We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and peaceful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stare
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel Stare is at the top end of lake Bohinj and has an extremely pretty outlook. We had a room with a wrap around balcony so terrific views. The lake was a 5 minute walk away and it was about a 15 walk to the boat which can take you to town. We stayed 2 nights here and I would say this is heaven for walkers!! We walked from the hotel to Bohinj which was an easy walk then got the boat back from the town. The meals at the hotel were very good - 4 courses each night. I only have 2 criticisms, 1. the hotel is a little dated (70's decor) and 2. our en suite bathroom was minute. However, don't be put off by that as this is a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: Our room didn't get wifi which was annoying. Can't remember the number but it was on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddypatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our stay in the hotel Stare was extremely nice. The nature and surroundings are beautiful. People working at the hotel are very kind. Food is amazing. Rooms are in the Alpin style and very clean. Good connection by bus. If you like hiking hotel Stare is a very good starting point. The price-quality is very good as well. Our yoga week with YogaSachi Rotterdam at hotel Stare was an amazing experience. Highy recommended to everybody who can enjoy nature, simplicity, good food for a good price. Maja Miklic

Room Tip: there are single and family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

When I checked in everything seemed ok. That was the end. Rooms are post-socialistic(especially small). Food is so-so, you can get better food elsewhere around for lower prices. There is no space in dining room, it looks like that management wants to charge as many customers as possible. Also, room wasn't so clean(hair under shower,...). When I came back home, I've checked again for prices. It's not so cheap; there are other pensions with better offer for lower price. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robbie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joze001, Owner at Hotel Stare, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Robbie!

Thank you for your feedback. Too bad that you did't specify opinion during your stay. Thus, writing to this portal is a complete deception, you can be Robi or Janez or anyone else. You may have been with us, but also not.

Have the courage and tell me your opinion face to face. I suggest that you look real statement reviews on our site bohinj-hotel.com Or in our guest book at the hotel.

If everything is as bad as you giving out why the hotel is always fully booked? Why a lot of guests are coming back every year?

Our facility is the only one in the heart of the Triglav National Park at the Lake Bohinj. This is a protected area with a lot of restrictions on construction etc... There are guests who appreciate the unspoiled nature from large and modern hotels. And such customers are our regular guests.

Within our hotel is a new luxury villa. It is not "post-socialist" but it is more expensive - the choice is always yours.

Best regards from Lake Bohinj, Joze Stare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could be fantastic, the location is gorgeous! However, it feels like it is stuck in the past. The rooms are in a bad way and the decor is so dated you feel like you are in the 1970s. Dinner was also weird, when we arrived the restaurant was full so we got pit on the same table as a German couple who didn't seem best pleased about it.

We mentioned all this on the 2nd day and the management were eventually happy to let us move to another hotel.

If they renovate the rooms this could be wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TobermoryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joze001, Manager at Hotel Stare, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your message.
Our hotel is located in the central part of the national park, in a protected area with many restrictions. But we have a lot of other advantages which are appreciated by our guests. Peace, no traffic, lake shore only 150 meters away, untouched nature and, ultimately, price, suitable for 2 star hotel.
People have different expectations. Food in our hotel is a top quality, biologically grown by farmers in national park and daily fresh.
Within our hotel we also have the luxury villa that gives you superior comfort - of course for a much higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location of Pension Stare can't be beat. However, the proprietors realize that because of this they have little competition and so they have broken up the place into very small rooms that haven't had much renovation for years. All this would be okay given the incredible location. However, there was very little wall space separating the head of our bed from the restroom of our neighbor. In the middle of the night we awoke and it seemed as if someone was peeing on our heads--the sound of the "tinkle" was that loud. We had to check ourselves to see that we were not wet. One more thing: My husband had what he thought was a friendly conversation with the proprietor but at the end he tried to sell my husband a shot of schnapps. Everyone is entitled to make a living, but this left a bad taste in our mouths. It all comes back to the location and to the question of how much the incredible location in and of itself is worth to you. Our stay was summer of 2010

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joze001, Manager at Hotel Stare, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello, dear anonym,

why didn’t you mention the problems you had during our pleasant conversation? We always strive to please our guests and I’m convinced we could also please you.
The building is now renovated; all rooms are refurbished and meet the standards.

More demanding guest can hire a prestigious apartment, which costs a little more.

Joze Stare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a memorable stay at Pension Stare in low season (October 2012). When travelling, location is the most important feature of any accommodation. The Pension is magnificently located at the end of Lake Bohinj, in walking distance of Slovenia’s highest waterfall and a cable car that takes you up to a magnificent view of Mt Triglav and all the nearby mountains. There are regular buses to the area. The price was competitive, and while the room and bathroom were small, it was very clean and adequate. The Pension was almost full and we didn’t find it too noisy – in fact we had some great singing sessions with a large group of Hungarian walkers. The half board provided was excellent – real home cooking. The drinks offered at dinner are added to your bill and are quite pricey – you might like to ask to see the prices before ordering. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful with tips for walks in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam_Brunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I want to thank you for the wonderful stay my companion and i enjoyed with you. You worked really hard to supply all our needs and were extremely helpful with advice over fishing, walking and so on. You not only remembered to put flowers in our room but also changed them mid week.
We enjoyed our familiy room with balcony, from which every day we spied chamois on the high screes, and our meals on the patiol, particularly when we were late back from fishing.
Jose, you are a star!
Thank you so much.
Best wishes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allis0n_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.2 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
14.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stare

Property: Hotel Stare
Address: Ukanc 128, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stare 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of the Pension STARE in Slovenia. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Pension STARE a truly unique Slovenian vacation destination. The pension is located in the heart of the Triglav National Park, only 150m from Lake Bohinj in the peaceful and lovely village of Ukanc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stare Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing