We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best value for money we ever got” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best value for money we ever got”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just come back with my wife and daughter from of our trip pleasant to Slovenia. Confirm all the positive opinions this hotel has and deserves. Location is perfect: nice surroundings (except for the huge and horrible building next to it not to blame for), quiet and very close to the lake/center of Bled (5 minuts by foot). Parking is available without extra cost. Rooms al clean, spacious and in perfect conditions. Staff very friendly and breakfast more than satisfactory (most made / local / fresh products). If we have to choose one hotel in our trip for sure this is our election.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itaka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    63
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
188
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June after travelling up from Piran and thought the accommodation to be very good.The staff and waiters were very friendly and we had a set menu for our evening meals but if there was something you did not like the waiter would give you a choice of something else no problem.Only 10min. walk down to lake and although being next to a large hotel it was very quiet at night.Breakfast was also very good with lots to choose from.You also have the choice to eat inside or sit outside with a lovely garden setting.Also the place was maintained to a high standard and was spotlessly clean.Overall first class holiday and food at Pension Mayer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here in early June and agree with all the other high ratings of this charming establishment! The rooms are spotless and everything is in excellent condition. We had amazing views of the castle. It is apparent this small hotel is well cared for. The location is perfect - short walk to lake and very scenic. We ate at their restaurant on the outdoor patio on the day of our arrival and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. Breakfast was substantial, fresh, and perfect to start our day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley, Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for a week, the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. We stayed half board which was a good idea as the food was very good, there wasn't a choice but if you didn't like something you were given an alternative, there are not a lot of restaurants around it is very quite. The hotel was very clean and location just perfect, We took out bikes which were free of charge and in very good condition. Don't miss the wine tasting evening in a lovely room which was good fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luluhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this place to be incredibly clean, charming, and quiet. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. My room and bathroom were both quite spacious and I enjoyed a view of the castle from my window/balcony. I found the breakfast to be adequate with plenty to choose from, including eggs they prepare fresh to order. I did also eat one night at their attached restaurant and had a lovely experience and meal. I would definitely recommend it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are basic, but nice and clean. No bath but amazing shower (nothing fancy but v hot and powerful). Beds are fairly soft, and basic, but do the job.

Breakfasts are lovely, eggs cooked to order, and a buffet of hams, fruit and bred. A homemade smoothie made daily also.

On Monday nights hotel guests are invited to 'wine tasting'. This was good fun, nice wine and traditional food, and for €15pp it's a steal.

It's only a 2min walk to lake bled (down steps and slope), a great location to explore.

We spoke to other travellers who also loved this place. If we came back to bled, we'd probably stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Unbiasedview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ec Wi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you want to get away from the block hotels, this is a great option! Very clean room, comfortable, good wi-fi reception. I only wish we had stayed longer! The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Location was about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the lake. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. Dinners at the restaurant are highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spielWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Property: Penzion Mayer
Address: Zheleshka cesta 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing