We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels we have stayed at.”
Review of Vila Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Park
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels we have stayed at.”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Vila Park is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Jana greeted us warmly when we arrived and showed us to our rooms. The hotel is immaculately clean and our rooms including bathroom were spotless. The hotel has a warm, family atmosphere.

The first night we noted that you could hear a pin drop! This is definitely a hotel for you if you want peace and quiet. It is surrounded by beautiful scenery, only minutes away from the lake shore and walks that take you round the lake or into the mountains.

The meals were excellent – four courses with two starters, a main course and desert. Breakfast was self service with a wide range of cereals, fruit, cakes and drinks with freshly cooked fried or scrambled eggs on request.

We were impressed with the facilities such as TV in the rooms, a TV in the lounge with a wide selection of DVDs, books and CDs. The hotel also offered free internet access – we were even able to get the internet on a laptop while on a sun lounger in the grounds! Vila Park is excellent value for money. It is an ideal hotel for a peaceful stay and walking holiday or to take advantage of the other activities available in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Vila Park for 11 days and loved every minute of it. The scenery is amazing and there are spectacular walks, we did feel unequipped as we only had trainers, really could have done with walking shoes, however, that didn't spoil our walks. The waterfall is lovely once you have climbed the 500+ steps! The cable car also offers a fantastic view from the top. We took the bus to Bled and were very impressed with the service, bus on time and a few mins. walk from hotel.
As for the hotel, I don't think I have ever stayed in such a spotlessly clean one. Jana is lovely and so very friendly and helpful. The food is very good, plentful breakfasts and a four course meal every evening, her home made soups were lovely. A very nice touch having a variety of teas and coffee available all day.
Would take mosquito repellent as I had many bites!
We would highly recommend Vila Park if you want a quiet holiday in a lovely location in a small very friendly hotel with excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank actonian2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed 3 days here recently. The location is beautiful- right on the trail to the waterfall. It's extremely quiet here and the sound of the river that runs through the property is heavenly! You might want to skip all activities and just sun on the beautiful green yard by the river. We missed dinner the first night, but ate on the last 2 days. The food was excellent! Jana suggested on the first night that we eat at the Italian restaurant down the road. GREAT pizza! Jana is very sweet and helpful and she runs a tight ship. There's not a speck of dust in sight and the place is charming. It's more of a B&B than hotel, and the rooms are tiny, but it's perfect for nature, hiking, relaxing, etc. We met others who have come back yearly to this location. Expect to be charmed. Oh, and Jana will wash your clothes for you upon request. After 10 days of sink washing, this was a real treat!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of May for a week and wish we had stayed longer. We arrived slightly late, Jana came out to meet us and we were immediately at ease. She told us to take our time, get refreshed and dinner would be ready when we came down. She was like this throughout the holiday, friendly and laid back but always attentive to our needs.

The Hotel is beautiful, just away from the Lake but with a lovely river flowing through the garden. The Interior has been decorated to a very high standard. The room was lovely, bed very comfortable and we slept really well due to the peaceful surroundings. Our room had a balcony which was great to sit on after a day walking and just relax with a drink.
People have commented that the dining room is quiet and people don't speak. A lot of the guests choose this hotel for the peace & quiet so it will not attract your average party animal but we had no problem striking up conversations with the other guests, many of which continued after dinner in the lovely lounge where Jana has a log fire burning every night.

I completely recommend half board, Jana's food is fab. Dinner is a 4 course meal, a starter, homemade soup, a main course with a fresh salad and a dessert. All to a very high standard. On day 3 I had to cancel my soup course as I couldn't squeeze in the dessert - it was a tough decision as Jana's soups are all home made and delicious. My husband even ate all his salad, a man who when sent to shop for salad comes home with coleslaw.
If you don't choose half board I think you would need a vehicle as there isn't a huge choice of eating places at this end of the Lake. There is a hotel and an Italian within a couple of minutes walk. Can't vouch for the hotel. The Italian was cheap and excellent (we had lunch there one day and ate about half the pizza even after a 4 hour walk) but might wear thin if you ate there every night.

Lake Bohinj is stunningly beautiful and is a walkers paradise. We had a hire car for the week so that we had transport to and from the airport but also so that we could alternate walking days with sightseeing days but we enjoyed the walking days the most and you could easily spend a week just doing the local walks and unwinding at the hotel. If you do fancy a trip there is a lovely drive over the Vrsic Pass and Piran, on the coast is a lovely coastal town.

I 100% recommend Slovenia, Lake Bohinj and especially Vila Park.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We are a family with young children (4 and 2) and stayed at Vila Park for 7 nights. We arrived very late from the airport and Jana, the owner, were waiting for us with our dinner! Our rooms are amazing, spotless clean, comfy bed and have amazing character. We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in hundred of 5 stars hotel around the world. Vila Park is truly unique. It is full of great books! We feel like we stay in a 5 star hotel with 5 star library. That says a lot about this place.

Its location is amazing. We think that it is the hotel with the most beautiful view. Chrystal clear stream pass through the garden, quiet - residential road (only people who stay in this area can drive through), amazing view of snowcapped mountain and wonderful green lawn with pretty wild flowers.

Food is truly amazing. Jana and her staff made our children who usually do not eat, clear up their plates in no time! The quantity is plenty. They may not have Michelin star but they have got a full 3 stars from us. Coffee, tea and small snack are available the whole day and night and Jana does not charge us for anything.

Services are excellent. We cannot fault Jana in any ways. Our children love her and that speaks for itself. We feel like we are staying with a family rather than in a hotel. Jana would do everything she can to accommodate us. She is a wonderful hostess, a wonderful cook, a wonderful tourist guide and a wonderful nanny!

In sum, we cannot say enough good words for Vila Park in this beautiful corner of Slovenia. You have to come and experience it yourself. For us, we cannot wait to come back again in no time!

By the way, it has sauna and free high speed internet in case you are looking for those during your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waraphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. Located close to the lake and an easy bus ride to Bled and the other towns nearby. All the guests agreed that they felt lucky that they had choosen this hotel. We stayed for 2 weeks and loved every minute. Jana (the hotel owner) made us feel extremely welcome.

I recommend this to everyone except those looking for a big nightlife.
Truely Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wembury2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We moved here from too noisy Bled and spent 3 restful days around the lake. The Villa was sensational as were the views from our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
279 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Park

Property: Vila Park
Address: Ukanc 129, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Triglav National Park, right next to the crystal clear, emerald green Savica stream and steps away from Lake Bohinj lies Vila Park. Listen to the birds singing and water purling, take a deep breath of mountain air and just relax. Vila Park houses eight sumptuously furnished double rooms. Each room features a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, a TV set, a safety deposit box and a refrigerator. All rooms also offer wireless Internet access. Not only can you experience the comfort of our double rooms but you can also enjoy our delicious breakfasts, and have fruit at your disposal all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Park Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Vila Park Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing