We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment, warm hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmhouse Katricnek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farmhouse Katricnek
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment, warm hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 2 for a wonderful week in late February. It was, by far, the best accommodation we had in Slovenia. Ralph and Jo are great hosts and have created a welcoming and comfortable apartment. Our walk through the fresh snow to work up an appetite for Sunday lunch remains a favourite memory of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoline_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staying with Jo & Ralph at Katricnek (apartment 2) was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to return. We stayed in December & the apartment was wonderful, charming, clean and well heated. We were delighted with the location, it is a 5 minute drive to Lake Bled (if that) and you have a much more local/authentic village experience, by which I mean there is less traffic/noise and a lack of tourist restaurants. There's a wonderful, local restaurant down the road called 'Batist' which serves fresh, homely meals (order one between two - portions are massive!)

More about the apartment: - I was initially reluctant to book as I did not realise that some reviews for apartment 2 are actually posted on the Katricnek page (rather than 'Katricnek 2' as it is called on the website). When I realised the Trip Advisor reviews are split across both pages I found glowing review after review and I can see why. It's fantastic.

Ralph & Jo are generous with their knowledge and time, making excellent suggestions for site-seeing and organising activities on our behalf (private snow-shoe guide, ski lessons etc). In addition to being hugely helpful and hospitable, they have created a welcoming home-away-from-home from which to explore this beautiful country. We are especially grateful to them for looking after me on the day I was feeling unwell.

The apartment has beautiful views from the lounge and bedroom and is an ideal location from which to explore the Triglav national park, or Italy, or Austria.. or whatever you fancy really! The bed is extremely comfortable and it was nice to have the option to cook some nights (even though eating out is cheap in Slovenia). We really did feel at home in this apartment and I would highly recommend it.

If you are tossing up whether to stay in Bled or Bohinjska Bela, it's not such a big decision. They are very close (minutes drive) and frankly, there is no free parking in Bled so you usually have to walk from wherever you stay or pay parking.

Lastly, I would say that apartment looks even more lovely than it appears in the photos which don't do it justice. I thought it would be really small but it's a very comfortable size.

Thanks Ralph & Jo! We had a great time and a lovely stay in Farmhouse Katricnek.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OpheliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow2000, Owner at Farmhouse Katricnek, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hey, thanks guys for taking the time to write a review - we really do appreciate it - and hope to see you here again soon. Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in an apartment here in January, and it was truly lovely. It was freezing cold, but the apartment was lovely and cosy, and with the log burner in action and the snow coming down outside, it was a perfect winter retreat. The apartment is superbly decorated and has everything you might possibly need.

Ralph and Jo were very helpful, and even had arranged a food hamper on our arrival late at night. A really lovely location and place to stay, and we hope to return and see Slovenia at a different time of year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We went to the appartment to get a good look at slovenia and every thing it has to offer. The location of the appartment is breath taking. The appartment comes with everything u have at home even a dish washer. U can use the swimming pool and the barbeque/ fireplace outside, with a nice roof above it! And the owners r verry lovely and helpfull with every thing u need and want to know. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flavioooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were here in October 2010. Very pleased! Excellent accommodation, friendly hosts, very good location! If necessary, I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaroslaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The apartment was so wonderful. We stayed here over Easter last year and hope to return soon. Ralph and Jo were very helpful and really had thought of everything to put in the apartment. The fire made the apartment so warm. Sitting on the balcony in the morning was great. the hot tub was an added bonus and the pool area as we had such wonderful weather. we walked and took in all the local sights. We even rang the bell on the island of Bled! The apartment comfortably slept 4 of us.the barbecue area was our favourite and we enjoyed sitting out in an evening keeping warm.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sticknicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday staying in apartment 4 with our two young children. The apartment was of a very high standard and we made full use of the garden, pool and fabulous BBQ area. Ralph and Jo have created a wonderful holiday destination and we didn't want to leave.

The apartments are in a perfect location and we really enjoyed exploring the local area. The children enjoyed paddling in the local river and we had some great days out to castles, caves, lakes, gorges, museums etc.

We cannot wait to return and have plans to spend summer and winter holidays here in the future

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigermaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjska Bela
2.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Katricnek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Katricnek

Property: Farmhouse Katricnek
Address: Bohinjska Bela 70, Bohinjska Bela, Bled 4263, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled > Bohinjska Bela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bohinjska Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior holiday homes with large garden and heated outdoor pool in this beautifully converted Farmhouse near Lake Bled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Farmhouse Katricnek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing