We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and charming”
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quiet and charming”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this place to be incredibly clean, charming, and quiet. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. My room and bathroom were both quite spacious and I enjoyed a view of the castle from my window/balcony. I found the breakfast to be adequate with plenty to choose from, including eggs they prepare fresh to order. I did also eat one night at their attached restaurant and had a lovely experience and meal. I would definitely recommend it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    66
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
194
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are basic, but nice and clean. No bath but amazing shower (nothing fancy but v hot and powerful). Beds are fairly soft, and basic, but do the job.

Breakfasts are lovely, eggs cooked to order, and a buffet of hams, fruit and bred. A homemade smoothie made daily also.

On Monday nights hotel guests are invited to 'wine tasting'. This was good fun, nice wine and traditional food, and for €15pp it's a steal.

It's only a 2min walk to lake bled (down steps and slope), a great location to explore.

We spoke to other travellers who also loved this place. If we came back to bled, we'd probably stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Unbiasedview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ec Wi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you want to get away from the block hotels, this is a great option! Very clean room, comfortable, good wi-fi reception. I only wish we had stayed longer! The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Location was about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the lake. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. Dinners at the restaurant are highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spielWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked this Penzion after reading about it in Lonely Planet
As soon as we arrived the owners could not have been more helpful and friendly.
In a great position, we had a fabulous room with a view to the castle. Breakfast is great, heaps of choices as well as hot scrambled or boiled eggs
Restaurant for dinner is exceptional
In my opinion it deserves more than 3 stars

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hedric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Thank you Penzion Mayer for our 2 wonderful stop overs in Lake Bled on our long journey from the UK to Croatia & back. Beautiful hotel close to the lake. Spacious bedrooms & bathrooms immaculately clean with attention to detail for guests & wonderful food in your lovely restaurant. Staff very friendly & welcoming & thank you for helping to park our boat!

Jon & Kath Hough

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Pension Mayer as part of a twin centres holiday with Crystal Summer, the previous week we were at the Pension Milka in Krajnska Gora. The Mayer is situated in its own pretty gardens just outside of the main centre of Bled. It was quiet, immaculately clean and had a very homely feel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming which seems to be a trait of pensions of this size in Slovenia. The food was delicious and was enjoyed on the patio overlooking the gardens, and we were lucky enough to be staying half-board so got to sample most of the menu!

We spent some of our time walking around the lake and to Vintgar Gorge, however, Lake Bohinj, with its pretty villages and towering peaks, is just a short bus journey away (from the main bus station) so don't miss the opportunity for a visit here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a great little hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast. Excellent location. Rooms are
spacious, comfortable & charming with the pine furniture. Bathroom is large. Had a great
view of Lake Bled. Just a short 5 min. walk to the lake. Would definitely recommend this
hotel & would definitely stay there again. Had dinner there 1 of the nights & had
fresh grilled trout. Really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 23 in Bled
728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Property: Penzion Mayer
Address: Zheleshka cesta 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing