We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice café around the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Preseren

Vila Preseren
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Bled
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice café around the lake”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Vila Prešeren is a quite nice café in beautiful location, just in front of Lake Bled.
It serves huge sandwiches (I've tried mister chicken, really delicious) but also more complex dishes. Beef Carpaccio, for example is nice even if I prefer the parmesan cheese in little slices than grated, as it was.
Anyway, this is mainly a café where to rest after a walk around the lake, with a coffee or a tea and, what is most important, great cakes as the local Blejska kremšnita, with whipped cream and chantilly sauce.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbsfemino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    203
    101
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sibenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved Preseren krempita cake with strawberries! We got there eary, around 11 and it was fresh and crunchy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AKrnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place right by the lake”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've been there everal times. The place is beautiful, just few steps from the lake with an amazing view. You can just get a cup of coffee and their famous "kremsnita" there and enjoy the view. Or you can have lunch or dinner, or even celebrate something like NYE or your wedding! The food is delicious but be careful with the prices, they are not so fair! :-) They also have the apartments on the floor so you can stay there!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fallen Star?”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I remember this place years ago was very grand situated as it is in the most prime position with fabulous views of the lake. We only called in for a light lunch - one or two cakes - a soup - nothing special. The main meals did look very good and absolutely huge but we planned to have dinner so we resisted temptation. A friend who took soup had problems getting them to bring bread. Cake and coffee arrived...but it was all a bit hit and miss and the place looked very scruffy and unkempt. Our table was sticky and dirty and was not wiped when we arrived. The cafe restaurant proclaims itself to be linked to some corporate coffee bar empire and we wondered if it was franchised. The toilets were grubby..and yes the overall feel was of a place run by university students..nice people but not really very sophisticated given the surroundings. The feel of a good student union bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cutchogue, new york
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Vila Preseren”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After walking around the lake and up as well down hill from the castle, we colapsed at this lovely restaurant overlooking the lake. It is indeed a lovely place that was once the headquaters & Yugoslav Army Officers' Club a while back. The lunch was great and the staff efficient and quick. We sat in the sun and daydreamed while all around us people were enjoying themselves. A lovely memory of this lovely place that is Bled.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Preseren also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Vila Preseren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing