We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and a great location”
Review of Pension Mlino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Mlino
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed it. The rooms are adequate but small - however, nobody comes to Bled to stay in their room anyway. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was nice. The breakfast is a bit too reminiscent of 1970's Yugoslavia and it seems like the choice has not changed since. Austerity "juices" made from syrup, coffee brewing in what can only be described as a tank, a toaster which fits a couple of slices of bread only, "Zdenka" cheese and so on... Bring the breakfast into the 21st century please. Same applies to music - while two days of non-stop Slovenian polka (folk) in every communal area was just about bearable, it's hard to imagine how longer-terms travellers (or indeed the staff) cope with listening to that constantly. :) Overall, a recommended property with a great location and just about the right value for money ratio.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoePolitix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked this penzion for 5 nights but checked out after the 1st nights stay. On first impression the place looks amazing from the outside, it looks well kept and is situated right on the shore of Lake Bled, however once inside its plain to see that this place is in dire need of some modernisation (especially the rooms) and staff training in customer service.

The room we had was on the first floor and overlooking the lake, it was very small and VERY dated and run down. All the furniture was old and knocked about, the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom felt as though it was squeezed into a cupboard size space, which made it a very claustrophobic experience and bizarrely the shelf and sink sloped which meant anything that you placed there slid off! The lighting in the room and bathroom was very dull which added to the cave like atmosphere.

The penzion is directly next to the road and because there is no air con we had to open the window because it was very stuffy inside. I don't know if this is normal but on the night we stayed a lot of trucks passed by during the night and on doing so woke both of us up each time. So it was a choice of either an uncomfortable nights sleep due to it been either stuffy or noisy.

So, having not slept too good we went down for breakfast at 9:15am (breakfast served until 10am). To start off there was no sign of any member of staff at all, there were no plates left on the table and only the rag ends of food left to choose from. I decided to get some coffee and to my horror the table with the hot drinks and juices was crawling with ants!!! Having finally found a member of staff to report this to she promptly reacted by brushing them onto the floor quickly.

We are certainly not fussy about accommodation and booked the place as a no frills base whilst visiting the area but it fell far below even this standard. After breakfast (or the lack of it) we checked out and went next door to Vila Istra, which was a wonderful and friendly place at a similar price (in fact we are visiting again in august).

If this place was renovated and brought up to standard along with staff who are friendly and available I am sure it would be nice. But until this happens I would not recommend it as a place to stay because there are many more places in Bled to choose from at similar prices which are far nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olesia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenzionMlino, Owner at Pension Mlino, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Trip advisor users
As an owner of Pension Mlino I have to respond to a review that is malevolent and malicious.
Booking a room trough www.booking.com you have all the facts about the room, it's size, location; you have photos of the rooms, toilet and you also have 338 guest reviews with 8,1 score.
Pension Mlino is an old traditional Bled guesthouse and we know our advantages and disadvantages, which we do not want to hide from our guests. Rooms are quite small (double room 18m2), but you can see that in "room information" where it's stated. Room has a big window overlooking the lake; the room is bright and made me laugh to be compared with a cave. Cave with a lake view?!ï Not badï! Also the shelf and the sink in the bathroom are not sloped, but yes, the bathroom is quite small, everyone can see that because the photo of the bathroom is also published. All the rooms were repainted this year, have new mattresses, but the furniture is really quite old.
The comments about breakfast are full of lies! Crawling with ants?! I was there personally, checking and looking for them and didn't find any. Maybe they just disappeared.
To compare our Pension with Vila Istra is ridiculous. The prices there are at least double for a no lake view room. It's a very nice luxury Vila, right, but has just the same amount of traffic and trucks as our Pension, because it's just 100m down the (same) road.
Sometimes expectation doesn't match with reality. I apologised if they didn't get what they expected. They had the room booked for 5 nights, but we charged them just the first night and no cancellation fee, like it's stated in the policy, even though that room was then empty for a couple of nights.
Just before I finish I would like to mention, that right now we have 4 rooms occupied with mature Australian couples. They booked for 3 weeks and like it so much here they will stay another, so one month all together. They have been around traveling a lot and they really like it here, they can appreciate our work and it's really wonderful to have them here.

We live for those nice stories, we respect all of our guests, but sometimes you also get someone that is not happy with his life and then it's everyone else's fault.

Wish you all the best in your lives!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I recently spent a Winter holiday in Slovenia with a number of my friends and relatives, how lucky we all were to have found the Penzion Mlino Bled.
I am a retired Commissioning/Validation Manager and have travelled all over this world of ours for the last twenty two years, during that time I have stayed in Hotels ranging from small and shabby to large magnificent grand and imposing, building fit for Kings and Queens.

The Penzion Mlino Hotel offers much more than Holiday accommodation and excellent food, cooked by and outstanding chief, on entering the Hotel you are made to feel part of Penzion Mlino Hotel friends, this unique reception is replicated by all the staff that work at the Hotel from bar staff to chamber maid, all are friendly, courteous, professional and attentive to all your needs.

How can I sum up our experience at the Mlino? Outstanding I think, yes outstanding in every way, I will be returning to the same country and the same Hotel with friends of mine during the summer to again meet our new friends Lidija Grilc, (Gregor) and Lidija Grilc, the Hotel proprietors, two realy lovely people.

If you want a fairytale Holiday, try it, and who knows maybe I’ll see you there!

Jim Lacey from England.

Room Tip: Book early! you do not want to miss the opportunity of staying here! Jim Lacey England
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, mostly because the location is PERFECT! If you are going to Bled to see the wonderful scenery on Lake Bled, the views are right out your window. Nice clean rooms, good value. negatives, bathroom is so tiny it hs hard to actually get in and close the door. The resturant serves excellent food in a lovely outdoor patio, but the service seemed a bit surly probably from constantly having tour busses arrive for boat trips on the lake, and wanting or needing rapid service due to the bus schedules.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side overlooking beautiful Lake Bled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A really lovely place to stay, right on the shore of Lake Bled with views across to the castle. Very comfortable rooms with a good bed and nice furnishings. The included breakfast is very good and their restaurant is one of the best in town. Just a few minutes stroll in to town. You must try the famous cream cake at Sava Hotel, don't buy anywhere else they are not nearly as good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouestmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a fantastic location for Lake Bled as it's right on the lake with a great view. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. You will be provided with a good breakfast with a lot of choice and the restaurant is again looking over the lake with great Slovenian choices. The bike hire is free as well! This is the best place I stayed in throughout my one week trip to Slovenia and Croatia. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at milino on our honeymoon, the rooms are basic but clean with all the usual amenities, We had a room overlooking the lake which is simply stunning. The best thing about the pension was its location, Just outside the town of Bled, It is a lovely 15min stroll round the lake to the centre. The staff were friendly and breakfast was typical continental style. The restaurant is also one of the better places to eat in Bled. The only slight downside is the main road, this can be noisy but it didn't bother us as the view more than makes up for it.

Also if anyone is looking to rent a car, as there are lots of places to explore in the area. We would recommend ideal rent a car in the centre of Bled, We landed at Venice airport and had lots of trouble trying to get a car as we didn't have a credit card (despite pre-booking). Dejan who runs the company was so helpful and went out of his way to sort out a car for us, The car was great and everything else went without a hitch!

Room Tip: We would recommend a lake view as it is really stunning, however if you are a light sleeper the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naz077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#2 of 24 in Bled
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penzion Kaps
Penzion Kaps
#3 of 24 in Bled
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ribno
Hotel Ribno
#1 of 1 in Ribno
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mlino

Address: Cesta svobode 45, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Mlino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Mlino lies on the coastline of Bled lake, from where a beautiful view of the castle and the island opens. A pleasant, approximately 1 kilometre long pathway by the lake leads to the centre of Bled. A renewed Vila Bled lies in the near vicinity of our pension.There are 29 beds in pleasantly furnished rooms of Pension Mlino, which is just right for a warm family atmosphere typical of this traditional Bled inn.In front of our pension pletnas are awaiting to take you to a wishing bell on the island or you can rent a boat and row to the island. Restaurant Pension Mlino is famous for its delicious cuisine. Exquisite dishes, fish, national and domestic specialities are prepared according to our guests' wishes. We are distinguished for our wide and quality assortment of wines. Connoisseurs and gourmands like returning.Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Mlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mlino Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing