We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Find”
Review of Penzion Kaps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion Kaps
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Happy Find”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After arriving in Bled and finding our two choices of accommodations were full, we were referred to this lovely little inn. In chalet style, the rooms are large with blonde furniture and great space to set luggage. The dining room is nicely furnished with an old ceramic stove and pleasant art work. the place is brand new and neat as a pin. Peter and his father were very helpful with directions and suggestions and the breakfast was wonderful! Made to order eggs and sausage plus all the other wonderful choices. Felt this place was a real gem and hope the Dolar family thrive in the tourist business.

Room Tip: we had a room that faced the back yard and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
203
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Penzion Kaps is so much more than just the most beautiful place to stay. It is a place full of heart, designed and furnished with love and care, bright, warm and cozy, a place where tradition meets the present and every little detail has a nice personal touch.
I experienced the young owners as beautiful, warm-hearted, loving, trustful and optimistic people who even in these times dare to live their dreams and shine. They hold you precious and you feel most welcome not just because you are a tourist but because they are open for a pure human connection.
We spent a fabulous New Year there, all our wishes were kindly met. And as we were falling asleep at night, pleasantly wrapped in nicely chosen, warm, best quality sheets and douvets, it really felt like at home. Unforgetable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We also could not get in Mayers and they sent us to Kaps. What a wonderful place. New, clean, nicely furnished, owners could not be more helpful, pleasant atmosphere, breakfast great, I highly
recommend this place. It was booked every day.

Room Tip: they are all good because the location of the building is great
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here with our 3 children (under 8 years old) and it was perfect. It is brand new so everything was spotless and clean. The breakfast was THE BEST WE HAVE EVER HAD! I would go back just for the food=) The staff was wonderful and friendly. We could walk everywhere. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms (to accomodate our larger, by European standards, family) but it was one rate...ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armywifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A delightful new penzion less than 5 minutes walking distance to town of Bled. Very comfortable and clean. Wonderful hot and continental breakfast - a huge spread. Charming helpful family having built the penzion within the last year. Very well appointed. The best European pension we have ever stayed in. A very pleasant stay - not long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochran, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

There were 4 of us looking for 2 rooms & a nights stay in Lake Bled, Slovenia. We went to the tourist info center on the lake & were directed to this wonderful penzion. The location is great with just a 3 minute walk to the center & Lake Bled. It is family owned & operated & brand new. Peter Dolar, one of the family owners, greeted us & told us how his father built the penzion with his own hands taking 4 yrs to do so. Peter then showed us to our spacious rooms which had balconies, flatscreen tvs & modern well appointed bathrooms. They also have a computer with free internet. Breakfast, which was included, was prepared by the family & served in a huge dining room on the bottom floor with doors leading to a patio if you wished to eat outside. All this for only 35 euros each. Thanks to Peter & his family we had a memorable time in Lake Bled & highly recommend the Penzion Kaps to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green22Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed only two nights in Bled at Penzion Kaps but wish we had another night or two. This was at the end of a 3 1/2 week trip through Czech, Austria, Slovenia and Croatia and what a way to cap it off. Bled is a beautiful, quiet place and Peter and his family have built a beautiful B & B. It has just been completed this summer with all the wood furniture and details throughout the house being built by Peter's father. The room was large - spotlessly clean, large bathroom with a small balcony. The breakfasts were the best we had on the trip with lots of variety and served in the beautiful dining room again decorated by Peter's father. Peter and Darja speak very good English and are very helpful with information on how to get to various sites in Bled. There is free parking at the house. Be sure and drive to Vintgar Gorge and take the mile-long hike along the raging river and back to the waterfall. The price was less than $100 per night including breakfasts. This is the place to stay in Bled even though it does not have a view of the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#5 of 24 in Bled
748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Kaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Kaps

Property: Penzion Kaps
Address: Zheleshka cesta 22, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse was opened in 2012. Visit us in the centre of Bled and your holiday will be pleasant and full of activities all the time. Close to our pension there are a lot of attractions and sights as well as many opportunities for relaxation and recreation. 10 modern and comfortable rooms offer quality accommodation to enjoy your rest during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penzion Kaps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing