We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite lodging in Slovenia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garni Hotel "Berc"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garni Hotel "Berc"
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite lodging in Slovenia!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wow...are we happy that we stayed here! This is a Bavarian style chalet in a quiet neighborhood that is only a 3 minute walk to town. They have ample free parking right in front of the hotel. The owner, Luka, was so incredibly kind and helpful, and he speaks perfect English. The interior of this hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated with handcrafted pine wood virtually everywhere. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a large bathroom, a desk, large wardrobe, flat screen television and a large balcony with a nice view of the neighborhood. This was our favorite lodging (and most comfortable bed) on our 2-week trip to Slovenia and Croatia! We spent 2 nights here, but we wish we would have stayed much longer. It felt as though we were staying at a friend's home instead of a hotel. The breakfast room was beautiful, and the breakfast was substantial with a lot of variety. I don't have one criticism of this hotel. Believe all of the wonderful things written about Hotel Berc, and reserve a room here immediately...you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivercat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    56
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
109
389
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Berc and thoroughly loved it. The beautiful hotel is 8 years old, built in the Bavarian style with lots of pine paneling, pine ceilings, flower boxes, etc. Luka, the owner, speaks excellent English and is the consummate host, offering helpful advice, friendly conversation, and all the comforts of home. The hotel is located on a small hill just up from the lakefront and it is only a short walk to restaurants, cafes, stores, and of course the lake itself. Free parking is provided right alongside the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, perfectly clean, and had a balcony with two chairs and a table -- perfect for enjoying pre-dinner wine and cheese. The hotel has free wireless but the signal strength in our room was pretty weak, making for spotty connections.

In the hotel basement is the breakfast room where a very good free buffet breakfast with hot and cold items was available. A very nice feature of the hotel is the use of the fridge in the breakfast room to store your own cheese, wine, etc., and also the 24-hour availability of coffee, teas, beers, wines, spirits, sodas, etc. for small charges on the honor system -- you just fill out a small form indicating which items you consumed. We took advantage of this every evening.

Bled is full of large, somewhat impersonal hotels that cater to mostly bus tour groups, so the Hotel Berc is perfect for independent travelers to this beautiful town and region of Slovenia. We give the Hotel Berc the highest possible ratings in all categories, and we personally thank Luka for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Situated about 5 minutes walk from the lake, this lovely hotel offers a peaceful setting within easy reach of all the sights. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by Luka,who was extremely helpful throughout our stay with directions and suggestions for places to eat.
The rooms are large and fitted with beautiful pine furniture, with lots of storage space. The bathroom was also large and spotlessly clean.
There was an excellent choice of food at breakfast, including fresh fruit, cheeses, meats and boiled and scrambled eggs, served in the very pretty breakfast room.

We loved both the little town of Bled, and this hotel in particular. It is no surprise that it is rated number 1 in Bled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjohn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent one night at Garni Hotel Berc last week. Luka was a great host - very friendly, helpful, and service oriented. Hotel/room was very clean as others have stated, bed was comfortable, bathroom pretty large. Short walk to lake and the town/restaurants. Offered free use of bikes too though with it raining as it was, I elected to walk around the lake rather than ride. Internet worked great; parking right out in front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nittany87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combloux, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely, clean room and excellent breakfast. A little pricey for what is a B&B in reality. A very enthusiastic owner, who speaks fluent English. Difficult to locate using GPS. Close to all facilities on foot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I drive from the UK to Croatia each year and Garni Hotel Berc is where our holiday really starts. A family run hotel at its best. This was our second visit, the year before that we stayed at the Pension Berc next door but then they were closed for renovations so we changed to the hotel. We hope to go back there next year again, to either. Decent size rooms and furniture, free WI-FI, Satelite TV, baby cot provision, good shower, good continental breakfast, honesty bar with a kettle so we could make ourselves a cup of tea and store milk for our baby in the fridge. The entire place is tastefully decorated and they even had a ball pit which was much appreciated by our 22 month old. Full credit to the owners. Another very important feature for me is the flexibility on arrival. Ocassionally there are traffic jams on the way in Germany and Austrians seem to have on-going roadworks but I can text Luka our approximate time of arrival and not worry that reception will be closed and that we'll have to check-in via a machine or even worse sleep in the car. Car parking is free. The position is great relative to lake Bled, only few minutes walk. I wish I was there now...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Most hotels will say 'treat this like your home' but these guys mean it. This hotel was spotlessly clean, really comfortable, had a great shower and comfy beds, all rooms seem to have a little balcony with chairs and the owners are a lovely couple. I also have to say that the honesty bar was amazing. Loved staying here and the only thing I could possibly improve on is the breakfast, but even that was still ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 24 in Bled
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#5 of 24 in Bled
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel "Berc"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel "Berc"

Property: Garni Hotel "Berc"
Address: Pod Strazho 13, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bled
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#1 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel "Berc" 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Garni Hotel Berc
Garni Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing