We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel for a family”
Review of Hotel Bohinj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bohinj
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable hotel for a family”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Very good hotel close to the lake. We got a big family room, with two separate bedrooms. Food was safficient.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaMatejckova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Having been to Slovenia several times, we we deeply disappointed with the food in this hotel. I have fairly low expectations of food, as long as it's warm, I'm happy. However on the first two nights we had cold, burnt and dried-up food, and undercooked chicken (we'd booked halfboard). The staff seem to be embarrassed by it all. This is a shame, as Slovenian food is good, simple and hearty. Again, I emphasis that I am really not fussy about food, but this was terrible. The lack of windows in the small, depressing dining-area was also a turn-off. We ate out therafter. Do stay here, but B&B only. A general tip for half-board slovenian hotels: do some research into the catering, is there a public restaurant? If so, the food will probably be okay. If not, approach with caution. Otherwise, go B&B, there are plenty of cheap places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We have spent 8 days in the Hotel Bohinj as part of our winter holidays.
We had excellent experince with everything. The hotel was very nice, and most importantly very warm because the temperatures outside were minus 15. The food is excellent! The staff is very helpful and friendly. They can check for you the weather forcast and the conditions in the nearby skiing resorts so the overall mark is excellent for everything. I stronlgly recommend it for skiiers and families that want to have peaceful holidays.

  • Liked — Excellent service and warm rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marice81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Very nice place. Located close to the lake, cafes and supermarket, yet a bit away from the road and noise. Room was spacious and clean, furniture looked new. Very nice balcony. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. Also I liked that there were two tennis courts at the back. Food was good and lots of choice, though I'm not picky about it. As for the Bohinj Lake in general, it is a beautiful place. Very picturesque and less commercialised than neighbouring lake Bled. Although if you are looking for some nightlife, Bled would be better place to stay.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank sergei84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

After The Hotel Krim in Bled it came as a pleasant suprise to find the Hotel Bohinj as our second stop after a long, hot day in the saddle. The hotel is at the busier tourist end of the lake but has a quiet aspect with views to the west over the water towards the Triglav range.
The building is modern and the rooms spacious. We were on the lower floor and our outside door opened onto a small patio overlooking the tennis courts. It was cool and peaceful but for the nearby dining room.
Somewhat out of character with the rest of the hotel, there were two pokey breakfast/dining rooms at the end of the corridor. They hardly seemed big enough for all the guests and we only had breakfast (quite adequate) there. The village has several fine restaurants with a much more appealing atmoshere.
Towels are rather scarce in the Bohinj. Our two were threadbare and barely face-towels but absent altogether on our second night. Eventually the housekeeper restocked in the evening and we could take advantage of the fine bath.
Overall the hotel was a treat with friendly staff and a fine location.

  • Liked — Location and space
  • Disliked — Dining room and towels
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

The hotel is situated quite close to the lake, local shop, tourist info, and bus stop. Views over the lake and mountains from many rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful, management a little less so. Towels in rooms were well past their sell-by date and if they were ours they would be in the bin. The real problem was the food. The dining room is in the basement at the end of a long corridor and the hotel's own kitchen can only just cope with breakfast which was adequate at best. Evening meals were brought in by van from another hotel 10 mins away and were never hot enough. After complaining we were transferred for evening meals to another hotel nearby but on a set menu not buffet choice as advertised in travel brochure. This hotel has a very very generous 4 star rating. 2 stars would be more appropriate.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food, management response to criticism
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead_tyne_&_Wear
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Staying at the Bohinj Hotel 21-28June 2008. Nice location if you enjoy walking, however no recommended for a family. Bohinj has a lake, a waterfall and a ski lift. Plenty of places to walk, but that is all. There is a bus service every hour or so. My worst experience is the food. The hotel Bohinj does not offer a wide range of food, so if you would like something veggie you will be disappointed. we have complained to the rep, so the next step is the travel company. Other than that the suite rooms are spacious, cleaned regularly and can hold up to 3.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matej G, Manager at Hotel Bohinj, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We have re-opened Hotel Bohinj in February this year and we will make it better than the owners befor us. We allso change the kitchen, and the food is now also better then befor. We strive to provide you a pleasant holiday by us.

If you need more information do not hasitate to contact us or visti us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bohinjsko Jezero hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
30 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Rozic
Pension Rozic
#1 of 1 in Ribcev Laz
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bohinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bohinj

Property: Hotel Bohinj
Address: Ribchev Laz 45, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bohinj 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bohinj is re-opening the door for all who wish to be a part of unspoiled nature. Suitable for families as well as for those who are more adrenaline-driven. To enjoy summer sun, canoeing, kayaking on a beautiful Bohinj lake, for those who want to see natural attractions or go hiking in Julian Alps or just to enjoy genuine Bohinj and visit traditional events. New team took over the management of Hotel Bohinj. We will rely on our experience in Skihotel Vogel and Camping Zlatorog Bohinj. Our mission is to bring various Bohinj tourist accomodations to a higher level of hospitality. In hope of a pleasant vacation in Hotel Bohinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bohinj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohinj Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Bohinj Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing