We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great with kids / fab staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bohinj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bohinj
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great with kids / fab staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with our 4 kids for 4 nights. The staff was young, energetic and caring; in short, a pleasure to stay!
The hotel has its own parking and is located 5 mins walk from the lake. The lake is great: clear clean water with small private beaches. Good for swimming in the summer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel, and it was really relaxing and wonderful experience. Stayed in a suite which is nicely furnished with balcony and view over the mountains. Hotel is small and located in quiet and peaceful place, and the best of all was friendly and always smiling hotel staff. I would certainly return there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kidi2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

As other people have said, don't go for the food!

I went on business for 2 nights, and the meeting room was fine, as was the bedroom although under no circumstances would I call it a four-star.

The meals, however, were strikingly basic and anything but enjoyable.

The dining room is large and used for both groups and individuals, at lunch and dinner (meaning it can be noisy and swamped with entire busloads of people, and the buffet is refreshed extremely irregularly or not at all - eat early or scavenge!).

What is served? Repetitive, unimaginative, boring, tasteless basics, presented unattractively. Stews, sausages, overcooked fish and the same desserts for four consecutive meals (tired fruit, tired cake, tinned fruit salad). Meals do come with a glass of wine included, but trying to get a second glass, in the dining room, is something of a challenge (but it's great wine, and cheap... yet there is no choice offered).

Breakfast? Very stale bread, and "orange juice" made from powder... ouch.

Really, I had hoped for better.

The staff were pleasant if not exactly chatty or smiley.

Not somewhere I'd go again by choice, and I would most certainly not eat there.

The place has HUGE potential, however. Delightful location and it really wouldn't take much to make the basic ingredients in the meals just a little more attractive.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the outdoor café could well be noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren_KFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matej G, Manager at Hotel Bohinj, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We have re-opened Hotel Bohinj in February this year and we will make it better than the owners befor us. We allso change the kitchen, and the food is now also better then befor. We strive to provide you a pleasant holiday by us.

If you need more information do not hasitate to contact us or visti us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thank you Hotel Bohinj for the best night's sleep I've had in, well, I can't remember how long. Comfortable beds, huge rooms and complete darkness and quiet at night. Sheer bliss.
Hotel is about three minutes from the lake, where I swam several times during our stay. Ribcez Laz has a supermarket, tourist information, post office and only a handful of restaurants - all fine for us on a three-night stay.
Our group trip around Slovenia were the the only guests at Hotel Bohinj in early September, which is slightly out of season.
Breakfast was adequate with cereals, bread, fruit and the usual array of meats and cheeses, but coffee was awful (take your own if this is an issue) and from a machine. Dining room a bit weird with really bright lights and no view because it's in the basement.
Drinks including much better coffee and beer available at a decent price at any time from receptionist in the lovely lobby area. Reception not open after 10pm out of season.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which look towards the lake and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow! Lovely people, stunning setting and really releaxing! A bit limited for nearby places to eat but good access (by car/bus) to the mountains, lift and slopes; the lake and area and to Bled. There's a busy (must change once) from the main airport.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here for a few days B&B in July 2012 as part of a hiking tour holiday.
Lake Bohinj and its surroundings are spectacularly beautiful - think Alpine Switzerland or British Columbia Canada. The hotel was full of walkers, mountain bikers, canyoners, kayakers and other outdoor activity people. It is possible to swim in the lake and there is a small pool at the hotel.
Room was very spacious, clean and modern and had a small balcony (hit and miss on the views - some people had great views of the mountains, we had a view of the tennis courts). The hotel is only 100m from the lake, but has no real view in that direction.
Staff in the hotel were helpful. Breakfast was distinctly average, even by the standards of central Europe, but the hotel is in the middle of the village and there are a handful of places to eat (and a supermarket) within 100m (this isn't true of everywhere on the lake).
Overall, we would love to go back to Bohinj and if we did so I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMac101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

good food, great location.
the rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
276 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Rozic
Pension Rozic
#1 of 1 in Ribcev Laz
25 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel-Pension Tripic
Hotel-Pension Tripic
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bohinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bohinj

Property: Hotel Bohinj
Address: Ribchev Laz 45, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bohinj 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bohinj is re-opening the door for all who wish to be a part of unspoiled nature. Suitable for families as well as for those who are more adrenaline-driven. To enjoy summer sun, canoeing, kayaking on a beautiful Bohinj lake, for those who want to see natural attractions or go hiking in Julian Alps or just to enjoy genuine Bohinj and visit traditional events. New team took over the management of Hotel Bohinj. We will rely on our experience in Skihotel Vogel and Camping Zlatorog Bohinj. Our mission is to bring various Bohinj tourist accomodations to a higher level of hospitality. In hope of a pleasant vacation in Hotel Bohinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bohinj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohinj Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Bohinj Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing