We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farmhouse Katricnek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The apartment was really nice, very clean and plenty of room for 4 of us to stay. The kitchen was well equipped enabling us to cook and the BBQ was great too. The views were amazing and the outdoor space was good - we used the pool and the sunloungers every morning. Ralph and Jo were great and gave us tips on where to go and how to get there. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow2000, Owner at Farmhouse Katricnek, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Maria - you're a star, thanks for the review! See you later in the year for some skiing.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in Farmhouse Katricnek (apartment 3) for 5 days mid-May, and despite being very unlucky with some unseasonally wet weather, had a wonderful trip. The apartment was very spacious and clean and had every home comfort you could wish for. We stayed in and cooked one evening, and also went to explore the 2 local restaurants, which were both excellent, serving hearty traditional food.

A big bonus for us was that literally up the road from the house are some great climbing routes on the looming limestone cliffs, which was the reason for our trip, although we hadn't realising the proximity until we arrived.

Jo and Ralph were very helpful and happy to advise us on walking routes and other activities in the area, and made us feel very welcome.

Overall, a brilliant trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow2000, Owner at Farmhouse Katricnek, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time and maybe next time we can get you climbing our own cliff at the house! Take care, Ralph & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are looking for a very well situated, exceedingly well presented apartment with wonderful views then look no further. We have stayed in numerous apartments throughout Europe and found Farmhouse Katricnek ( Apartment 2 ) to exceed our expectations with everything to make our stay very comfortable. The owners , Ralph and Joe, live on site and are only too happy to provide local information or advise on trips further afield whatever your interests. It is extremely close to Lake Bled and Triglav National Park with its stunning scenery and flora and fauna. Also our trip up to Veiika Planina via cable car was very memorable. In May the alpine meadows are very beautiful and the bird watching was interesting too. We have thoroughly enjoyed our ten days but should have booked for longer as there is so much to see and do. Farmhouse Katricnek is a vey welcoming and relaxing base. We would very much like to return and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Slovenia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Jo & Ralph were very accommodating hosts and the apartment was lovely! Had an extremely relaxing few days. Even with the heavy mists, the view was stunning. Oh, and their bath-robes are the most comfortable in the whole of Slovenia. ;-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank minibreakfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 2 for a wonderful week in late February. It was, by far, the best accommodation we had in Slovenia. Ralph and Jo are great hosts and have created a welcoming and comfortable apartment. Our walk through the fresh snow to work up an appetite for Sunday lunch remains a favourite memory of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoline_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staying with Jo & Ralph at Katricnek (apartment 2) was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to return. We stayed in December & the apartment was wonderful, charming, clean and well heated. We were delighted with the location, it is a 5 minute drive to Lake Bled (if that) and you have a much more local/authentic village experience, by which I mean there is less traffic/noise and a lack of tourist restaurants. There's a wonderful, local restaurant down the road called 'Batist' which serves fresh, homely meals (order one between two - portions are massive!)

More about the apartment: - I was initially reluctant to book as I did not realise that some reviews for apartment 2 are actually posted on the Katricnek page (rather than 'Katricnek 2' as it is called on the website). When I realised the Trip Advisor reviews are split across both pages I found glowing review after review and I can see why. It's fantastic.

Ralph & Jo are generous with their knowledge and time, making excellent suggestions for site-seeing and organising activities on our behalf (private snow-shoe guide, ski lessons etc). In addition to being hugely helpful and hospitable, they have created a welcoming home-away-from-home from which to explore this beautiful country. We are especially grateful to them for looking after me on the day I was feeling unwell.

The apartment has beautiful views from the lounge and bedroom and is an ideal location from which to explore the Triglav national park, or Italy, or Austria.. or whatever you fancy really! The bed is extremely comfortable and it was nice to have the option to cook some nights (even though eating out is cheap in Slovenia). We really did feel at home in this apartment and I would highly recommend it.

If you are tossing up whether to stay in Bled or Bohinjska Bela, it's not such a big decision. They are very close (minutes drive) and frankly, there is no free parking in Bled so you usually have to walk from wherever you stay or pay parking.

Lastly, I would say that apartment looks even more lovely than it appears in the photos which don't do it justice. I thought it would be really small but it's a very comfortable size.

Thanks Ralph & Jo! We had a great time and a lovely stay in Farmhouse Katricnek.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpheliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow2000, Owner at Farmhouse Katricnek, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hey, thanks guys for taking the time to write a review - we really do appreciate it - and hope to see you here again soon. Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in an apartment here in January, and it was truly lovely. It was freezing cold, but the apartment was lovely and cosy, and with the log burner in action and the snow coming down outside, it was a perfect winter retreat. The apartment is superbly decorated and has everything you might possibly need.

Ralph and Jo were very helpful, and even had arranged a food hamper on our arrival late at night. A really lovely location and place to stay, and we hope to return and see Slovenia at a different time of year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjska Bela
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
692 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#5 of 24 in Bled
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 24 in Bled
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
412 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Katricnek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Katricnek

Property: Farmhouse Katricnek
Address: Bohinjska Bela 70, Bohinjska Bela, Bled 4263, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled > Bohinjska Bela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bohinjska Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior holiday homes with large garden and heated outdoor pool in this beautifully converted Farmhouse near Lake Bled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Farmhouse Katricnek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing