrambld eggs and those anaemic sausages so beloved on the continent.

This was our second visit, heartily recommended if you are going on a package holiday. They also get lots of local and touring trade too, so their reputation is pretty ok elsewhere too. Oh, and free wi-fi in the hotel, rooms and bar area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broughhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    44
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is very adequate, rooms cosy and clean. The food is basic but you are in Slovenia. The breakfast is continental with an excellent choice of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and jams. When you get of the slopes there is soup and bread, and cakes which is included in your half board. Yes tea and coffee as to be ordered at the bar, but it is not expensive and great wines served in half bowl glasses for only 2 euro!!!. Evening meal, consisted of soup/ selection of salads, then a main course ending with cakes. The village is stunning and the lake breathtaking, we skiied a few days and walked the others. Found some amazing villages which are picture postcard gorgeous with some quaint restaurants with quality food and wines at much cheaper prices than at home.

The skiing was fantastic for beginners and intermediates and the scenery lovley overlooking the Lake.

There is no nightlife at all in the village only a couple of restaurants, but after a full day skiing or walking you are truly shattered.

We will defo be coming back if not to ski but to walk in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichandTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

6 of us have just returned from a skiing holiday in Bohinj/Vogel and we stayed at the Hotel Krystal. Our room was OK, it was on the top floor and there was no lift, which meant walking up 3 flights of stairs from the boot/ski room. Our room was in the eves and I banged my head a few times on the ceiling, I'm only 5 foot 2 so taller people would really struggle. The en suite was small but adequate. A small, but for me, importlant complaint, was that there was no tea or coffee after breakfast. You had to order it from the bar. I think a 4 star hotel should at least have a kettle in the room or a cup of tea in the afternoon.
On the positive side, the staff were great, the food was adequate and varied (the local trout was excellent) and the wine was lovely and was served in glasses the size of half a bottle. The hotel was clean and well run and the ski bus stop was right woutside the door.
Another review on here said it was like a "chain" hotel. I found it to be very unusual and individual. The walls are festooned with perculiar (I can't describe it any other way) artwork and the room behind the reception is full of dead stuffed animals, mounted skulls and fur rugs. Don't go in there if you are easily uset by taxidermy or hunting.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and we felt that we were well looked after.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front and the road are a bit noisy and the eaves rooms on the top floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplevonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over last Christmas and had a lovely stay. It is a family run hotel and this is very obvious with the personal service you receive from the minute you check in until you leave. Even on Xmas night when we experienced a 4 hour power cut, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and there was no panic - dinner was still served on time and drink was served in the lounge.
The hotel was clean, food was great every night with plenty of variety and they catered well for vegetarians.
The village of Bohinj is beautiful, well worth a visit for the scenery alone. There is a small pub in the village beside the climbing wall and ice rink which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here last week as part of a First Choice ski package and chose the hotel based on location and reviews.

We weren't disappointed with either. The location is pretty quiet - at least the week we were there which suits us down to the ground.

The hotel room was a good size, cleaned daily and the balcony overlooked the garden. Staff were always very helpful and very friendly; in fact everyone we met in the area was very friendly.

Food was plain but always well cooked and always a choice of meals incl a vegetarian option.

Would we stay there again? Without question. Would we recommend it? Without hesitation.

What more can I say?!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Me and my familly spend one pleasant week in this beautiful Hotel, i think we will come next year for sure. We have had a fantastic time. Everybody is so friendly and the food was delicious.
I recomend alot!

Room Tip: I had a room on a parkinglot side with a view of mountains i was nice , sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas as the base for our skiing holiday. This is a lovely family run hotel. The room was very comfortable with balcony overlooking the garden. All parts of the hotel are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The restaurant has a good choice at mealtimes and the staff are extremely helpful. I'm allergic to garlic and they went out of their way to provide other options when listing the choices for our evening meal. Adjacent to the restaurant is a cosy lounge/bar area. We skied at Vogel and the ski bus stops right outside the hotel. It's a short walk to the village and lake and we could see several paths for walking which would have made a great alternative had there been no snow at Vogel. We're hoping to return to the Kristal again next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianandRobScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing