We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, lovely quiet village.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Katricnek 2

Haus Katricnek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haus Katricnek
The double bedroom. Kitchen & dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Haus Katricnek
The double bedroom.
Kitchen & dining area.
Bright & cosy sitting area.
Great views from the living room!
Our outdoor pool.
Traditional Bohinjska Bela
And, oh boy, can it snow! - Car? What car?
Rest stop on a mountain meadow.
Nearby Lake Bled
The pool - so inviting!
The Trenta Valley - just gorgeous!
Slap Savica, Bohinj
Spring in a nearby Alpine meadow.
Nearby Lake Bled
Nearby Vogel Ski Centre.
Farmhouse Katricnek.
colour in the garden.
Stormy view down the valley.
Pretty Fishing Village of Izola
Cafe with a view!  Lake Bled in teh distance.
Lake Bohinj winter frost.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bohinjska Bela, Bled, Upper Carniola Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James S
1 review
“Fantastic apartment, lovely quiet village.”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The apartment was fantastic, and everything you could need for 2 people. Very large bed, and great shower room.
Lounge was a decent size, and the view from its balcony is stunning.

Nice pool, and great BBQ area to spend an afternoon / evening or even a whole day!

I would recommend having a car for the area, although there are buses around, there is loads to explore within a 30min-1hour drive, and we were grateful for our car.

Situated nicely in between Lake Bled, and Lake Bohinj (prefered the latter), the village is nice and quiet, which does mean there wasn't much chance for late night drinks! (unless you wanted to jump in taxi).
Ralph and Jo know their day out trips and were more than happy to tell us about great days out and their recommendation of Vrata valley was my favourite expedition.

Little tips;
Lovely view from top of the cliff, which you can easily climb via a set of ladders, just carry on walking up the hill to the top!
The walk to bled is more of a hike, rather than a casual walk. Although it is only 25mins, you couldn't walking into Bled in the evening in a smart/night out/dinner clothes.
Visit Vrata valley!
Lake Bohinj is nicer than Lake Bled (and less busy).

Great stay! Needed more than a week!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landscape around! Stunning.
Liked least: No late night bar / restaurant in the village.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thanks so much for your great review - I'm really pleased you enjoyed the place so much! Come back and visit again, there are plenty of other place for you to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hi Jo and Ralph have to say not glad to be home but have brilliant memories of our holiday thanks to your accomadation, area, and weather. The appartment was brilliant two bathrooms was a godsend with 2 girls, beds very comfy, free wifi and wii was brill for us all, the views are amazing i miss sitting out on the balcony eating our breakfast, we went to baptiste restaurant alot i have to say its so good the staff are really friendly and its cheap what more can you want, have to say to anybody thinking of staying here just book it you will not be disappointed there is loads of walking which we did, the bus is every hour into bled or you can walk into bled along the trail i would say it takes 40 mins but if you walk fast 30mins we did walk this alot. Recomend going to Lake Bohinj the bus from town takes 25 mins and is every hour. Lake Bled is busy beautiful place with plenty of restaurants and bars serving coctails have to say Pub Bled did fantastic cocktails, i could go on and on there is nothing negative to say about slovenia it is truly is a stunning country we will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2015
Thanks so much for your review, we're so pleased you had such a good time! Get yourselves back here to visit again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan1103
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed at the lovely Katricnek 2 for nine nights in Aug/Sep 2014. What a fantastic apartment. Set right at the bottom of a cliff face it offers dramatic views and has everything you could need.
Ralph & Jo, the owners, were lovely people and very helpful in offering advice on things to see and do. All the sights are within easy reach from the apartment and we had no problem driving/walking to the things we wanted to see.
A very special place and one day we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thanks for your enthusiasm and praise! Hope you do manage to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhibelly
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We absolutely loved staying here - it was perfectly cosy and clean and comfortable. Brilliant location as well, you can even walk into Lake Bled which is lovely!

Ralph and Jo were so lovely and happy to help out.

All in all, an amazing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
Stockton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a hidden gem.
Beautiful accommodation with everything one could need & lovely owners Jo & Ralph. They were so helpful and made us so welcome. Ralph advised us how to get to places by the prettiest routes.
The village is delightful with 2 good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. You can walk to Lake Bled in about 25 minutes or 5 minutes by car.
The apartment is well situated to explore Slovenia. It is a beautiful country. The lakes are great to swim in, Lake Bohinj especially.
The swimming pool & barbecue area at the apartment are a real bonus.
We can't wait to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in small village and quality of propery removation
Liked least: Car parking might be crowded if all 3 properties are let but plenty of space nearby (we were only clients so no problem)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, we really do appreciate it. And we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OpheliaLo...
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful & we look forward to staying again!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

**Note: I am posting my review for Apartment 2 on both the Farmhouse Katricnek and the Katricnek 2 pages as I couldn't find enough info on Apartment 2 on this page!**

Staying with Jo & Ralph at Katricnek (apartment 2) was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to return. We stayed in December & the apartment was wonderful, charming, clean and well heated. We were delighted with the location, it is a 5 minute drive to Lake Bled (if that) and you have a much more local/authentic village experience, by which I mean there is less traffic/noise and a lack of tourist restaurants. There's a wonderful, local restaurant down the road called 'Batist' which serves fresh, homely meals (order one between two - portions are massive!)

More about the apartment: - I was initially reluctant to book as I did not realise that some reviews for apartment 2 are actually posted on the Katricnek page (rather than 'Katricnek 2' as it is called on the website). When I realised the Trip Advisor reviews are split across both pages I found glowing review after review and I can see why. It's fantastic.

Ralph & Jo are generous with their knowledge and time, making excellent suggestions for site-seeing and organising activities on our behalf (private snow-shoe guide, ski lessons etc). In addition to being hugely helpful and hospitable, they have created a welcoming home-away-from-home from which to explore this beautiful country. We are especially grateful to them for looking after me on the day I was feeling unwell.

The apartment has beautiful views from the lounge and bedroom and is an ideal location from which to explore the Triglav national park, or Italy, or Austria.. or whatever you fancy really! The bed is extremely comfortable and it was nice to have the option to cook some nights (even though eating out is cheap in Slovenia). We really did feel at home in this apartment and I would highly recommend it.

If you are tossing up whether to stay in Bled or Bohinjska Bela, it's not such a big decision. They are very close (minutes drive) and frankly, there is no free parking in Bled so you usually have to walk from wherever you stay or pay parking.

Lastly, I would say that apartment looks even more lovely than it appears in the photos which don't do it justice. I thought it would be really small but it's a very comfortable size.

Thanks Ralph & Jo! We had a great time and a lovely stay in Farmhouse Katricnek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing