We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Golf Hotel Bled

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golf Hotel Bled
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Things I loved about Golf Hotel...
1. The location is quiet, private, and secure.
2. The rooms are huge and they have spacious balconies with nice views.
3. The breakfast buffet is yummy!
4. The pool complex is teriffic---multiple heated pools, a fun slide, hydro massage areas, and a jacuzzi. My favorite was the heated outdoor pool. The air was chilly but the water was perfect. it offers a romantic and splendid view of the moon and the illuminated Bled castle on the cliff.
5. The hotel has pleasant and helpfulpeople on staff!
6. Right behind the hotel is a staircase which takes you to a complex of shops, bars, and restaurants and the lake itself in 5 minutes!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmblweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    315
    113
    32
    13
See reviews for
173
255
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Given that we paid €125 I was expecting great things - I was disappointed. The hotel is ok and breakfast was good but it has little character and is overpriced, despite being very close to the lake.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed a couple of night at Hotel Golf and were overall very satisfied. Rooms are spacious enough (our, even though booked as a "park view" actually was on the side of the building and had a view of the lake and the castle). The hotel is ideally located very near the lake (just a bit uphill) and the centre of Bled, so it's easy to walk pretty much everywhere. There's also an hill just behind the hotel with a fitness walk, which we did on Sunday morning.

The wellness center is just great: you have free access to all the pools and for an extra € 14 you have access to the saunas, which provide a variety of options. There's also a well run massage centre, with plenty of treatments to choose from.

The staff was friendly and helpful, from the barman to the staff at reception. My girlfriend is celiac so needs a special menu: there was no problem at all, she was followed all the time by a member of he staff who ensured she'd only get appropriate food.

There were just a couple of minor glitches: the bathroom neon light had problems and was flashing in way which was a bit irritant - the cleaning staff should have notices this. Also, the shower shield was broken and the water tended to "flood" the bathroom when taking a shower if you weren't careful. Overall, minor problems, but you'd expect a 4-star hotel would promptly take care of those.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We booked to stay at the Hotel Toplice. By all accounts a marvellous hotel. I wanted a marvellous holiday. Unfortunately 4 days before we were due to travel we received a phone call from Thomson saying the Toplice wasn't actually open at the moment and so they were transferring us to the Hotel Golf instead. But - they were giving us a lake view room! How very generous, considering we had a lake view room booked at the Toplice anyway. We could either have let our children down and cancelled (though at no point was this offered as an option by Thomson - I am assuming we could have done so though) or taken what was offered. At 3 days to go we had little choice.

The Hotel Golf is very nice. But it could be anyhotel, anywheresville. It has little character. After much fuss from my partner we were upgraded to a suite. Which again was very nice. Beautiful views and plenty of space. The bed was comfortable. Nothing to complain about. I wish the same could be said however of the food. The food is dire. Tasteless, bland, very little variety. The food lets the hotel down. I don't think the chefs have heard of herbs or spices. Would it have killed them to sprinkle a little oregano in the tomato sauce for pasta? Thrown some rosemary at the potatoes? It was the same bland pap, night after night.

They seem to love their lumps of meat in breadcrumbs. Every evening there would be something 'Viennese style' or Parisienne style' - it was difficult to discern the difference as both seemed to entail an awful lot of unseasoned breadcrumbs. We started taking bets on which 'style' the meat was going to be cooked in that night. It was very, very unimaginative food. I like good food on holiday and we had paid accordingly to have (what I assume would have been) lovely food at the Toplice. I would rather have good food than a suite any day.

The bar area is soulless. Too corporate. But in the Hotel Golf's favour the location is very good and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. Lake Bled is really lovely.

Out of interest I walked down to the Toplice and there was a notice in the door saying they were closed till 2nd March. I then tried to book online for the 27th Feb for a couple of days. They would have taken my booking.

I strongly suspect all bookings are taken for the Toplice whether they are open or not. They then decide, with only a few days to go, if they can be bothered to open given the level of occupancy. If they can't be bothered they just shove everyone over to the Golf. The Golf benefits, the Toplice doesn't have to open with underoccupancy. Both hotels win, the customer loses. In the lobby of the Hotel Golf there is a large screeen showing photos of how wonderful the Hotel Toplice is on a loop. Frankly insulting if that is where you had booked to stay! Taking people's money then giving them a much inferior option when it is too late for them to do anything but accept is unethical and unacceptable. In my opinion. Thomson take note: you really shouldn't treat your customers like this.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We spent 9 days in Golf and did not noticed any major defects. Big clean room,very tasty healthy food,friendly staff, nice wellness.
I have just one recommendation for improving of service - don't use chlorination for pools water,because it is important for quests to swim in original thermal water. There are big choice of alternative ways to desinfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel for a summer holiday in July/Aug 2010. We booked through Crystal holidays and have done twice previously and they are excellent!

Firstly the Hotel Golf is a good hotel (apart from the restaurant) it has a feel of being in a UK 3* hotel. Cosy, clean spacious rooms. We did however have a lake view room, which had air conditioning. I emailed the hotel before leaving the uk, as I hadnt been well and they upgraded our room so that we had air con, which was brilliant as it was very warm! The view from the room was magnificant!! So if you dont mind paying a little extra book a lake view room!

We were a little dissapointed with the restaurant, although the food was nice, the buffet style was a little chaotic and not relaxing at all. This could possibly be due to the fact that I much prefer being served. However there was lots of choice for dinner, salad bar, meat, vegetarian alternatives. Less choice at breakfast but still nice!

The location of the hotel is ok, there are two routes to the lakeside, one of which is steep and the other which isnt as pleasant because it is a back route. However it is only around a five minute walk down to the lake.

One thing we really enjoyed and thought was very pleasant, was the little train that takes you all the way round the lake. You can get a day pass and jump on and off throughout the day.

If you plan to hire a bike, do not pay to have them for a long time, as it takes around 30 minutes to cycle at a slow speed around the whole of the lake! We ended up taking our bikes back within an hour and paid for 3!

There is very limited choice for food around the lake, so I would recommend going half board in the hotel! There is also very little nightlife as stated before, and the bars do tend to close around half 11. (remember this is during the summer, I am unsure about the winter months) I would say I can only remember going in about four bars every night.

I was a little aprehensive about booking Bled and Slovenia as a summer holiday, as I had previously read it was quiet and being in our 20's, we enjoy active holidays, scenery etc. but still like a little night life. We liked Bled! It was extremely beautiful, the island in the middle of the lake, the castle, the swimming in the lake it was brilliant but unfortunately we found there wasnt enough to do for a week. It would have been a perfect weekend holiday. If you do travel to Bled in the summer, I advise booking some trips. Be prepared to have quiet nights and remember if you book with crystal/thomsons you fly to austria and its a long transfer to Bled!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola120785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the Golf Hotel for several days over Christmas as part of a tour. Apart from abrupt staff at reception we found all other staff good.
Our room overlooked the lake and the view was so incredible, whether fine, misty or snowing that we found we continually kept going to the window or out on the balcony to enjoy it. The room was clean, spacious, quiet and well presented. There was a lounge and small table and plenty of hanging space - useful when staying several days. The bathroom was adequate. There was no refrigerator in the room but because it was so cold we could leave our drinks outside on the balcony to chill.

We were a short stroll to the lake and several food shops, a supermarket, tourist information and attractions such as a local market in a nearby hotel and small boats to take us out to the church on the island. Walk up to the castle and see the most interesting print shop and the views. On the way down have a meal at a local cafe or restaurant.
The Christmas festivities here were wonderful. We enjoyed concerts, fireworks, a local "sinking of the bell" ceremony amongst others. Also on Christmas Day staff had placed a hand made christmas stocking with mandarins and chocolates on each door!

As most meals were included in our package we mainly ate at the hotel. Most meals were buffets, and despite the large number of people staying, the food was always fresh and plentiful, with an impressive array of dishes for all meals. The dining room staff were most professional, continually replenishing the buffet, taking drink orders and clearing tables as we ate. They were also most helpful in explaining unusual local dishes.
Wi-fi access was only available in the lounge downstairs but at least there was access. We found some hotels we stayed in did not have any free access. There was also a computer available to check emails in this area.

If you are after a complete Christmas package this is the place to go! At other times book a room overlooking the lake and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#5 of 24 in Bled
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.9 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel Bled

Property: Golf Hotel Bled
Address: Cankarjeva cesta 4, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bled
#6 Business Hotel in Bled
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#12 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golf is located in a beautiful park, right in the heart of Bled. Due to its elevated position it offers amazing panoramic views of the Lake Bled, the Bled Castle and the majestic Julian Alps. In the hotel there are 150 rooms and suites, all of them are air-conditioned and feature a balcony where you can enjoy beautiful views of the surroundings. The rooms are modern and well-equipped with a satellite TV, a safe, a minibar and a private bathroom. In the hotel there is also a modern conference center with all the necessary equipment for organising successful conferences, business meetings and other events. If you need to rest and relax or want to be pampered, don’t forget to visit the Živa Wellness Center and enjoy your time in saunas, steam baths and hot tubs. We also recommend you visit the Veranda Restaurant and enjoy the selected local cuisine or international à la carte dishes. You taste buds will be grateful! The area around Bled is perfect for cycling, hiking, mountaineering or even canoeing, so you can also have an active holiday if you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golf Hotel Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bled
Bled Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing