We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is wonderful and a great deal (but skip dinner)”
Review of Mulej Tourist Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mulej Tourist Farm
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Reviewed January 30, 2009

After reading all the reviews and doing extensive research, we decided to stay at Mulej Tourist Farm for three nights over Christmas. This place did not disappoint. Our room was spacious, meticulously clean and practically brand new. There was a living area with a couch and TV. Overall, it was excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Breakfast was divine - we gorged ourselves every day on delicious home-made prosciutto, butter, berry jam, and the most wonderful freshly baked bread.

The house is beautiful, and there are horses and cats and a wonderful dog hanging around. It is truly a farm, and the view from our window and balcony was gorgeous.

The village of Selo is very cute, and the house is literally only a 5-10 minute walk to Lake Bled. The walk is quite beautiful and truly a pleasure.

The only real disappointment was our Christmas dinner. We asked for half board on Christmas day, thinking that we might have a hard time getting a dinner reservation at a restaurant. They promised us that Christmas dinner would be a "better" meal than usual. In fact, it was pretty awful: bland, oily soup (noodles in oily water); boiled potatoes and extremely bland, boiled beef. We were really glad that we didn't sign up for half board on any of the other days.

I even heard another guest telling the owner, "My husband does not want any soup tonight, please." When we saw the soup, we could see why. Apparently it is the same soup every night.

They only positive thing we can say about that dinner is that it was reasonably priced (8 Euro per person). Of course, the price did not include drinks. If you are on a severe budget, half-board is an option. But frankly, for the same price, you can have a wonderful meal in the little Osterija restaurant in the town of Bled. The meal we ate at the Tourist Farm was worth far less than 8 Euro.

We highly recommend this place (just not their dinner!).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lyra-Belaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 66 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2008

We spent 3 nights here in August 2008 with our 2 children. Our room was a duplex apartment which had comfortable beds, a good bathroom and a fabulous kitchen and dining area. The views from the window were exceptional and the relaxed atmosphere will add years to your life.

We did not have a car and so walked to Lake Bled and Bled village. The walk is a little further than the estimate provided by the Tourist Farm but it was especially beautiful and peaceful. Everything we wanted to do was around Bled and the lake and so the absence of a car did us and the environment some good.

At the end of a full day's activities we did not venture back into Bled in the evening and so ate Mrs Mulej's delicious homemade food at the Farm. The children were a little concerned about the food but their fears were soon allayed and they tucked into the simple but delicious food with relish. Our next stops were Salzburg and Munich and the unbelievable value of the food at the Farm left a few more Euros for these expensive cities. Breakfast was also a joy and a great way to start the day.

We had booked a very busy day of excursions with Spin Travel. They arrived at the Farm at the precise time we agreed and drove us to the caves at Skocjan, followed by a light aircraft trip around the Slovenian coast, saltpans and vineyards and our day ended at the Lipica Stud Farm to see the Lipizzaner white horses. We also used Spin Travel to take us to Salzburg and again their service was exceptional.

During our time at Bled we went swimming in the lake (best area is public bathing area near the Zaka Cafe which is near the road to the Farm), took a pletna boat to the island (go early before the tour buses arrive), burnt the calories with the steep walk to the castle (the views are just stunning and worth the sweat), enjoyed the local speciality cake at Grand Hotel Toplice (a beer on the terrace over looking the lake is a great way to enjoy life) and played mini-golf in Bled (if you have a competitive 11-year old be prepared for defeat and several rounds at least).

We all loved the experience of staying on the Farm The people were very friendly, the views were great, it is so quiet and it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We typically stay in B&B/pension accommodations and this one is now one of my favorites. We stayed in the new house (they also rent rooms in their old house a short distance away). The rooms were large and modern, with a bathroom and a small balcony. The owners are very nice and clearly took great pains to make this a pleasant place to stay. The value is really hard to beat, at 25 euro per person including breakfast. It is about a twenty minute walk into Bled town and about a 5-10 minute walk to the lake, but with the difficulty in parking a car in and around Bled, your really best to walk. With advance notice, you can have dinner here as well. Please consider staying here if in the Bled area. It really is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LalaB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

At 50 euros/night, breakfast included, this place is a bargain, especially when compared with other types of accommodation in Bled proper. We normally stay with the Berc family in Bled, and that is for us THE place to stay in Bled, but this time around they were fully booked, so we decided to try a different place, somewhat removed from the bustle of Bled, and we weren't disappointed.

The village Selo, where Mulej Farm is situated, is a couple of chilometers outside of Bled, which you come to appreciate particularly at night, when the village is cloaked in darkness and completely quiet. We slept like babies in new, clean and simply appointed rooms with a balcony on the second floor, which afforded a nice view of the surrounding hills and countryside. We were glad we had wheels, though, because it was chilly and muddy from recent rain, and the road leading from the village to the lake was closed for repairs, so walking to town was not really an enticing option. The lakeshore is not distant, but getting to the town centre would take approx. 30 minutes.

Breakfast was no big deal, standard fare of good quality. I noticed many reviews here which waxed poetic on the home-made, organic food served at Mulej, but we didn't notice much of it at breakfast. As we only stayed one night, we didn't opt for half-board, and so couldn't sample any other food at dinner; we cannot therefore pronounce any judgement on the quality of meals served at Mulej. Once again, breakfast was average.

The owners are very kind and forthcoming people, communicative and ready to help. All in all, we would recommend staying at Mulej Farm because it offers good service at a bargain price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ana_era
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Situated about a twenty minute walk from the town of Bled, a little closer to the lake, this accommodation is excellent in all respects.

The modern guesthouse has large comfortable rooms with beautiful views. The family owners are both friendly and helpful - offering useful advice about the local area.

The food is plentiful and excellent. High quality ingredients nearly all from their own farm. Nothing fancy, but all the better for that.

The area is beautiful - Lake Bohinj in particular is completely unspoilt. Ideal walking country.

My wife and I rarely return to places that we have visited. However I will be disappointed if we do not return to Mulej.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rp0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

What a fantastic place! We stumbled upon it a few years ago - this is the third year we have visitied. The farm is about 0.7km from Bled - a gentle and very pleasant walk - even our 4 year old made it without problems. The wonderful thing about being outside Bled is that it is much quieter - and the valley the farm looks out on to is the most spectacularly beautiful valley ever. We visited in October when the trees were changing colour - absolutely stunning.

The tourist farm is run by husband, Joze, and wife, Damjana. They are very conscious of the enivronment and use only organic ingredients in their cooking. Almost all the meat for example comes from their farm - the cows produce the butter, cottage cheese, milk, salami - the list goes on. Even their cow shed is covered with electricity producing tiles.

The rooms are very spacious and clean - it's like being in a four star hotel but without the kettle. And the food is just wonderful. Cooked fresh everyday, you receive a three course meal for something like 8 euros - soup, main course with salad, and often cake for dessert. The portions are large and extremly tasty.

All in all it's a wonderful place to go with a young family - bikes are available as is a horse! The milking shed provides endless hours of amusement for the young ones. On all three occasions we have visited, we have gone with both sets of aged grandparents - they love it too!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Keenersx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We stayed here 2 nights. It is outside of Bled on a very narrow road; a car would be necessary since there are very few (any?) taxis in Bled. The hairpin turn to get into the drive is something else! We only tried it once; after that, we drove on ahead & turned around to make the entrance 100% less harrowing. The rooms are very spacious & comfortable. Some have balconies - request ahead. We opted for half board for convenience & were a bit disappointed. Simple, healthy food - all fresh from the farm - but what we didn't care for was the meat. One night it was a turkey leg; the next it was a pork rump w/ lots of bone & gristle. We would have preferred slices of meat. The noodle soup looked like it came from a can & had no taste. One dessert was home-canned sliced peaches. We did enjoy talking with Josef - he showed us the old coins & told us some family history. We also got to see a calf about 10 minutes after it was born. Only 2 bikes were available (there were 4 in our group), so we rented them in town which was better in the long run. Riding back & forth from the farm would have taken more time & energy. By the way, there's free internet at the Bled library - very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travelmercies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.3 mi away
Jakelj Backpackers House
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ribno
Hotel Ribno
#1 of 1 in Ribno
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 24 in Bled
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Farmhouse Katricnek
Farmhouse Katricnek
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bela
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ana Apartments and Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulej Tourist Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulej Tourist Farm

Address: Selo pri Bledu 42a, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Food is delicious and is all produced by ourself on the farm. You will have a chance to see an animal life on the farm which is friendly to the animals and pleasant to the environment. Children can feed variety of domestic animals or enjoy on the children's playground. Our turistic farm is only 900 m away from the lake what gives you many possibilities to explore an interesting surrounding by hiking, cycling (with our bikes), riding our horses or going around by car. We will also help you to choose trips where you will enjoy , see and experience the most of our beautiful country. We like the place we live in, we are happy and satisfied and this is what we share with our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulej Tourist Farm Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing