We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Pod Voglom
Nearby Hotels
Jezero Hotel(Bohinjsko Jezero)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Triglav(Bohinjsko Jezero)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj(Bohinjsko Jezero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Park(Bohinjsko Jezero)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments Malej Marjan(Bohinjsko Jezero)
Booking.com
View Deal
Sobe Pekovec Bohinj(Bohinjsko Jezero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accommodation Resman Bohinj(Bohinjsko Jezero)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Zlatorog Bohinj(Bohinjsko Jezero)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Center(Bohinjsko Jezero)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments Mavrica(Bohinjsko Jezero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
35
29
3
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
29
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomout of dateribcev lazlake bohinjrooms are cleanview of the lakethe busplace to staypacsportsflobikebanksfurnishingsvogelsummer
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 74 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I'm really pleased to have found this hostel - the hostel itself and it's location are excellent. I stayed at this hostel twice, using it as a base before and after a trek up nearby Triglav.

This is a large hostel - but it retains a homely, friendly and very welcoming feel and comes complete with an excellent range of facilities. There appeared to be a wide choice of accommodation including dorns and en-suite private rooms. We stayed in a private room, and whilst the furnishings were a little basic, it was comfortable and excellent value. The balcony with direct views of the lake was an added bonus, and there was pleny of storage space in the room. The bathroom was clean and hot water always available, although the shower could have done with a shower curtain or screen.

The hostel offers an excellent value dinner, and a free buffet breakfast was available between 7 and 10am. There is also a bar on site, plenty of information about trips and acitivities, and the staff were consistently helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We arrived late on the first evening, but the staff were very willing to prepare a simple meal for us, and another day we had to catch an early bus - again the staff were really accommodating and made breakfast available early.

There are other activities available on site including a high ropes course, bike hire etc, although we did not try these and they appeared to be a popular with school groups etcThe excellent location means that you can swim in the lake direclty on the hostel doorstep - and you can catch the bus outside to take you into Bohinjsko Jezero, elsewhere in Triglav national park or onto Ljubljana.

Overall, very highly recommended - thanks to the staff and management for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer building offer private bathrooms and those to the front of the building have balconies with a view over the lake. Some even have good quality murals painted on the walls.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

While the staff were very helpful and friendly when I asked for information, I felt quite lost in this giant, run down hostel. They seem oriented to large groups of travellers and team building outings. There was a lot of noise for what I thought would be a quiet, next-to-the-lake experience. I stayed one night and then switched to the far superior and slightly cheaper Studor 13 in the village of Studor about 3 km away.

The night I was there there was lots of cheering and singing as groups celebrated their achievements.The floor boards were louder than loud and there was only one washroom (with one toilet and one shower) for men and one for women on my floor which was shocking because there were at least 10 rooms with 4 beds each. The place is run down but at least it is very clean. I had a room to myself and the room was spacious with a dresser and its own sink. But the noise from downstairs with people playing what sounded like pool or something and the loud music was too much for me.

A tour of the facilities would have helped. No one showed me around even though the place was sprawling so I didn't know what facilities they had. Also no one let me know about what type of activities were on offer which was strange because they are linked with Pac Sports, a tour operator. I did end up going paragliding with them and definitely overpaid for a short, basic jump. I did a far superior jump from Kobarid for less money.

They do offer a pretty comprehensive breakfast which I really enjoyed.

The location next to the lake is great if you want to do a lot of lake activities but really the hostel is on the main road which was full of loud motorcycles all day and I felt that the north side of the lake was the nicer side to explore and swim from anyway. The campsite at the southwest end is probably the best lakeside place to stay and they are connected to pac sports as well.

Even though they are on the lake, they are still far from everything. I think the Studor 13 location is much better (quieter, prettier, closer to shops and restaurants etc.... see separate review).

I would not stay here again but if you are a group of people who want lots of activities, games, music, drinking etc. then this might be for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank googlywoogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Super service w. very nice guides and good value for money. would recommend to anyone!
we trie canyoning, rafting an moutin biking.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agronicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina D, Manager at Hostel Pod Voglom, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina D, Manager at Hostel Pod Voglom, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews