We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great domestic food”
Review of Gostilna Mihovc

Gostilna Mihovc
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: European, Slovenian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Mihovc Guesthouse lies right in the heart of the delightful village of Stara Fuzina, just 500 meters away from the magical Lake Bohinj, sacred to the Slovenians. The Guesthouse has stood since 1888, and is now beautifully renovated in the traditional style, so that it stili very much retains its old world charm, and continues to offer wonderful Slovenian hospitality and delicious mountain cuisine using fresh local produce, as well as international dishes, of course ... all served to you by staff in traditional dress!The Guesthouse seats 60 people in the indoors restaurant, and there's ro om for 120 more on the outdoors terrace ... ideal for hungry and thirsty hikers, fishermen, sight-seers, climbers and ski-ers! Nearby is an Alpine Dairy Farm Museum, and the village straddles a mountain river, boasts great views and is a perfect base for scenic strolIs in nature. Kittens abound in the woodsheds and farmyards nearby, and the sound of cow- bells sets the scene for an idyllic alpine experience! ln the bar, near the old farm-house stove, is a wonderful old retro radio ... a nostalgic reminder of days gone by. The Mihovc Guesthouse welcomes everyone whoseeks the majesty and magic of nature in a tranquil and relaxed environment, and the fabulous hospitality of true Slovenians!
Zagreb
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great domestic food”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have visited this restaurant (although far more appropriate is Slovenian term "gostilna") couple of years ago, and we are coming back religiously each time we come to Bohinj for a weekend. Really great original domestic food and relaxed and cozy atmosphere! (Lots of local people usually come there also, so you can enjoy in very authentic atmosphere.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    29
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
640 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“A Very Good Choice”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A good choice if the authenticity of a place means more than the quality of the food. The food was good and utterly reflective of the local culture. More locals eat here than tourists. Service was very good and the music was local folk, without apology ( no Nickleback nor Madonna). Stara Fuzina features real rural Slovenia, without compromise. Keep walking into the village after your meal and you'll find a man who speaks no ther language than his own selling cheese, bread, honey and baked sweets from the (very basic) front room of his home. We love these kinds of eateries such as Mihovic. They are why we travel. I am done. The end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible Slovenian eating”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As far as I can tell this was local, authentic and delicious. The place was filled with a mix of tourists and locals and just across from the starting point of some excellent hikes in Bohinj. We're so fortunate that this restaurant was recommended to us. We started off with a massive salad and then had the mixed meat platter, which had surprises in every bite. Plenty of great beer choices too.

Overall a fantastic restaurant option in Bohinj.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jason_lachappelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical Slovenian food for tourists”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We were there for lunch on a holiday and it was busy so I suppose that's why the waitress was in a hurry and not too helpful. The menu looked great but I've had better žganci and mushroom soup before. If you're not too picky and demanding about your traditional local cuisine this is a pretty nice place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vesnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bad service, average food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mihovc has never been my favorite among Bohinj's restaurants, but since the last time I went there almost a decade had past, I thought I give it another try. Although the terrace looks a bit nicer now, not much has changed. Slow service by two moody girls and the food just average to bad. We had an apple strudel which was ok and a Sopska solata (sth like a Greek salad) which was aweful due to the bitter cucumber. I had to spit out the cucumber because it was so bitter I could not swallow it. Cheese and tomatoes in the salad were ok. There is definitely better traditional food to get, but yes, you can eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Mihovc also viewed

Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ribcev Laz, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjsko Jezero, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Mihovc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing