We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family activity”
Review of Vogel Ski Center

Vogel Ski Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.58*
and up
Vogel Ski Center: Half Day Skiing with Instructor
More Info
$206.55*
and up
Vogel Ski Center: Full Day Skiing with Instructor
More Info
$111.58*
and up
Vogel Ski Center: Half Day Snowboarding with Instructor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vogel is one of the most beautiful and popular ski resorts in the winter, and the most popular high mountain centre in other seasons. Our slogan “Vogel. Like a Fairy Tale.” is the perfect description of our resort in every season of the year, and we plan to increase our profile with it and give our visitors this fairy-tale feeling. We are determined to seize the opportunities offered by our location in the heart of the Triglav National Park (TNP). Vogel cable car takes you to 1535 metres above sea level throughout the year (except during the maintenance periods). In this way viewpoints high in the mountains are easily accessible and also make an excellent starting point for hikers. You can choose from single or return cable car tickets. The cable car can transfer up to 950 people per hour. The Orlove glave quad chairlift also operates during the summer season (mid-June to end of September) and provides a single or a return ride in the pleasantly refreshing summer climate. It stops at the top of Orlove glave with a paragliding take-off point close by.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent family activity”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

With a five year old and a granny, our adventures are rather limited but the cable car, chair lift and the opportunity to walk the trails above met all our expectations. We cycled to the base of the cable from our hotel on bikes were we could lock them up. The walking once you reach the top looks endless especially if you are a keen walker. We took a picnic and found somewhere to sit and enjoy the stunning panoramic whilst munching our lunch. We forgot walking sticks on this trip which would have been really useful on the gravely descent. Make sure you get ahead of the coach tours who can quickly fill up the cable car on its way down. All in all an excellent way to spend a day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    146
    32
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are visiting the area be sure to get a Bohinj Guest Card which gives discounts on entry to cable car, bus fares and boat rides etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshav near Netanya
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hikes from the top of the Gondola and Chairlift. Best day so far!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

On our third day in the area, we finally arrived at the Slovenia that we had in mind. We took the Gondola and the Chair lift up, and continued on a relatively moderate hike to Sija peak. It took us about 3 hours round trip (at a very leisurely pace). Scenery is breathtaking, paths very well marked. Was great fun hiking up the ski slopes, rather than skiing down! This was by far our best day - agreed upon by all family members, including the kids (ages 10 and 16). After our hike, we spend a few hours relaxing at the lake just below. An absolute must do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMoshavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“...”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view from up there was really cool but the place itself not so much. Maybe it wasn't the season anymore when we came, but the only thing we could do there is drink a beer and then wait for our ride back down.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to start walks in the mountains”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Vogel Ski centre is accessed by a brilliant cable car ride taking you from the valley floor and up to the mountain. It's a 4 minute journey but quite breathtaking as the height increases and the views become ever more impressive. From the ski centre which houses a cafe, another chair lift takes you further up and from that point many walks are available to the mountains. For those feeling really adventurous you can walk along the ridges back to Bohinj Bistraca which takes about 9 hours, (we didn't do it!) or just try and bag a couple of the local peaks. The views are stunning in all directions. The cable care is quite expensive with an adult return being E13.50 or E10 one way, but the chair lift is just E4.00 return or E2 one way. meals and drinks are avilable at the ski centre and the cable car appears to run every 30 minutes though when we were there it was running on demand.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerksFam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogel Ski Center also viewed

Slovenia, Europe
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Vogel Ski Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing