We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Istra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Bled(Bled)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penzion Berc(Bled)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
169
26
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
26
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake bledprestige suiteartificial flowersliving roombreathtaking placeminute walk to the towntea making facilitiesbooked a family roomcomplimentary upgradeinto town for dinnereuros per personmain centreroad noiseentrance hallperfect place to relaxlocal attractionspleasant stroll
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 198 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We'd booked Vila Istra as it was a total contrast to our very modern Ljubljana hotel and came with rave reviews. It is a unique property. The Lake Bled area is smaller and more dense than I had expected and the Vila is nicely set apart from the crowded town. We had Suite B which included an entrance hall, bedroom, large covered balcony plus a huge sitting room with a table and chairs. We had a view of the island from the sitting room. The decor is more over the top than I would choose for my home, but it is fitting.

There is a road that circles the lake and as the Vila sits upon that road, there is some traffic noise.

Frank was very helpful with both the check in and out. When we arrived on Saturday, we met the chef (not Miha but Braz) and agreed upon what he would serve for dinner. When he was describing the starters, he also volunteered that he would be happy to make an alternative for the risotto - a Slovenian stuffed pasta that my grandmother used to make - and we agreed that this was a great idea. We dined in the best seat in the house (we thought) and were served by Dejan, who introduced us to great sparkling Slovenian wine. The dinner was divine and among the best we have ever had at an amazing price as well. We had the chicken and fish choices, plus a wonderful chocolate dessert plated very attractively. We dine out often both here in Atlanta and on our travels and this dinner will not be forgotten. Kudos to Chef Braz (and I hope I am spelling his name correctly).

As we loved our Saturday dinner, we booked again for Sunday. Unfortunately, Chef Miha did not deliver as good of a meal as did Chef Braz. The same pasta was dry as was the fish I chose. Had this been our first meal, we would have dined elsewhere on night #2. We did not choose to eat breakfast at the hotel either morning, so I have no feedback to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This isn't the sort of restaurant we would usually eat in - lots of bling, highly polished surfaces everywhere and a rather hushed atmosphere. However, the food was incredible - the young chef came out to discuss the menu with us, and ensured that the meal was tailor-made to our needs. The first course - wild garlic soup - was amazing: you are presented with what looks like a small bouquet of wild flowers in a bowl, then the soup is poured over it - and it's all edible, of course. It was as delicious as if was pretty. The main course was equally wonderful, and they were not at all sniffy about the fact that our daughter wasn't hungry and only wanted the soup. The wine list is a little pricey for Slovenia - the bottles started at 28 euros, but all in all we felt it was excellent value for such outstanding and innovative cuisine.
There was a ghastly soundtrack playing the whole time we were there - sort of Enya does operetta, which seemed to be on a continuous 10-minute loop, until we could have throttled the singer!
If you want a special night out, in a fairly formal atmosphere, with wonderful local food prepared exactly as you want, this is hard to beat.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank LizAtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This beautiful place has to be seen to be believed. We've stayed in Bled before and returned to find Vila Istra by far the most luxurious accommodation with classic European furniture and beautiful balcony views over the turquoise water of Lake Bled.
Denis the owner and his wife have an eye for tasteful furniture and art and the atmosphere is laid back and classy at a very affordable price.
It was beautiful watching a band play in the garden on a sunny Sunday afternoon, a real European treat.
Vila Istra's chef Miha is very talented and such a nice guy, asking personally what we would like for dinner and then going to the back garden to pick the organically grown vegetables freshly.
This was one of those wonderful experiences in life where everything was perfect, from the friendliness of the owner Denis who is wonderful, to the beauty of Vila Istra with its gorgeous lake view.
This is a stand out European holiday in a beautiful location that hasn't yet been overrun like most of western Europe.

5 out of 5 to Vila Istra and Denis for creating a memorable destination.

Room Tip: Get the big suite at the top with its beautiful furnishings and balcony with a stunning view over Lake Bled.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Vila Istra is located next to lake Bled, a bit outside of town, but still in walking distance. Rooms are great, interior is very fancy (almost too fancy for my taste). Staff and service is great and friendly. Breakfast was a bit on the expensive side but quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms with «garden view» means that you trade the view for slightly less noise from the street. However, during the night, there is not much noise anyway so I'd go for a room with lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have stayed in this VIla in late March of this year - it was the best hotel of our whole journey.
The Vila was situated on a lake side - very good location, calm and neat with nice view of the lake. The room was beautifully decorated, had warm atmosphere. Convenient and clean.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and it was best choice ever!! The quality of food and service was just perfect - we really enjoyed our time there. I would definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews