We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Quiet Location”
Review of Garni Hotel "Berc"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garni Hotel "Berc"
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Quiet Location”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid September. We chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we are glad we did. As others have stated, Luka is a friendly host who is not intrusive, but is happy to provide assistance or recommendations when needed.

Our room was very clean with nice alpine furnishings. The bathroom was spacious, very clean, and well-equipped. The free WIFI worked great. The flat-screen satellite TV included English channels. The armoire had plenty of nice wooden hangers and also had a small safe to lock up any valuables. There is no A/C, but fortunately this wasn’t an issue for us since the evenings were cooler and a fan was provided.

The balcony was nice with two comfortable chairs and a small table. The location is very peaceful and quiet. It does not have a view of the lake, but it only takes a few minutes to walk down to the lake.

The breakfast buffet was good and included both hot and cold items (scrambled eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt, and more).

This hotel is an excellent value! We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    56
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
113
395
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was intrigued to find out what all the fuss was about. Well, I have to say, it has earned all the praise it gets, spotless, courteous but welcoming and friendly. Well located in a quiet part of Bled but very accessible to everywhere, walks and cycle rides from the door. Luka is a fabulous host, so friendly yet professional. Breakfast was wonderful, what a choice, quiet, spacious rooms.We both just went 'Wow' when we walked into our room, it was huge. No question, we would stay here again. Just go, you won't regret it. Thanks Luka, especially for the email after our stay, nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumpy_up_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay here. I booked this Hotel because of the excellent feedback by everyone on TripAdvisor. All I can say is that I fully agree with all of them. Luka was an excellent host and nothing seemed too much trouble for him. Breakfast was really good with a wide variety to choose from. Our room which was at the front of the Hotel and was really huge with a balcony that nearly went half way across the building. All I can say is believe the reviews this Hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gy_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel berc is a great place to stay in Bled. Very clean and close to the lake and shops.
The owner "Luka"is very friendly and always up for a chat. At 50 Euro a night it's great value.
No credit card..Cash only. for that price who cares.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. Luka and the other staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom was large and everything was very clean. Our room also had a large balcony with views across gardens. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a great selection of fruit, cereals, cheese, cold meats etc. The location is great too. Just a short walk from the beautiful lake, and plenty of good restaurants. The hotel staff gave us some recommendations for dinner when we arrived and they were very good. This hotel is in a peaceful spot - many of the larger hotels in Bled are on the main road through the town and we were glad that we were not staying there as it was quite noisy. Cannot fault this hotel at all and would definitely stay again if we return to Bled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a week here as part of our Slovenian honeymoon and were so pleased. Lake Bled truly was our favourite part of the whole trip, which also included the lakes and the mountains. We stayed in a variety of places, starting off with a 5* treat, but weren't in the slightest bit disappointed to then stay at this lovely B&B. The hotel is very alpine looking and our room overlooked the mountains behind. It was always so tranquil. It sisn't matter that we weren't overlooking the lake, in fact this made it quieter, and the lake was only just a walk around the corner.
Luka was so accommodating, and switched effortlessly between English, German and Italian, making all guests feel at ease. We felt genuinely welcomed in his hotel. The rooms were nice and simple, the balcony was spacious. The breakfast room was lovely and spacious too and there was a nice variety of food every morning. The honesty bar was great, and far more reasonable than any normal hotel mini bar.
We borrowed bikes a few times, which was a must, as it's such an easy way to get around the lake, and I liked to think that it was my stint of exercise, when really it was no effort at all!
The wi-fi in the hotel and the computer downstairs were also very handy. And the honeymoon bottle of bubbly was most appreciated! Many thanks, Luka, I'm sure we'll be seeing you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Let's see... what hasn't already been said? We spent a week in Hotel Berc--booked entirely on the strength of the TA reviews. Family of four with a 4- and 8-year old. Having never been to Slovenia, we had no idea what to expect. Slovenia, Lake Bled, and Hotel Berc all completely blew away our expectations. We can't wait to come back.

Luka (owner) and his entire family were just incredible. Their warmth and charm add a special touch to a great hotel. Luka manages to be everywhere at once--full of tips, local lore, and advice on how to get the most out of our vacation--all without ever being intrusive in any way.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the rooms were well appointed and in great condition, and although the hotel was full, it never felt the least bit crowded.

I could not imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If traveling in July/August, ask Luka if some rooms (east side, bottom floor?) might be cooler. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel "Berc"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel "Berc"

Property: Garni Hotel "Berc"
Address: Pod Strazho 13, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bled
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel "Berc" 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Garni Hotel Berc
Garni Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing