We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Fantastic Restaurant but could use a room refresh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Bled

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Bled
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Fantastic Restaurant but could use a room refresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Vila Bled in August for 2 nights. The building and setting are gorgeous. We had a room on the third floor with a nice terrace overlooking the lake and island.

The pluses:

Great building, beautiful grounds and spending a day at the lido (deck) on the lake was great. The restaurant is top notch. Yes, it is pricey, but our server was fantastic, guiding us to a great bottle of wine (Lunar), and food quality and presentation was very good.

The minuses:

The rooms are in serious need of an update. There is nothing really wrong with them, but they are dated considering the price. Just a simple redo of the wood, cabinets etc in the room would go a long way. A little more luxurious would be nice. And although i wasn't there to watch TV, and didn't even turn it on, having an old tube tv is a little laughable these days. Also, there is a serious lack of amenity information in the rooms. I read online about a new spa area with sauna, but there is no info in the rooms about it, nor any signs etc in the lobby. Sure, I could ask, but i shouldn't have to.There was also no info on the lido, we just happened to walk by and check it out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastvanstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    86
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
179
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This former residence of Marshal Tito has a secluded, beautifully landscaped setting. The service was outstanding, the restaurant was superb, and the breakfast buffet was superior.
Excellent front desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel is absolutely fantastic - very helpful, friendly and informed staff willing to go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Incredible rooms, in particular room 207 where we stayed for our wedding - enormous! stunning views! button to change the softness/hardness of the bed! I could go on. Room 306 is also a winner. Food - divine. Really wonderful with a touch of Heston Bleumenthal. They also have a private swimming area where you can go swimming in the lake, a whirlpool sauna and steam room with starry lights in the ceiling and a real feel of decadence that time forgot. We shall definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 207, room 306 - both sensational but 207 is something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellynicolajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I only stayed for one night but I would definitely love to stay at Vila Bled again. The staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and the private swimming platform on the lake with chairs & towels provided were wonderful. The views from this part of Lake Bled are amazing and it's an easy walk or bike ride into the busy city center area. It's a wonderful location and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had no accommodation booked in Bled and enquired here intending to stay one night. All lake view rooms were full but we got a lovely room on the first floor overlooking the grounds. The room was huge with a separate lounge room as well as a large bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were very quiet and the Vila grounds are beautiful and green and peaceful and even though it is only a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Bled it seems a world away. The Vila has bikes to ride around the lake or you can walk as the Vila is located right on the path around the lake. In addition there is a boat so you can row yourself out to the island monastrey. The breakfast was great and after eating breakfast overlooking the lake we decided we had to stay longer and eventually stayed four days. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the guys on the front reception, the breakfast staff were also lovely and would cook requests for you that weren't on the buffet. The hotel is also a great base for exploring Slovenia. We went to Lake Bohinj, lLubljana, Skocjan Caves and Vintgar Gorge in day trips.

Room Tip: Book in advance for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived as somewhat tired and grubby hikers into the retro grandeur of Vila Bled. I'm no fan of large upmarket hotels given that they tend to be stuffy & sniffy (particularly in the UK). The reception staff at Vila Bled welcomed us warmly, apologised that the rooms weren't available as yet (2pm so that was OK), and escorted us to the terrace for drinks on the house. That was customer service at its best.

We had a lovely lake facing room with balcony. Whilst the parquet flooring and balcony furniture hint at a different, but beatifully maintained, era I'd say embrace the retro feel rather than desire yet another standard design of modern hotel. This place has atmosphere and history - enjoy its unique qualities.

The food (on the terrace in summer) was superb and imaginative. We had a set meal that a Michelin star restaurant would have been pleased to produce - great to hear waiters say that they are proud of their chef. It can get chilly on the terrace so bring an extra layer but they will open up the bar if you wish. Breakfast was very good quality with lots of interesting local food & juices.

The facilities such as the lido and massage are very good r&r opportunities and there are plenty of walks/trips to attractive local villages and sights e.g. Vintgar Gorge (try the restaurant with fish straight out of the river).

An excellent hotel in a superb location. We enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Vila Bled is a perplexing hotel to review.

The pros: Its location is fantastic, the best on the lake in my opinion. Right on the lake, great views of island, quiet, but a short walk from town. Free use of good bikes, rowboats, and lido area for sunning and swimming. Historic villa with interesting murals and other decor. Beautiful grounds. Helpful staff when you could find them. Good complimentary breakfast with buffet plus cooked to order items.

The cons: Rooms adequate but not commensurate with price. At times staff non-existent - during the height of summer we could not find anyone who could serve us in the bar during the evening. Restaurant overpriced and not local menu - there are plenty of better options around the lake.

Overall the hotel is recommended, primarily for the spectacular lake and views, despite its quirks.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pedrosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Bled

Property: Vila Bled
Address: C Svobode 26, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#2 Spa Hotel in Bled
#5 Family Hotel in Bled
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vila Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Bled Hotel Bled
Vila Hotel Bled
Bled Vila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing