We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth splurging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth splurging”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This hotel definitely lived up to our expectations. Bled itself is simply beautiful, and the hotel itself is right on the lake in a perfect position. We had a lake view room which was very spacious and clean - it is worth the extra price as the view was breath-taking. The facilities at the hotel are excellent - private sun lounge and swimming area on the lake; pool and sauna; row boats to borrow; restaurants. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quick_Consult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    230
    96
    25
    8
See reviews for
128
397
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed here for a week in May for my friends wedding, The location of the hotel is perfect overlooking the lake, My room was on the third floor and was lucky enough to get a full lake view which was stunning, The room was spacious and clean and the balcony was a decent size. I stayed half board and the food was brillant could not fault it at all, great selection for both breakfast and dinner. The price of drinks are expensive in this hotel though. The bar/lounge does have fantastic views over the lake though and there is a piano player in the evenings.

I used the hotel spa quiet a few times, very relaxing atmosphere, steam room and sauna were very nice. The pool is freezing though, not to bad once you have got used it but still pretty cold.

I found lake Bled to be very beautiful and charming, It was not to busy when we were there but I can imagine it being quiet hectic in the summer months. Went of a few trips with Thomsons which were both very good. I reccomend getting the bus to the vintgar gorge fanstatic walk through the village and the gorge also walked back into bled. I also took a hot air balloon ride over the lake which was wondeful.

All in all a very relaxing holiday and beautiful wedding, would definetly consider returning again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We arrived to be told that our reservation for three was only for two but our confirmation clearly showed three names on it. Now the hotel was doing us a favor by only charging us the rate on our clear confirmation. They showed us our room that was dark and dingy. The second room smelled like mildew. We were finally upgraded to a view of the castle. This is a hotel where the view is a must. It is spectacular. The rooms are all dated. The room in the lobby must have had 20 chairs all in the same fabric. It looked like they purchased them at a fire sale. I was unimpressed by the hotel but the staff was very nice. They had great restaurant and guide suggestions. This was definitely the best of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at the Toplice for 5 nights on Half Board basis. The hotel is in a wonderful setting overlooking the lake with the small resort of Bled a couple of minutes walk. All the staff were excellent and very helpful. We upgraded our room which had a double aspect lake view and two balconies. The room was quite large with ample cupboard and storage space.
The breakfast was very good with the traditional cold buffet and a choice of freshly cooked eggs,sausages and bacon etc.
The dinner was a four course menu with choice and whilst it was not excellent represented good value for money.
Just a couple of minor points. From time to time there was a an unpleasant smell in the bathroom which probably indicated a problem with the drains or sewers.
We arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon and the parking arrangements were rather confusing and could be quite dangerous although the staff soon sorted us out.
Slovenia is a beautiful Country and we would thoroughly recommend staing at the Toplice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for a few days in May 2010 and had a most enjoyable time. The hotel is very classy and does live up to its 5-star status. We had the lake view rooms and they are worth the extra cost especially when you open your curtains in the morning.

Each room varied in size. All were very clean and tidy and the bathrooms are immaculate. The bedroom floors feel a bit spongy in places and creek a bit so I had a bit of noise overhead whenever the people above walked across their room (I was on the 2nd floor).

Staff are unobtrusive but helpful when requested which I prefer. Service was good in the breakfast and bar lounge area. Breakfast was a treat with a large selection of fresh food to choose from. The cocktails and liqueur coffees are excellent in the bar lounge especially when sitting by the large panoramic windows or tucked in a quiet corner whichever takes your mood. Didn’t try the restaurants so I am unable to comment on the lunch or dinner options.

Tried one of the Spa treatments and thoroughly enjoyed the experience thanks to the expertise of the friendly masseur. The pool at the Spa centre is stunning to look at.

Would love to go back again. Great time indeed.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We are here at the hotel now and although the lake is breathtaking room 219 is not. We are with a large group and we are all supposed to have standard rooms. They are all quite different. Our room is very small, no balcony, window hardly opens and we are over the front door. Many others have similar rooms, while some do have lake views, some actually have two balconies. . Be careful of which room you get. Breafast very good and the area is excellent but this is not a five star hotel. It is supposed to be a small luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHBBled, Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
We were disappointed to find out, that our hotel did not fully meet your expectations.
Our hotel is a traditional old building and the size of the rooms varies as well as the orientation. This also reflects in different price ranges. Whenever we host groups we try our best to allocate all the guests to the rooms of comparable size and quality. With larger groups this is sometimes very difficult. Your group was transferred from the four-star Park Hotel due to overbooking so we could not ensure the same quality of the room to every member of the group as at that time we too, were almost fully booked.
We are sorry, that you felt unequally treated as opposed to your other travel partners and therefore were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. Should you give us another opportunity, please, do contact me directly and I will personally oversee your stay.
Tine Brodnjak, Manager of the Grand Hotel Toplice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle/Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My friend and I stayed for two nights and will never forget it. We were travelling around Croatia and Slovenia and arrived at Bled in the early evening looking for somewhere to stay. We thought that The Grand Toplice would be out of our price range but decided to enquire anyway. We are so glad we did as the helpful receptionist gave us a huge discount and a lakeside room with amazing views. We spent a day in the spa having treatments and using the facilities. As it was out of season the hotel was quiet and we had the spa to ourselves. The pool was pretty cold though! The breakfast was amazing; very varied. The staff were always helpful went out of their way to help us. The drinks in the bar were expensive but as soon as we sat down one of the staff came into the lounge and began playing the piano which was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpNorth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#3 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing