We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of Garni Hotel "Berc"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garni Hotel "Berc"
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is simply the best hotel that we have stayed in! Luka, the owner is superb - he is attentive and nothing is too much trouble. He has made some superb recommendations of places to visit during our stay. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. The shower is very powerful and there is plently of storage space in the rooms. We have had a lovely balcony. The breakfast is superb with both hot and cold food. Luka has loaned us maps and guide books. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk away from Lake Bled and the many restaurants. If I could give this hotel 10 stars, I would happily do so. We will definitely return. If all hotels were as good as this one, Tripadvisor would be pointless!" Luke should be an advisor to the Tourist Industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    57
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
117
401
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly as represented. Location is great: in a quiet, pretty compound a short walk to the lake or busy center. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We thought our room was generous in size, had plenty of storage, large bathroom and comfortable beds. Overall it was sooo quiet- no car traffic, no tourist bus traffic, no dogs barking! Breakfast offered was serve yourself. Plenty of items to choose from. Luka was welcoming and very helpful. We ate dinner at Pension Mayer and enjoyed it very much. We walked a lovely country road to Ribno where we discovered a Platnika that had delicious pastries and deli items for making a sandwich.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, South East
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for a week at Garni Hotel Berc and it was delightful. The family Berc are wonderful people and they and their staff helped make our stay in Lake Bled unforgettable. Luka and his father were always on hand to provide advice when needed but were never intrusive - the perfect hosts.The breakfasts are excellent too! We also liked the honesty box where we could help ourselves to coffee, tea, beer or wine and just mark it to our room. It's good to be trusted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wow...are we happy that we stayed here! This is a Bavarian style chalet in a quiet neighborhood that is only a 3 minute walk to town. They have ample free parking right in front of the hotel. The owner, Luka, was so incredibly kind and helpful, and he speaks perfect English. The interior of this hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated with handcrafted pine wood virtually everywhere. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a large bathroom, a desk, large wardrobe, flat screen television and a large balcony with a nice view of the neighborhood. This was our favorite lodging (and most comfortable bed) on our 2-week trip to Slovenia and Croatia! We spent 2 nights here, but we wish we would have stayed much longer. It felt as though we were staying at a friend's home instead of a hotel. The breakfast room was beautiful, and the breakfast was substantial with a lot of variety. I don't have one criticism of this hotel. Believe all of the wonderful things written about Hotel Berc, and reserve a room here immediately...you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivercat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Berc and thoroughly loved it. The beautiful hotel is 8 years old, built in the Bavarian style with lots of pine paneling, pine ceilings, flower boxes, etc. Luka, the owner, speaks excellent English and is the consummate host, offering helpful advice, friendly conversation, and all the comforts of home. The hotel is located on a small hill just up from the lakefront and it is only a short walk to restaurants, cafes, stores, and of course the lake itself. Free parking is provided right alongside the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, perfectly clean, and had a balcony with two chairs and a table -- perfect for enjoying pre-dinner wine and cheese. The hotel has free wireless but the signal strength in our room was pretty weak, making for spotty connections.

In the hotel basement is the breakfast room where a very good free buffet breakfast with hot and cold items was available. A very nice feature of the hotel is the use of the fridge in the breakfast room to store your own cheese, wine, etc., and also the 24-hour availability of coffee, teas, beers, wines, spirits, sodas, etc. for small charges on the honor system -- you just fill out a small form indicating which items you consumed. We took advantage of this every evening.

Bled is full of large, somewhat impersonal hotels that cater to mostly bus tour groups, so the Hotel Berc is perfect for independent travelers to this beautiful town and region of Slovenia. We give the Hotel Berc the highest possible ratings in all categories, and we personally thank Luka for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Situated about 5 minutes walk from the lake, this lovely hotel offers a peaceful setting within easy reach of all the sights. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by Luka,who was extremely helpful throughout our stay with directions and suggestions for places to eat.
The rooms are large and fitted with beautiful pine furniture, with lots of storage space. The bathroom was also large and spotlessly clean.
There was an excellent choice of food at breakfast, including fresh fruit, cheeses, meats and boiled and scrambled eggs, served in the very pretty breakfast room.

We loved both the little town of Bled, and this hotel in particular. It is no surprise that it is rated number 1 in Bled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjohn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent one night at Garni Hotel Berc last week. Luka was a great host - very friendly, helpful, and service oriented. Hotel/room was very clean as others have stated, bed was comfortable, bathroom pretty large. Short walk to lake and the town/restaurants. Offered free use of bikes too though with it raining as it was, I elected to walk around the lake rather than ride. Internet worked great; parking right out in front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nittany87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 23 in Bled
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel "Berc"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel "Berc"

Property: Garni Hotel "Berc"
Address: Pod Strazho 13, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bled
#1 Family Hotel in Bled
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel "Berc" 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Garni Hotel Berc
Garni Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing