We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so great with just a bit of help!”
Review of Hotel Bohinj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bohinj
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First of all, staff was great and very friendly. It has been taken over last February by new people and I hope that they make a few upgrades. The setting is lovely, just up a small hill from Lake Bohinj. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. This view is not right near the lake and you really only see a bit of the lake. The mountain view is pretty good. We were there in a very slow time and could have our pick of rooms. People said that the restaurant was dismal, being in the basement. That is true, but not a reason to stay away. The food was just average. We had half board and two days was enough of that. Our room was a suite, which had a nice living room and very small kitchen. We did not cook, but nice to have a fridge. The bedroom was large enough to have some extra space and it also opened onto the balcony. The place was not bright and modern, but not old and dingy. If this place added coffee and tea making machines in the room and had wifi in the rooms, we would have liked it better. It is so close to being very good. They are supposedly going to make a new restaurant out of an old building on site, but not for several years. That would help. I highly suggest walking around the lake. It can be done in several hours. If you add on the hike to the waterfall, it will add a couple of hours. A good day of exercise! A lot of people took a little boat to the base of the waterfall. Lovely area and highly recommended for a visit!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pointspeaksandpasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The first of several hotels on my visit to Slovenia. The rooms are rather more functional than attractive, but the water is hotel and there is plenty of space to hang clothes. Staff are anxious to help and very pleasant. Breakfast offers a wide selection and on the night we had dinner in the hotel the food was very good. Travelling slightly out of season, the hotel seems to be popular as it was almost full, with many people taking advantage of the access to a wide variety of sports - watersports, cycling, walking are all close by.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are much the same throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Positives are the location, pleasant staff and large rooms. Higher suites have nice mountain views but not really of the lake. Negatives include the decor, or lack of it, old pine veneer furniture, saggy beds, hard pillows, poor quality linens and thin bath towels just larger than your average hand towel. There was no outside noise but internal walls are thin. A tiny kitchen was in the suite but with no kettle or tea and coffee available. The corridors were dark and dingy and as others have commented the dinng room in the basement is grim and uninviting. Breakfast was poor with dried scrambled eggs containing burnt bits and the remaining bacon at the bottom of the dish sitting in congealing grease. Internet is only in the foyer which is crowded with guests trying to get on-line. Carrying my own bags doesn't bother me but I do expect to asked if I need assistance when staying in a four star hotel. Overall this is a clean and functional hotel and cheap enough but would earn a better review if it wasn't promoted as four star. One suggestion to the owners is to fill in the hole that was once, a long time ago I think, a swimming pool and plant a rose garden there instead.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank MaggieGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were visiting hotel Bohinj when bicycling in Slovenia. The hotel is nicely situated just a very short walk from the lake. The rooms are spacey and clean, the staff is very helpful and being a cyclist here is no problem. The breakfast is decent and the restaurant just beside the climbing rock by the lake has ok food for dinner. Coming from Norway the prices are GREAT! 39 Euro for a night at hotel Bohinj and half a litre of beer is 25% of our normal restaurant price, Euro 2.20. We can definately live with this :o) I recommend this hotel as a good and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWildNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had asked at time of booking to be allocated two rooms next to each other which was important to us as a family travelling together. We were allocated two very large rooms with lounges right next to reception. The rooms were rather bleak and nothing to make the room anything other than functional. Although there was a fridge there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Rooms were very peaceful and there was no outside noise even with the windows open. Breakfast was served in a very unwelcoming restaurant in the basin of the hotel and was pretty poor quality. Wifi was available in the reception area. The staff were very friendly. Car parking was also freely available. Overall, a disappointment for the price we paid and to be honest there appear to be plenty of nicer apartments to stay in this part of Bohinj.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in august 2013 with our dog. We had a suite (bedroom, bathroom, living room and balcony). The location is very good as its close to the lake and all the boat and bike rental places. It has free parking as well. Dinner was ok but nothing special we decided not to eat the second night and went out instead.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although it has a lot of potential, this is just an average hotel. There's no trace of any special features that typically characterize 4-star places. The most disappointing is the "restaurant" - situated in basement, very bleak and unappetizing. Food in general is not as bad as described in some reviews, but cannot be appreciated because of the dismal setting. Why not sacrifice several rooms on the ground floor and turn that space into a restaurant, making use of the wonderful views?

The outdoor "pool" is just an ugly and empty basin.

Receptionist lady we dealt with could use some hospitality classes. Glad we didn't book for a whole week.

But rooms themselves are nice and spacious; it's a pity that some of the above mar the overall picture.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
8 mi away
Turisticna kmetija Pri Flandru
11.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bohinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bohinj

Address: Ribchev Laz 45, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range: $43 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bohinj 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bohinj is re-opening the door for all who wish to be a part of unspoiled nature. Suitable for families as well as for those who are more adrenaline-driven. To enjoy summer sun, canoeing, kayaking on a beautiful Bohinj lake, for those who want to see natural attractions or go hiking in Julian Alps or just to enjoy genuine Bohinj and visit traditional events. New team took over the management of Hotel Bohinj. We will rely on our experience in Skihotel Vogel and Camping Zlatorog Bohinj. Our mission is to bring various Bohinj tourist accomodations to a higher level of hospitality. In hope of a pleasant vacation in Hotel Bohinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bohinj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohinj Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Bohinj Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing