We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place helps make a dream holiday in Bled come true”
Review of Pension Bled

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Bled
Ranked #10 of 60 Bled B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gohl
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This place helps make a dream holiday in Bled come true”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My mobile phone battery was running very low and i did not bring the right charger with me so you can imagine i was worried that i would be stuck at the train station after the tourist information personnel in Nova Goriza said to me that "oh now, nowadays everyone has mobile phones so you may not find a public phone at the train station".

Pleasantly surprised, we were picked up upon arrival at Bled Jesenice train station after texting one message to the proprietor's mobile phone when we left Nova Goriza. Now that's service !

The pension looks like a holiday home. It has two alfresco areas each with its own beautiful view of the surrounding hills and mountains. Inside there is a laptop at what looks like a regal dining table. There is also another lounge area where you can relax and admire the view outside through the glass door.

The rooms are spacious, the beds extremely comfortable. WIFI worked, again we were pleasantly surprised because we were staying at one previous place which claimed to have WIFI but we could not connect to it for more than an hour.

Breakfast was the usual continental, with plenty of coffee and juices and fruit. Breakfast starts at 7:30am and finishes at 10am, so that suits early risers as well as sleepy heads.

The place is a pleasant 15 min walk to town and en-route you see many beautiful slovenian houses with even more beautiful gardens and fruit trees laden with what was in season - cherry!

Vintgar Gorge was also in the "neighbourhood" and we followed the signs and we got there and back and was very happy with the walk.

The proprietor was apparently a professional hiker and very knowledgable of current affairs and history of the region, which enriches our travel experience of this tiny country of 2 million people. I considered myself fortunate to hike Mount Stol with his guidance. I was stepping through snow in May! And I am also glad I am properly equipped with hiking boots and wind jackets all purchased from the good shops in Bled.

We stayed there for 5 nights and were thoroughly happy throughout. The view of the mountains capped in snow in May was breathtaking and then all melted on the third day so I could do the hike! Everything just came together so nicely in Bled.

On our last day we were also driven to the Bled bus station to continue our journey to Austria/Germany.

The only regret I have is I only read about the cream cake on the last night and by the time we got to Park Hotel they were closed, and we were asked to go to Panorama which serves the cake from the same kitchen but they ran out of cream cake! Kitch as it is, I think I have a good reason to return to Bled! I look forward to staying at the same pension once more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

After a bad experience with another Hostel nearby, we were prepared for the worst. We couldn't have been more wrong! We were shown to a room which wouldn't have been out of place in an expensive hotel. Spacious, clean and a massive bathroom. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful too. Price was very reasonable, possibly because Pension Bled is a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Bled.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is a great little place to stay. The owners picked us up from the train station, ran us in to town and took us back to the station, and couln't be more helpful. Lovely location on the edge of Bled looking out over the mountains. It was about 15 min walk to the lake side, but that was fine - it meant we we're woken by the church bells that other people complained about in the centre of town.

A pupose built guest house, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet offered was fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beany65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at Pension Grip in November 07. We had the whole place to ourselves as we were the only guests!

The whole accommodation was very modern and exceptionally clean. We stayed in Room 1 which is a double room, and both the bedroom and en suite bathroom are huge for this type of accommodation. The view from the bathroom windows overlooks the Julian Alps, which is just stunning.

Breakfast was excellent and the owners are really friendly and helpful, going so far as to offer us a lift into the centre of Bled on the morning we checked out! There is also free internet access (and wi-fi throughout the building, although we didn't get to try this out) and a games room.

The price is great compared to the rest of the Bled accommodation we looked at, although a lot of the smaller places were closed for the time we were there. Pension Grip is also a 10-15 minute walk into town, but don't let this put you off as you get to walk past the best cake shop on the way in.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Comfortable Room, Breakfast!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nic-la_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Stayed for 3 days, very kind staff, clean rooms and superb location with view of the alps and nature and also 10min walk from the centre.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mahho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#10 of 24 in Bled
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Bled
Golf Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bled

Property: Pension Bled
Address: Jermanka 20, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Bled 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension is located in the immediate vicinity of the centre of Bled, only a kilometer and a half from Lake Bled in the direction to village Zasip. The house distinguishes itself by its exceptional position at the edge of the settlement, where you will be impressed not only by a large picturesque garden, but also by the beautiful view of the Alps. The quiet site of the house, situated outside the city hustle offers a nice relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing