We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Lake, Great Amenities, & Clean”
Review of Kompas Hotel Bled

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kompas Hotel Bled
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the family room which was very large! The main bedroom had a very comfy bed & tons of pillows...always with chocolate laid out on them after housekeeping visited. The pull out couches were less then desirable however, it would be fine for kids, not adults. The rooms were kind of dated with old "box" type TVs, but yet in good condition and clean. The bath towels were HUGE and they offered plenty of them. My only complaint was the water in the shower would go from cold to boiling hot like someone flushed a toilet. Be careful if you have young kids as it gets really hot!

The amenities were awesome with a covered indoor/outdoor pool. The water was cool but refreshing since it was so hot out. They had a decent gym, squash court, and a trampoline & swing set for the kids to play on. The grassy terrace was a very cool place to sit on the lawn chairs and enjoy the perfect view of the Bled Castle. You could even get a drink (or two) on the terrace. Breakfast was quite impressive too with a large spread of hot foods (eggs, grilled veg, pancakes, blintz, sausage) and a different variety everyday all with plenty of fruits, breads, cereals, and yogurts.

The location was great too, literally a 2 minute walk to the lake's edge. The views were unobstructed of the lake and Castle Bled above. I would definitely recommend this hotel as its price, location, and amenities are well worth a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was surprised this hotel didn't have a higher rating on Trip Adviser, but realized that most of the negative reviews were from a few years back, so presumably there have been major improvements.
We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We never had a problem with parking, and the staff at reception were helpful and friendly. There was always iced, fruit flavoured water in the reception area, and small cakes in the afternoon.
We booked 2 park-facing rooms, but actually one of the rooms faced the lake. The rooms were fine, the beds comfortable, and the shower room spacious.
Although the hotel is not directly on the lake the buildings nearer the lake are at a lower level so the view is straight out onto the lake. The pool is indoor, but the large doors opened onto a grass area, which was pleasant for sitting after a swim.
There was a gym which was well used, and a children's playground.
What I particularly liked about this hotel was the way they seemed to want to go out of their way to be helpful. You could hire bikes for free, and my husband enjoyed cycling around the lake each morning before breakfast. They provided a kettle on request, a computer in reception, extra toiletries if needed, chocolates on your pillow, talks about the local area. Their hotel information book seemed to be full of ideas to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
It takes about 5 minutes to walk down to the lake.
It's not the prettiest hotel in Bled, but you really feel they are trying hard to help in any way they can.

Room Tip: The balconies vary in size. Ours was large, but our daughter's was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although there was a mix up with the room booking on our arrival, which meant 3 of us were placed in a small double room on our first night, it was very quickly remedied the following morning and we moved into a 3rd storey "suite" overlooking Lake Bled, with a complimentary fruit bowl. The restaurant and bar staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble and the food choice and quality were excellent each day - ultra important for a fussy 14 year old. The Reception and other public areas were clean and well presented and the staff were very helpful. Some of the bedroom décor needed a refresh and the shower holder in our room didn't hold the shower up very successfully, but it didn't hamper our enjoyment of this hotel. The pool and Jacuzzi were very welcome after a long day exploring and although we didn't use the gym, it looked well equipped with cardio and weight apparatus. There was also a trampoline with safety net, a table tennis table and swings for younger children on the decking area.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a suite if travelling with 1 or 2 older children/teenagers as the hotel doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time here in a comfortable room. The pool is marvellous and the gym is good too. Breakfast was also very nice. It was a 20 minute walk from the bus station but once there it is not far to the lake and all the tourist things. Can't think of anything negative to say.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joncullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely hotel overlooking Lake Bled. The staff are polite and very helpful. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Pool and small gym on site. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice both hot and cold including local fare as well as the traditional continental and some English. Handily placed for a stroll into town

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrocket1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel. VERY friendly receptionists who went the 'extra mile' to make it an enjoyable stay! Lovely room with view of Lake Bled. Would highly recommend. You can also order picnics including beer, meat and salad (and plenty of it).

Room Tip: Ask for Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at this hotel and had a lovely time. We paid extra for a Lake View room and were not disappointed. They views of the lake, castle and church were a wonderful sight to wake up to.
The rooms at this hotel were extremely clean and comfortable with air-conditioning which was a huge plus as the weather was quite hot whilst we were there.
Our stay included breakfast and dinner and there was always a huge choice. I think even the most picky eater would be able to find something they liked. We also sometimes ate luch at the hotel which was very reasonably priced and always served with a smile. We were also given vouchers for free tea and cookies each afternoon and another voucher for a meal at a neighbouring hotel which I must say was lovely.
The staff were all very friendly and happy to help with anything you needed and if you take the time to read through the guest book that is in each room you would be surprised to see just how far they are willing to go to accomodate your needs. If you want a robe and slippers then just ask, the same if you want to hire a bike. This is apparantly free of charge and although we did not require either of these things I thought it a nice touch. The hotel also has a lovely pool and jacuzzi which was never busy. In fact it was a very quiet hotel with very few English guests.
We had planned our stay around the Bled Days Festival which was wonderful. We loved the loop air show over the lake, firework display and egg shell candles on the lake. The pure sight of the thousands of candles was a sight to behold and no photograph could show just how beautiful this was. You would have to see this for yourself.
There are many things to do in Bled and the surrounding areas. My husband and sons loved the toboggan ride but even if you choose like me (I'm a wimp!) not to come down on a toboggan the sight at the top of the hill is wonderful. You can just pay to go up on the chair lift and back down again. We also walked up to the castle. We took the steps but there is a much gentler route to take. Again the views were fantastic but I would say go early to enable you to get some lovely photos without too many people around. We got there very early and took some great pics. We also went on a Pletna boat out to the church on the island and took a tour of Titos house which was very interesting. Nearby you will find Vintgar Gorge which was well worth a visit but again, get there early as can get quite busy.
We hired a car for four days and drove to the Postonja Caves which I would highly recommend. We also visited Lake Bohinj and went up in the Vogel cable car. Views again were amazing!
I had always said I wanted to go back to Bled with my husband and children and I'm so glad I did as everyone loved it. My one regret is booking for ten days, we wish we'd booked two weeks instead. It was such a relaxing holiday. Just what we needed. We all want to go back one day and I'm sure we will even if it takes my children 25 years like it did me! I went as a teenager the first time and it holds such special memories for me that I just had to go back.

Room Tip: We had a Lake View room which was lovely but this is not a must. You just have to step outside and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 24 in Bled
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kompas Hotel Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kompas Hotel Bled

Address: Cankarjeva cesta 2, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Spa Hotel in Bled
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#10 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range: $88 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kompas Hotel Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The silhouette of the Hotel Kompas, with its triangular roof mimicking the surrounding mountains, already prepares the guest for the traditional hospitality awaiting inside. The traditionally designed furnishings of the guest rooms, the delicious food, a sun terrace with magnificent views, fitness and relaxation areas and a multitude of accessible outdoor activities provide an ideal setting for any vacation.With its 95 rooms and suites, restaurant and coffee shop, Hotel Kompas is conveniently located in the heart of Bled, giving access to Lake Bled, with its beautiful lakeside promenade and park only a few minutes away. Indoors, Hotel Kompas provides excellent relaxation and fitness facilities - offering swimming pool and saunas, fitness centre, squash courts and massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kompas Hotel Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bled
Bled Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing